Applications & Instructions
The applications listed below are available online, in Adobe Acrobat (PDF) format. If you do not have Adobe Acrobat, you can download it here: http://www.adobe.com/.
Please submit completed applications and payment to:
Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
Attn: Indiana Auctioneer Commission
402 West Washington Street, Room W072
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204
You may contact our office at firstname.lastname@example.org with questions regarding the applications or instructions listed below.
Apply online now! Go to MyLicense.IN.gov and you will either need to create or login to your Access Indiana, single sign-on account. You will complete the online application and submit payment with a credit or debit card. Please allow 48 business hours for your application to be received and reviewed. You will be contacted by a customer service representative with details of what additional documentation is required to complete your application.
Apply by paper: Application for Auctioneer License by Examination or Reciprocity
- Completed and signed application (please include email address for correspondence)
- $70.00 Application Fee
- Course completion certificate (from a Commission approved pre-licensing course provider)
- $35.00 exam application fee
Applicants will be contacted by staff to schedule the exam. The exam is given six (6) times a year at the Indiana Government Center South, 402 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204.
Reciprocal Applicants should include:
- Completed and signed application (please include an email address for correspondence)
- Original verification of license (from the State of issuance)
- $70.00 Application Fee
In order to be eligible for a reciprocal license an applicant must hold an active license issued by a state Indiana has reciprocal agreement with and reside in that state. Indiana has reciprocal agreements with: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Kentucky, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia.
Expired/Non-Renewable (expired over 4 years) applicants should include:
- Completed and signed application for the examination indicating your previous Indiana Auctioneer license number in response to "previous license held" at the bottom of page one.
- Submit certificates documenting sixteen (16) hours of required continuing education courses obtained no more than three (3) years prior to the application date.
- $35.00 examination fee
All licensees previously issued an Indiana Auctioneer license are no longer eligible for a reciprocal license once their Indiana license is expired. All expired/non-renewable licensees are required to pass the examination and submit sixteen (16) hours of continuing education before they are issued a new license.
Applicants for Registration of Auctioneer d/b/a should include:
- Completed and signed application - Registration of Auctioneer d/b/a
This form serves as the written notice required by statute of an exempt individual notifying the Commission of operating an auction company. Per IC 25-6.1-3-4(2)(i): An individual who wishes to operate an auction company, and who is exempt under subsection (a) from obtaining an auction company license, shall, not more than thirty (30) days before the date on which the individual begins to operate an auction company, notify the Commission, in a writing signed by the individual, that the individual is operating as an auction company or as more than one (1) auction company. The individual shall specify in such written notification the trade or business name, and the address of the principle place of business, of each auction company which the individual operates.
Waiver of CE Requests should include:
- Completed and signed application - Application for Waiver of CE
- Any supporting documentation (Doctor statements, etc.)
Applications for Activation of an Inactive license should include:
- Completed and signed application - Application for Activation of an Inactive Auctioneer License
- CE Certificates of Completion
Auction Company Applications should include:
- Completed and signed application - Application for Auction Company License
- $70.00 Application Fee
- Proof of organizational structure (Can be in the form of: documentation from the Indiana Secretary of State, a legal document prepared by an attorney, and/or a written, notarized agreement signed by all parties involved.)
Pre-Licensing and CE Course Sponsor
Applications for approval of Pre-Licensing Course Providers or Continuing Education Course Sponsors should include:
- Completed application - Application for Pre-Licensing and CE Sponsors
- Names and qualifications of all course instructors
- All course materials
- Sample certificate of completion
All applications for providers must be approved by the Commission. Applications are reviewed only during regular meetings, so please plan accordingly.