

STATE EMPLOYEES' APPEALS COMMISSION

Eric J. Holcomb, Governor Gabriel Paul, Director and Chief ALJ INDIANA GOVERNMENT CENTER NORTH 100 NORTH SENATE AVENUE SUITE N103 INDIANAPOLIS, IN 46204-2200 (317) 232-3135 (317) 972-3109 FAX

MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE STATE EMPLOYEES' APPEALS COMMISSION JUNE 17, 2020

The regular meeting of the State Employees' Appeals Commission was held on June 17, 2020, at 10:00 A.M. EST, remotely via Microsoft Teams due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The Chair, Jonathan Mayes, called the Commission to order at 10:10 A.M. EST. The following five Commissioners were present, and constituted a quorum.

COMMISSIONERS PRESENT:

Jonathan Mayes, Chair Cynthia Springer Frank Sullivan, Jr. B. Curtis Wilkinson Tom Hanahan

- 1. The Commission considered the minutes from the November 12, 2019, meeting. Commissioner Sullivan moved for the minutes to be approved and Commissioner Springer seconded. The Commission approved the minutes as written by a 3-0 vote.
- 2. The Commission noted forty-eight (48) new Civil Service System complaints filed since the last meeting. The new Civil Service complaints were listed in the Commission's agenda as follows:
 - 1. Thomas Piotrowski v. INDOT, 11-19-056
 - 2. Heather Hollcraft v. PLA, 11-19-057
 - 3. Joshua Tempel v. INDOT, 11-19-058
 - 4. Kailee Guess v. FSSA, 11-19-059
 - 5. Charles Gant v. IYC-DOC, 11-19-060
 - 6. Kevin Elzy v. IYC-DOC, 11-19-061
 - 7. Stephanie Clephane v. DCS, 12-19-062
 - 8. James Brewer v. ISDH, 12-19-063
 - 9. James Burns v. IYC- DOC, 12-19-064
 - 10. Ronald McClain v. IGC, 12-19-065
 - 11. Craig Landers v. IWMC, 12-19-066
 - 12. Chad Corn v. MCF-DOC, 01-20-001
 - 13. Daryl Bowman v. DCS, 01-20-002
 - 14. Robert Williams v. DCS, 02-20-003
 - 15. Matthew Price v. BCF-DOC, 02-20-004
 - 16. Kirsten Bryson v. DCS, 02-20-005
 - 17. Mark Jones v. RSH-FSSA, 02-20-006

- 18. Kevin Allen v. IWP-DOC, 02-20-007
- 19. Trevor Timmons v. WCF-DOC, 02-20-008
- 20. Kenneth Lowe v. PVCF-DOC, 02-20-009
- 21. Joshua Locke v. PCF-DOC, 02-20-010
- 22. Athena Christy v. WVCF-DOC, 03-20-011
- 23. Abagail Alumbaugh v. DCS, 03-20-012
- 24. Donald Pinkston v. PVCF-DOC, 03-20-013
- 25. Tony Cochran v. MCF-DOC, 03-20-014
- 26. Diane Mack v. DOC, 03-20-015
- 27. Geraldine Stone v. WCF-DOC, 03-20-16
- 28. Thomas Francum v. WCF-DOC, 03-20-017
- 29. Stephan Mirich v. WCF-DOC, 03-20-018
- 30. Kevin Goodman v. DCS, 03-20-019
- 31. Edward Vazquez v. WCF-DOC, 03-20-020
- 32. Lori Pusz v. WCF-DOC, 03-20-021
- 33. Amber Combs v. MCF-DOC, 04-20-022
- 34. Brian Stoner v. CIF-DOC, 04-20-023
- 35. Nicholas Cramer v. PVCF-DOC, 04-20-024
- 36. Angela Downey v. WVCF-DOC, 04-20-025
- 37. Shafonda Lewis v. DCS, 04-20-026
- 38. Alan Anderson v. MCF-DOC, 04-20-027
- 39. Clyde Outlaw v. DCS, 04-20-028
- 40. Thomas Wellington v. WVCF-DOC, 04-20-029
- 41. Christopher Wright v. RCF-DOC, 04-20-030
- 42. Paris Barnett v. DCS, 04-20-031
- 43. Juante Collins v. ISP-DOC, 05-20-032
- 44. Judith Rohe v. RSH-FSSA, 05-20-033
- 45. Brian Rivette v. INDOT, 05-20-034
- 46. Lisa Watson v. DCS 05-20-035
- 47. Lisa Ubiles v. DCS, 05-20-036
- 48. Mehulkumar Patel v. IDEM 06-20-037
- 3. Commissioner Mayes moved to have the cases assigned to the Chief ALJ for further assignment. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Sullivan and approved by a 4-0 vote.
- 4. A brief thank you was given to Commission Mayes for his service on the Commission.
- 5. A discussion was then held concerning the next Commission meeting date. It was proposed by the Chief ALJ that the next meeting be held early December or after Thanksgiving. December 8, 2020 at 10:00 A.M. was set as the next Commission date.
- 6. The case of McQueen v. DCS, SEAC Cause No. 01-19-009, was heard by oral argument on Petitioner's timely objection and Respondent's response. The Chief ALJ published the "Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Non-Final Order" on November 13, 2019, for the aforementioned case, which provided judgment for the Respondent after an evidentiary hearing. Petitioner McQueen appeared by counsel, Mr. Mark Waterfill.

Respondent DCS appeared by counsel, Ms. Whitney Fritz. Both parties provided oral argument. Upon public deliberation, motion, the Commission AFFIRMED the decision of the assigned ALJ in its entirety by a vote of 5-0 and adopted the Non-Final Order of the ALJ as the Final Order in this matter with no revisions.

7. Seeing no further new business, Chair Mayes closed the meeting at 11:00 AM with the next meeting set for December 8, 2020, at 10 A.M. in Conference Center, Room TBD.

Frank	Sullin
Chair	

State Employees' Appeals Commission

Date: 12/8/2020