On or before October 1 of each calendar year, Indiana attorneys with an active or inactive license status are required to complete an attorney registration process. Like paying taxes or open enrollment for health insurance, it will come around like clockwork every year.
The Office of Admissions and Continuing Education sends notice by email to every Indiana attorney no later than August 1 each year as a reminder to complete registration. However, failure to receive the notice does not mitigate an attorney’s obligation to do so, and an attorney’s failure to complete the process by the deadline will result in late fees and possible license suspension.
Annual registration is completed online at the Indiana Courts Portal (portal.courts.in.gov).
In order to complete their registration obligations, attorneys must:
1. Review and, if necessary, update contact information
The Office of Judicial Administration relies on having accurate contact information to communicate with attorneys. Attorneys are obligated to update their contact information within 30 days of any change. Failure to keep this information current may result in attorneys not receiving electronic service through the statewide e-filing system, appellate orders and opinions, and important notices about annual registration, continuing education, and more.
- For contact information changes, see Admission and Discipline Rule 2
- For correction of contact information in appellate cases, see Appellate Rule 16(E)
2. Certify Interest on Lawyer Trust Account (IOLTA) status
Attorneys must either provide their (or their firm’s) IOLTA account information or a reason why they should be exempt.
- For IOLTA certification rules, see Admission and Discipline Rule 2
- For more IOLTA rules, including exemption reasons, see Professional Conduct Rule 1.15
- See also Disciplinary Commission information on Attorney Trust Accounts
- See also Indiana Bar Foundation information on the IOLTA Program
3. Report direct pro bono hours and financial contributions
To help the Supreme Court evaluate and encourage volunteer legal services in Indiana, unless exempt, attorneys must report the hours and dollars spent providing pro bono service. As an example, in 2018 attorneys will report hours and dollars spent during calendar year 2017.
- For pro bono reporting rules and exemptions, see Professional Conduct Rule 6.7
4. Annual registration fee payment
Attorneys must pay an annual registration fee to keep their licenses in good standing. The fee amount varies depending on whether attorneys have an active or inactive license status. Fees increase if not paid by the deadline. Note that the deadlines pass after exactly 11:59 p.m. (Eastern time) on the due date.
|Paid 8/1-10/1||Paid 10/2-10/15||Paid 10/16-12/31||Paid after 12/31|
|Retired||$0.00||Fees/Penalties based on attorney's status as of 10/1|