New Manufactured Home Community / Sales Lot
You need a manufactured home dealer license if you sell, offer to sell, or advertise for sale at least :
- Three (3) new or used manufactured homes in a 12-month period.
We encourage those wanting to obtain their manufactured home dealer license in the State of Indiana to review the applicable state statutes (Indiana Code 9-32) and administrative rules (Indiana Administrative Code Title 75) regarding dealer licensing. Indiana statutes and rules can be found on the General Assembly’s website at iga.in.gov.
Please be sure to fill the application out completely and submit all required documents with the application. Failure to include required information or documents can delay the processing of your application.
To apply, please email email@example.com.
The following must be submitted with the completed application:
- Background check*
- Business Entity Documentation (INBiz)
- Certificate of Insurance
- Indiana Vehicle Merchandising Certificate/Bond (SF 53966)
- License Fee
- Photo identification
- Photos of the physical business location
- Registered Retail Merchant Certificate (Indiana Dept. of Revenue)
- Zoning Affidavit**
*Background check results more than 60 days old at the time the application is submitted will not be accepted.
** Zoning affidavits signed by a zoning official more than 90 days prior to the date the application is submitted will not be accepted.
Location Requirements for Manufactured Home Community
- Must meet the location standards required by the Indiana Department of Health
- A copy of your valid mobile home community license is required to be submitted with your application.
Location Requirements for Nonresidential Sales Lot
Exemptions may be available for some requirements. Questions should be submitted to firstname.lastname@example.org.
- Cannot be a residence or temporary location
- Able to accept mail delivery (unless not serviced by USPS)
- No other dealer operating at that location
- Must be:
- in Indiana
- accessible by the public
- open at least 30 hours per week during normal business hours
- Physical location must:
- be at least 1300 square feet
- be well-lit during hours of operation
- have a conspicuous, permanent sign in the same name that is on the license
- provide customer parking
- not house a secondary business
- not be in a retail complex (e.g. a strip mall)
- Office must be:
- 100 square feet minimum
- served by functioning utilities
- overall reflective of a functional manufactured home sales operation
Dealer Account Helpline: 317-576-2568