Close Menu

Continuing Education Requirements

In order to renew your certified direct entry midwife license you are required to have completed no less than fifteen (15) hours of continuing education each licensure year. The Committee is currently on a two (2) year renewal cycle. The continuing education must have been completed during the renewal period prior to license renewal. In addition, all continuing education programs must be sponsored, accredited or approved by any of the organizations listed below (see 844 IAC 17-1-6).

Retain all certificates of completion for a minimum of three (3) years.  Do not submit certificates of completion unless requested to do so by the Committee.

Credit Hours Required

  • A licensee who renews a license shall complete no less than thirty (30) hours of continuing education in courses or programs approved by any of the approved sponsors in each two (2) year renewal period.
  • Continuing education acquired in any area other than that related to the practice of midwifery will not be accepted.
  • Continuing education credit units or clock hours must be obtained within the renewal period and may not be carried over from one (1) licensure period to another.
  • At least one (1) hour of pharmacology must be completed annually.
  • At least one (1) hour in each two (2) year renewal period shall be completed regarding the following:
    • ​Emergency life support procedures
    • Identification of high risk births for mothers
    • Identification of potential complications during labor
  • At least 50% of all continuing education must be obtained from courses attended in-person. 

Approval of Continuing Education Programs

To receive credit for continuing education programs, the program must be sponsored, accredited, or approved by any of the following organizations:

  1. Certifying bodies recognized by the North American Registry of Midwives
  2. Indiana Midwives Association
  3. American Academy of Pediatrics
  4. American College of Nurse Midwives
  5. A national, regional, state, district, or local organization that operates as an affiliated entity under the approval of any organizations listed in subdivisions (1) through (4).
  6. A federal, state, or local government agency that coordinates or presents continuing education programs related to podiatric medicine.