April 2012 Meeting Agenda and Related Materials

Indiana State Board of Education


Jo Blacketor, South Bend
Michael Pettibone, Monroe
Tony Walker, Gary

Dr. Tony Bennett, Chair

James Edwards, Santa Claus
Neil Pickett, Carmel
Vicki Snyder, Evansville


Daniel Elsener, Indianapolis
Sarah O'Brien, Avon
David Shane, Indianapolis

April 4, 2012
Indiana Department of Education
James Whitcomb Riley Conference Room
151 West Ohio Street
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204
9:00 a.m.
Business Meeting


I. Call to Order

  • Pledge of Allegience

II. Approval of Minutes

III. Statement of the Chair

IV. Board Member Comments and Reports

V. Spotlight

  • West Goshen Elementary School

VI. Public Comments

VII. Discussion

A. Update on School Interventions

B. A-F Accountablity Report Card

C. Advanced Placement

VIII. Consent Agenda

A. Freeway Petitions

B. Governing Body Plan change


A. Approval of IPS Board Member district boundaries

B. Approval of proposed revisions to 511 IAC 6.2 (LSA #11-562)

C. Approval of Remediation/Prevention Grant distribution

D. Approval of delegation of authority to modify statewide assessments requirements for Henryville schools

X. Board Operations

Future meeting dates


All public meetings of the Indiana Department of Education are accessible to persons with disabilities. For persons who are hearing impaired or deaf and who require interpreter services for the meeting, notify Becky Bowman in writing at Room 225, Statehouse, Indianapolis, Indiana 46204-2798; by TDD at (317) 232-0570; or by telephone at (317) 232-6622. Notification must be made at least forty-eight (48) hours in advance of the meeting. For persons who are visually impaired or blind and who require large-print or Braille copies of materials to be distributed at the meeting, please contact the person listed above at least forty-eight (48) hours in advance of the meeting.

Posted on March 29, 2012