Close Menu

Peer Review Requirements

Pursuant to 844 IAC 17-1-7, all certified direct entry midwives must participate in peer review sessions at least twice a year.

Approved peer review sessions must be sponsored by one of the following organizations:

  • North American Registry of Midwives
  • Indiana Midwives Association
  • Association of Indiana Midwives
  • Other organization approved by the Committee

All peer review sessions must have at least 4 participants who hold one of the following licenses/credentials:

  • Certified Professional Midwife
  • Certified Direct Entry Midwife
  • Certfied Nurse Midwife

In addition, all certified direct entry midwives must submit the following cases for peer review within six months:

  • Death of a client or client's child;
  • Intrapartum or post-partum transport of a client from the planned delivery location to a hospital, urgent care center, physician's office or similar facility for further care or treatment; or,
  • Significant adverse event or injury to the client or client's child, whether temporary or permanent in nature