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QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS FROM COUNTY RECORDERS ANNUAL CONFERENCE 

 
 
Question #1: Can we put the County records on the internet? 
 
Answer #1: IC 5-14-3-8 would allow the County to provide this type of enhanced access and assess 

fees for use.  Please review this chapter of law closely because the fees charged will not 
replace the copy fees that currently fund the recorder’s record perpetuation fund.  Also, if 
enhanced access will be provided through a contract with a vendor, review IC 5-14-3-3.6.   

 
Question #2: Warrick County UCC's are printed off of computer at $1.00. per page instead of filling out the 

UCC search form. 
 
Answer #2: IC 26-1-9.1-523 covers UCC information requests.  The related fees are established in IC 

26-1-9.1-525 at $5 if the request is in writing.  If the request is electronic there is no fee.  The 
copy fee would also not generate the $2 security identification protection fee or the $3 
supplemental fee. 

 
Question #3: Vanderburgh County doesn't scan UCC's into the computer; they’re only good for 5 years.   

Should they be? 
 
Answer #3: The County can establish its own policies regarding maintenance of documents in paper or 

electronic form. 
 
Question #4: Why is there a $5.00 fee for exempt sales disclosure form and a $10.00 fee if not exempt 

sales disclosure form? 
 
Answer #4: The endorsement fee is $5 per deed or legal description.  The sales disclosure fee is $10.00 

for non-exempt, $0 for exempt, collected by County Auditors. 
 
Question #5: Can a Recorder’s or an Auditor’s employee, notarize a document that is to be recorded in 

both offices?  Can you give an IC code for this? 
 
Answer #5: IC 32-21-2-3 gives the following individuals the power to acknowledge a document for 

recording: Judges, Clerk of a court record, Auditor, Recorder, Notary Public, Mayor of a city 
(Indiana and other states), Commissioner (in any other state appointed by Indiana 
Government.), Minister, charge d'affaires or Consul of the U.S. in a foreign Country, Clerk of 
the City-County Council in a consolidated city, City Clerk for a second class city, Clerk-
Treasurer for a 3rd class city, Clerk Treasurer for a Town, General Assembly Member, 
Principal Clerk of the House of Reps, Secretary of the Senate. 
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QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS FROM COUNTY RECORDERS ANNUAL CONFERENCE (Continued) 

 
 
Question #6: When do we allow the social security numbers to be released for Certified Documents to 

military veterans and their family members?  Can we allow our Veterans Service Officer to 
quiz the person, and only release a Certified Document to the Veterans Services Officer?  
They would know what information to ask for in order to know if it is the actual person or 
relative in need of this document and should allow less identity theft!  A social security 
number is needed by the members if the service and family to file for their social security, 
VA benefits and compensation. 

 
Answer #6: IC 10-17-2-4 now states that a discharge record is not a public record.  A County Recorder 

may provide a certified copy of a discharge record only to the following persons: (1) the 
veteran with photo ID, (2) the County or City Veterans’ Service Officer with photo ID, (3) an 
employee of the Indiana Department of Veterans’ Affairs with photo ID, (4) a funeral director 
with photo ID and funeral directors license, (5) the spouse or next of kin of a deceased 
veteran with photo ID and death certificate, and (6) the attorney, guardian or personal 
representative of a veteran’s estate with photo ID and a court order. 

 
If the Veterans’ Service Officer is willing to assist you with making sure these procedures are 
followed, they certainly may ask the questions and verify the evidence provided to help 
prevent identity theft.  

 
Question #7: How do we redact UCC’s with social security numbers on them? 
 
  Some of the prior UCC's have social security numbers on them.  How can they be redacted?  

They are not scanned documents and they are public record.  We understand that when we 
make a copy that we may black out the social security number on the copy we make for a 
search filed, but the title searchers do not get copies from us.  They copy their own 
documents.  How can we make this feasible to work?  And are we allowed to have them 
black out the social security numbers of the new recordings of UCC documents before we 
record them? 

 
Answer #7: IC 36-2-7.5 requires redacting using the technology available only to the extent practicable.  

You should require current UCC filings to be free of social security numbers at the time they 
are submitted for recording unless the social security number is required by law. 

 
Question #8: By IC 36-2-7.5-4 we do not accept any social security numbers.  Is this correct? 

 
Does this code override the fact that we have to record any document the customer brings in 
if they choose to record with a disclaimer?  We are without a doubt allowed to refuse all 
documents (except Federal Tax Documents, Military Discharges, and Death Certificates) 
with a social security number? 
 

Answer #8: Yes, this code states a document may not be submitted for recording or filing if it contains 
the social security number, unless the social security number is required by law.  You may 
require them to black out the social security number or provide you with the law before 
recording the document for them. 

 
QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS FROM COUNTY TREASURERS ANNUAL CONFERENCE 

 
 
Question #1: Whose responsibility is it (Treasurer or Auditor) to prepare application for judgment and 

order of sale? 
 
Answer #1: IC 6-1.1-24-4.6 states the Auditor and Treasurer prepare the application.  The court issues 

the order for sale. 
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Question #2: We had a new financial institution accredited in our County by the state board and this 

institution wants to bid on investments.  Do I need board of finance approval, before I use 
them? 

 
Answer #2: IC 5-13-6-1 requires funds to be deposited in the depository selected by the local board of 

finance.  IC 5-13-8-1 goes on to state a political subdivision may deposit funds in a financial 
institution only if the institution is 1) approved by the state and 2) has a principle office or 
branch in the County. 

 
Question #3: If form 11's were not mailed by the Assessor, tax statements have not been sent, does the 

taxpayer have the right to appeal assessment since they were not notified or did not receive 
a tax statement before May 10th?  If the tax statement serves as notification, do they have 
45 days to pay? 

 
Answer #3: The taxpayer has the right to appeal the 2006 assessment, if notice is not sent by the 

Assessor as long as they file written appeal on or before May 10th with the Township 
Assessor.  The appeal does not affect the due date. 

 
Question #4: If we do homestead credit rebates, who is responsible for mailing the checks?  We have 

postage concerns. 
 
Answer #4: PL 234-2007, Section 300 requires the County Auditor to issue the warrant and mail notice 

of explanation of the refund to the taxpayer.  Ultimately, the County will have to pay for the 
mailing of the checks regardless of the departmental budget that it flows through. 

   
Question #5: If a purchaser at tax sale does not petition for a tax deed within 6 months, what happens to 

the property and the money paid?  If we are ordered to return the surplus money, what 
happens if we’ve applied it to other delinquent taxes already?  Discuss the Tax Sale Surplus 
Disclosure (form 137G) more. 

 
Answer #5: When a purchaser fails to petition for a tax deed within 6 months of the expiration of the 

redemption period, IC 6-1.1-25-4.5 states that the certificate of sale reverts to the County. 
The County may petition for deed or sell the certificate.  The purchase price would still be 
used to pay delinquent taxes.  Any remaining surplus could be claimed by the owner of 
record when a tax deed is eventually issued.   

 
If you are ordered to return the surplus money, the law is silent but we hope the court order 
would direct the auditor to put taxes back on the duplicate.  When this is done you would 
take the money needed for the refund from the “other taxes” satisfied by the surplus as if 
they were refunded so you would get them back from the proper taxing unit.   
 
The owner of record is entitled to surplus upon issuance of a tax deed.  However, if the 
owner of record obtained the property from a delinquent taxpayer after the property was sold 
at the tax sale, the County Auditor cannot issue the surplus to the new owner of record 
unless the disclosure form (137G) is properly filed. 

 
Question #6: Statement of taxes and assessments issued by the County Treasurer in 2008. Per IC 6-1.1-

22-8.1(b) The County Treasurer shall: 
 
  (1) Mail to the last known address of each person liable for any property taxes and (2) 

transmit by written, electronic, or other means to a mortgagee maintaining an escrow 
account.  This seems to indicate for taxpayers with an escrow we need to mail a statement 
directly to the taxpayer and to their mortgage company.  Would you agree with this? 

 



VOLUME 361 – Page 4                                                                                                   FEBRUARY 2008 

 
QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS FROM COUNTY TREASURERS ANNUAL CONFERENCE (Continued) 

 
 
Answer #6: In 2006, PL 162, changed this language to “and” it used to say “or”.  This law is effective for 

property taxes due and payable after December 31, 2007.  It does say “and” so next year 
you will be mailing the statement to both the taxpayer and the mortgagee. 

 
Question #7: SB 310 -2007, we have a Township Assessor who turns in mobile homes year after year 

that are no longer there or have been abandoned.  We get the bills back every year and the 
certified mailings back every year.  How can we ever comply with this when there is no one 
to deliver these notices to?  We have given the Township Assessor a list of these and he 
just got mad at us.  Is there any other option for us? 

 
Answer #7: As Treasurers, you must send the required tax statements and demand notices for all 

property that is on the tax duplicate.  You did the right thing in trying to work with the 
Assessor.  Continue to work with the assessing officials.  You might also consider 
contacting: Cheryl Musgrave, Commissioner of the Department of Local Government 
Finance; and legislators to let them know about the situation. 

 
QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS FROM COUNTY CLERKS ANNUAL CONFERENCE 

 
 
Question #1: What statute allows an individual to fill out another elected officials term (i.e. the current 

office holder vacated for some reason) and then wins the next election and holds that office 
for two more terms? (Meaning you could serve 10 years out of a 12 year period) 

 
Answer #1: It would depend on the statute governing that particular office.  The Clerk's office is 

constitutional and limited by Article 6, Sections 2 and 4.  No person is eligible to be elected 
to the office of Clerk more than eight years in any period of twelve years.  Statutory office 
holders have different requirements and/or limitations. 

 
Question #2: Is priority mail treated the same as certified mail with regard to dated filings? (back dating) 

per Trial Rule? 
 
Answer #2: If a statute requires that notice be given by registered or certified mail, any service that 

tracks the delivery of mail and requires signature upon delivery may be used. 
 
Question #3: Who do we contact about starting voting centers?  We want to find out more because we are 

very interested. 
 
Answer #3: Please contact the Wayne County Clerk, Tippecanoe County Clerk, The Secretary of State, 

Election Division, Brad King, Dale Simmons, Pam Potesta, or Leslie Barnes. 
 
Question #4: Petition and remonstrance – Are clean masters available to Clerks on-line?  Will you send 

clean masters to us by snail mail? 
 
Answer #4: Yes, we will e-mail masters upon request.  Masters are mailed to printers only and to Clerks 

upon request. 
 
Question #5: Petition and remonstrance – Should the Voter Registration Office check all signatures to 

start?  Then Auditor checks only the property owners?  Then break down numbers that 
way? 
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QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS FROM COUNTY CLERKS ANNUAL CONFERENCE (Continued) 

 
 
Answer #5: No, only those that indicate they are registered voters or registered voter and property 

owner or none would be reviewed to begin the process.  The Auditor will then check those 
signers that indicate they are signing as real property owners and the signers that indicated 
they are registered voters who could not be verified as registered voters in the political 
subdivision.  After that, the Voter Registration Office will try to verify the signers that 
indicated they are real property owners but the Auditor could not verify to see if they are 
registered voters.  This will give you the breakdown you need to certify to the governing 
body. 

 
Question #6: Are petition and remonstrance's file stamped when they are taken and when they are 

returned, or not at all? 
 
Answer #6: Phase II forms have a place where the County Voter Registration Office will indicate the 

date returned.  It is certified when issued, and log is maintained on date issued and date 
returned; no file stamp is necessary.  The Clerk may file stamp Phase I forms but it is not 
necessary to file stamp Phase I applications and verifying affidavits. 

 
Question #7: The "pier diem" amount that we are allowed by state statute of $24.  Is the Auditor allowed 

to only let us claim the food amount that is not included as a part of the conference agenda? 
 
Answer #7: IC 5-11-14-1(g), regarding meetings called by the State Board of Accounts, provides that the 

allowance for meals is the amount determined by the fiscal body of the unit, for meals 
purchased.  Claims filed for meals should only include those meals purchased by the officer 
or employee. 

 
Question #8: What can the $2.00 document storage fee be used for? 
 
Answer #8: The document storage fee is established by IC 33-37-5-20 and is deposited in to the clerk's 

record perpetuation fund in accordance with IC 33-37-5-2.  The Clerk may use the money in 
the perpetuation fund for the preservation of records or the improvement of the record 
keeping system and equipment. 

 
Question #9: Is there a certain number of days, etc. in which the Judge must make a decision (either 

granting or denying a protective order? 
 
Answer #9: IC 34-26-5-6 contains no specific timeline other than to require the Court to immediately 

grant relief. 
 
Question #10: On the verification pages for Phase I of the petition and remonstrance, are those totals for all 

counterparts? 
 
Answer #10: Yes, all counter parts would be totaled. 
 
Question #11: Is it necessary for a county to send a 30 day notice after a ticket was issued if the state BMV 

sends one?  Or has this been done by each county as a courtesy? 
 
Answer #11: The BMV is not aware that any County needs to send an additional notice for an infraction 

where BMV is required to send notice. 
 
Question #12: On a transfer case, should the venue check from the attorney be payable to the Clerk 

receiving the case, or the County sending the case? 
 
Answer #12: Ultimately, the Clerk of the Court hearing the case must end up with the funds.  The check 

should be made payable to the person receiving payment. 
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QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS FROM COUNTY CLERKS ANNUAL CONFERENCE (Continued) 

 
 
Question #13: Can the Clerk certify a faxed copy of a court order? 
 
Answer #13: Our position is that you can certify any record, paper or transcript you consider to be an 

authentic copy.  You may want to check with your attorney. 
 
Question #14: How much can we charge for a copy of the voter registration list on CD? 
 
Answer #14: IC 3-7-27-6 states local ordinance should establish "reasonable fees" in accordance with IC 

5-14-3. 
 
Question #15: Should taxes be taken from any election pay? (poll workers, inspectors, and mechanics for 

machines) our County takes it out if you are already employed by the County. 
 
Answer#15: Per the IRS, effective January 1, 2007, election worker pay will not be subject to with-

holdings until it exceeds $1300 per year. Caution, reporting thresholds for providing a Form 
W - 2 to the election worker are lower in certain circumstances.  Please refer to the materials 
provided by the IRS sent to you and the County Auditor via e-mail or contact the IRS directly 
for guidance. 

 
Question #16: For those offices affected by the hold over change, what is the ending date/beginning date 

of an office holder?  Is it December 31 or March 12th? 
 
Answer #16: SEA 308-2005 or PL88-2005 should be reviewed for the particular county and office of 

concern. 
 
Question #17: Could you please explain whether clerks are or are not personally liable for errors within the 

office?  For example, can we be liable for judgments improperly recorded or released? 
 
Answer #17: IC 33-32-4-8 regarding child support states the Clerk is not personally liable for the amount 

of a dishonored check, for penalties assessed against a dishonored check, or for financial 
institution charges related to a dishonored check, if the check was for the payment of a fee, 
court ordered payment, or license and the acceptance of the check was not an act of gross 
negligence or intentional disregard of the responsibilities of the office.  There are other areas 
of responsibility in your office for which we do not find the same statutory protection from 
personal liability. 

 
Question #18: When an attorney files a new case and requests certified mail and restricted delivery, are we 

responsible for paying this extra fee? 
 
Answer #18: IC 33-37-3 requires service by certified mail to be included in court costs.  If the plaintiff 

requests additional services like "restricted delivery", we would not take exception to you 
charging them the additional amount. 

 
Question #19: Is there an IC code about adoptions files prior to 1941?  Are they still considered confidential 

1941 and older? 
 
Answer #19: Per John Newman of State Court Administration, there is not a statute making these records 

confidential; therefore, the records are open. 
 
Question #20: In order to collect a late payment fee, do the courts have to adopt a local rule?  We have a 

county ordinance in place? 
 
Answer #20: In order to charge the late payment fee, there must be a local court rule that authorizes it. 
 



VOLUME 361 – Page 7                                                                                                   FEBRUARY 2008 

 
QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS FROM COUNTY CLERKS ANNUAL CONFERENCE (Continued) 

 
Question #21: Are clerk's allowed to use red ink file stamps or should we use jet black ink only? 
 
Answer #21: We are not aware of statutory or regulatory guidance in this area.  We will ask if the Clerk’s 

Records Committee would like to make a recommendation. 
 
Question #22: Are deputy clerks allowed to be notaries? 
 
Answer #22: Yes, deputies are not lucrative for purposes of Article 2, section 9 of the constitution per IC 

5-6-4. 
 
Question #23: When a case is venued, does the attorney have to pay the additional defendant fee and/or 

sheriff service fee again or just the fee for a civil case? 
 
Answer #23: Per The Accounting and Uniform Compliance Guidelines Manual for Clerks of the Circuit 

Court, page 6-4, the sending Clerk must remit the fees with the transcript.  You should 
collect as ordered by the court.  If fees are not ordered specifically, we recommend you 
collect all applicable costs and additional fees, which could include the sheriff’s service of 
process fee and the civil service fee per additional defendant. 

 
Question #24: On the last bill that was changed as to using computer certification of certified signatures, 

who is to notify the State Court Clerk?  Our Judge doesn't make decisions to change unless 
  the State notifies him of the mailing changes.  The Clerk of Supreme Court needs notifica-

tion so they can notify all judges. 
 
Answer #24: State Court Administration, a division of the Supreme Court has been notified so that they 

may discuss this during the Judicial Conference. 
 
Question #25: On small claims the Clerk's office pays and covers the certified mailing.  Then, if the Judge 

wants certified on each proceeding supplemental following, is it the Clerk's responsibility to 
cover the cost of each proceeding supplemental certified mailing also?  Can the plaintiff 
pay? 

 
Answer #25: IC 33-37-3-6 states that court costs include service of process by certified mail, unless 

service by the sheriff is requested.  Proceedings supplemental are usually included in the 
word "process" so the mailing costs (for certified mail) would be paid by the Clerk.  The small 
claims service fee would help cover these costs incurred by the County.  (IC 33-37-4-6) 

 
Question #26: The Clerk's Office is the only office that stays open through lunch, who makes the policy 

decision to be open or closed for lunch for Clerk's Offices? 
 
Answer #26: IC 33-32-2-4 states the Clerk shall keep the office open at the County seat, everyday of the 

year except Sunday's and legal holidays.  The office shall be kept open on those days and 
times necessary for the proper administration of the election statutes (all statutes), and you 
may close the office on those days the Judge of the Circuit Court orders the Court closed, in 
accordance with the customs and practice of the County. 

 
Question #27: Is there an electronic disc available that contains the current filing fees including all changes 

in fees effective 7-1-07?  This would be helpful in updating on the website. 
 
Answer #27: Court costs and fees handouts can be e-mailed. Please send us an e-mail request. 
 
Question #28: ISETS – What happens to the incentive money if it is not spent by 10-1-07?  Where does 

that balance go? 
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Answer #28: The incentive fund will still have a balance and receipts after 10-07.  Only the ability to be 

reimbursed by the child support federal program for expenses paid from the incentive fund 
will go away on that date. 

 
Question #29: Due to new fees and statutes changes generally taking effect July 1st of each year, is it 

possible for the clerks association and state board to consider conducting the Clerks 
meeting further in advance of July 1st in order to allow a more reasonable time for data 
software and any other necessary adjustments to be made? 

 
Answer #29: At this time that is not really a possibility.  It still may not work well for Clerks to advance the 

meeting even if it was possible. During a long session it can take until the 3rd week of May to 
get all final information from Legislative Services Agency.  Bills are not signed by the 
Governor until the 2nd week of May.  Therefore, we would not have complete information 
any earlier. 

 
Question #30: A civil case is filed where one defendant is named making court costs of $132.00.  As part of 

the case, the plaintiff names two interested parties and requests that these two persons be 
served with summons.  (plaintiff names these two parties as interested parties in the case 
because plaintiff does not want to pay the costs for additional defendants)  

 
  1. Does this raise court costs to $152.00? 
 

2. If court costs remain at $132.00, is the plaintiff required to provide postage if sent by 
certified mail? 
 
3. Should the Association push to have the $10.00 fee for additional defendants clarified to 
include all interested parties? 

 
Answer #30: 1. Does your Judge consider the interested parties defendants?  If so, civil service fees 

apply for the additional defendants.  If not, the additional fees would not be collected. 
 
  2. Service of process is included in court costs.  If this is considered “service of process” it’s 

included. If not, plaintiff should pay for mailing expenses. 
 
  3. This is up to the Clerk’s Association. 
 
Question #31: Is there a state statute that says in what order you have to receipt in court costs and fines on 

a criminal case?  If so what IC code is it?  Are you required to receipt in court costs first, 
then fines, then any other charges such as alcohol counseling, public defender assessed?  
Or can you receipt them in any order.  A lot of times a balance is left and the Judge enters 
the balance as a judgment.  I did not know if there was a law that told us we had to collect 
certain fees first. 

 
Answer #31: On a criminal case you should follow the guidance provided in IC 33-37-4-1(e) unless 

otherwise ordered by the court.  On other case types we have not found any guidance in 
statute so it would be up to any applicable court orders or your office policy.  Applicable 
court orders and office policy should be applied consistently to all similar cases. 

 
QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS FROM COUNTY AUDITORS FALL ANNUAL CONFERENCE 

 
 
Question #1: Reimbursements for lodging, meals, mileage etc, for state called meetings, are they 

reimbursed according to the county travel policy or by per diem set by the State? 
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Answer #1: Reimbursements for attendance at state called meetings should be made in accordance 

with the applicable statute allowing the State to call the meeting. 
 
Question #2: The County does not plan on implementing any new income tax.  Am I correct in thinking 

that we only report to DLGF if a change is being made?  No change, No contact! 
 
Answer #2: Yes. 
 
Question #3: Homestead Rebate – If a County has continued to process transfers of ownership until tax 

bills are mailed; should rebate checks be issued to owner of record at time assessment was 
certified (i.e. March) or owner of record at time of tax bill mailing.   

 
Answer #3: The County Auditors and County Treasurers Associations recommend you refund to the 

owner that would have received the tax bill. 
 
Question #4: If we outsource the “rebate checks” process can we pay for this out of Commissioner’s 

budget?  “custom hire appropriation” 
 
Answer #4: Only if the Council appropriated the custom hire appropriation for this purpose. 
 
Question #5: Should we be getting new W-4 forms completed on all employees each year? 
 
Answer #5: We recommend you contact IRS directly or consult the appropriate IRS publication. 
 
Question #6: Do tax sale surplus and tax sale redemption claims need to be advertised?  
 
Answer #6: We will not take an audit exception if these refunds are not advertised. 
 
Question #7: How much can you deduct from a public employee’s check for collection of delinquent 

taxes? 
 
Answer #7: Use the formula in IC 24-4.5-5-105. 
 
Question #8: Burial allowances for veterans.  We pay $100 is this per statute?  Or do we need a county 

ordinance?  Do spouses of veterans get this allowance when they pass away? 
 
Answer #8: IC 10-17-10-1 requires the County to set the amount of the allowance by ordinance but it 

may not exceed $1000.  There can be no more than one allowance for a descendent who 
qualifies.  A veteran can use the burial allowance for a spouse or the spouse can use for the 
qualified veteran but not both. 

 
Question #9: Do you have to advertise additional appropriations from the jury pay fund, supplemental 

public defender fund and county misdemeanant fund? 
 
Answer #9: Yes, IC 6-1.1-18-5-7 requires you to give notice when ever more money will be appropriated 

than prescribed by the adopted budget. 
 
Question #10: We have been getting donations to some local organizations (County Involved).  For 

example: county home, city/county, drug free program, Sheriff’s department, do these funds 
go to Council or can the money be spent without appropriation.  I can’t find an IC code to 
support donations.  All of these dollars are in separate funds. 
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Answer #10: We would not take exception to donation funds being disbursed without appropriation, when 

the donations have been accepted for a specific purpose under home rule ordinance.  
However, your County Council may elect to appropriate the funds established for donations 
by local ordinance. 

 
Question #11: Does the SBOA send revised forms?  Is there a place on the website where we might find 

new or revised forms? 
 
Answer #11: We mail notice and a copy of the revised form to the affected office holders and to the public 

printers. 
 
Question #12: We are receiving requests to e-mail plats.  Can we charge for this? 
 
Answer #12: IC 5-14-3-3.6 allows charging reasonable fee for enhanced accessed.  The fee would then 

be deposited into the enhanced access fund of the County. 
 
Question #13: Can we invest homestead refund money if our settlement isn’t until after January? 
 
Answer #13: Yes, the County Treasurer may invest these dollars. The investment may be just for this 

fund or it may be pooled with other monies and invested as total monies on deposit. 
 
Question #14: Is the State giving money to help with the cost of mailing refunds? 
 
Answer #14: No. 
 
Question #15: When setting up the homestead credit rebate fund, what type of fund code and revenue 

code do we use? 
 
Answer #15: The fund number for the County Annual Report (CAR) is 10 229.  The revenue code that is 

preferable is special state distribution 3 3 5 13. 
 
Question #16: Children’s psychiatric fund – The CPRTSF runs in the red because bills are greater than 

funds between distributions.  Now the issue is bills exceed appropriation and funds that will 
be collected by the end of the year.  The Council has allowed temporary loans with the 
money being paid back at settlement time.  Can we do an additional appropriation if there is 
no available money in the fund?  What is the best remedy? 

 
Answer #16: The County needs two things, cash and then appropriation to be able to disburse monies.  If 

tax levies do not provide enough revenues to repay temporary loans and leave money to 
operate you need to work with the DLGF on a more appropriate levy. 

 
Question #17: Do court claims have to be advertised?  We always advertise them 2 times but can’t find it in 

the manual anywhere.  
 
Answer #17: Page 7-4 of the Accounting and Uniform Compliance Guidelines Manual for County Auditors 

and IC 36-2-6-3 require allowances by the Judge of any court of the County to be published 
one time in two newspapers three days prior to issuance of the check.  Claims of Circuit and 
Superior Court are to be published within 60 days after allowance (1 time in 2 newspapers). 
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Question #18: We have Title IV-D appropriations for the Clerk, the Prosecutor and County.  Is it possible to 

set these up with separate fund numbers such as 0246 instead of 0100 (co gen).  We 
receipt the money into 0100-000-0045 for the clerk 0100-000-0055 for Prosecutor.  
However, we have an expense appropriation number set up to pay out of these accounts.  
The problem is when something is paid from the 0100-0000-0045 or 0055 because they are 
part of county general cash.  Can we make these funds of their own? 

 
Answer #18: County general fund is appropriate for these Title IV-D reimbursements.  The disbursements 

should not reduce revenue lines where receipts of Title IV-D reimbursement are posted. 
 
Question #19: Do the Clerk and Prosecutor need an additional to pay claims from these appropriations? 
 
Answer #19: County general funds must be appropriated before they may be expended unless there is a 

specific statutory exemption like state called meeting expenses, insurance proceeds used 
within the year for repair or replacement…. etc.   

 
 


