REAL ESTATE APPRAISER LICENSURE AND CERTIFICATION BOARD April 4, 2019

MINUTES

I. CALL TO ORDER & ESTABLISH QUORUM

Dennis Kruse called the meeting to order at 9:01 a.m. in Room W064, South Government Center, 402 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, Indiana, and declared a quorum, in accordance with Ind. Code § 25-34.1-8-4.

Members Present:

Mark Ratterman, Vice Chairman Dennis "Matthew" Kruse II, Chairman Wayne Johnson John Newlin Ron Kohart

Members Absent:

Terry Watson

State Officials Present:

Deanna Alexander, Board Director Toby Davis, Assistant Director Nate Black, Compliance Office Jim Schmidt, Deputy Attorney General

Transcriptionist:

Paul A. Morgan, Associated Reporting, Inc.

II. REPORT FROM THE INDIANA ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE

Attorney General's Report presented by Jennifer Barth

III. ADOPTION OF THE MINUTES FROM THE DECEMBER 13, 2018 MEETING OF THE BOARD

Motion was first and seconded to Approve.

Kohart/Ratterman 5/0

The following Board Members Voted "Aye" "Nay"

Mark Ratterman

Dennis "Matthew" Kruse	\checkmark
Ron Kohart	\checkmark
Wayne Johnson	\checkmark
John Newlin	\checkmark

IV. ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING

A. In the Matter of the License of: Steven Terhesh

2019 REAB 0002 Re: Appeal

Motion was first and seconded to Issue a Notice of Proposed Default.

Johnson/Kohart 5/0

The following Board Members Voted "Aye" "Nay"

Mark Ratterman ✓

Dennis "Matthew" Kruse

Ron Kohart

Wayne Johnson

John Newlin

B. In the Matter of the License of: Daniel Lee

2018 REAB 0008

Re: Probation withdrawal

Hilary Eagan, Attorney General's Office

Respondent: Daniel Lee Attorney: No Attorney

Motion was first and seconded to withdrawal the Probation.

Ratterman/Kohart

5/0

The following Board Members Voted "Aye" "Nay"

Mark Ratterman

Dennis "Matthew" Kruse

Ron Kohart

Wayne Johnson

John Newlin

C. In the Matter of the License of: Zachary Meyer

2018 REAB 0014 Re: Final Hearing

Adriana Zelijkovic, Attorney General's Office

Witness: Deanna Alexander Witness: Heather Buell

Respondent: Zachary Meyer

Attorney: John Kolas

Motion was first and seconded find him not in violation of the alleged accounts.

Ratterman/Johnson

5/0

The following Board Members Voted "Aye" "Nay"

Mark Ratterman

Dennis "Matthew" Kruse

Ron Kohart

Wayne Johnson

John Newlin

V. PERSONAL APPEARANCES

A. In the Matter of the License of: Greg Deere

Re: Review of Logs and (invite the Supervisor to this meeting, tabled from the December meeting)

Motion was first and seconded to approve to take the exam.

Ratterman/Johnson

5/0

The following Board Members Voted "Aye" "Nay"

Mark Ratterman
Dennis "Matthew" Kruse
Ron Kohart
Wayne Johnson
John Newlin

B. In the Matter of the Application of: Kyle Fritschle

Re: Logs

Motion was first and seconded to issue license on Probation status for 36 months and must submit logs for review monthly must be submitted electronically. The Board may request a Personal Appearance if needed. The Board may request samples off the appraisal logs.

Ratterman/Newlin 5/0

The following Board Members Voted	"Aye"	"Nay'
Mark Ratterman	√	
Dennis "Matthew" Kruse	✓	
Ron Kohart	✓	
Wayne Johnson	✓	
John Newlin	\checkmark	

VI. APPRAISER CE COURSE

A. Appraiser eLearning LLC (CE21800014)

1.	2019 Appraiser's Conference and Trade Show (ACTS)-Day 1	7 Hours
2.	2019 Appraiser's Conference and Trade Show (ACTS)-Day 2	7 Hours

Motion was first and seconded to **Approve**.

Johnson/Ratterman 5/0

The following Board Members Voted	"Aye"	"Nay"
Mark Ratterman	✓	
Dennis "Matthew" Kruse	\checkmark	
Ron Kohart	\checkmark	
Wayne Johnson	\checkmark	
John Newlin	\checkmark	

B. Appraisal Institute CE (CE10600392)

- 1. Appraisal Institute Annual Conference Day 1
- 2. Appraisal Institute Annual Conference Day 2 (Sign-in sheet and taking attendance)

Motion was first and seconded to **Approve.**

Johnson/Ratterman 5/0

The following Board Members Voted "Aye" "Nay" Mark Ratterman Dennis "Matthew" Kruse Ron Kohart Wayne Johnson John Newlin C. Education Resource (CE10600517) 1. CE 00-19-1 An Overview of the APB Valuation Advisory 4: Identifying **Comparable Properties** 2 Hours Motion was first and seconded to Approve. Johnson/Kohart 5/0 The following Board Members Voted "Aye" "Nay" Mark Ratterman Dennis "Matthew" Kruse Ron Kohart Wayne Johnson John Newlin D. American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers (CE10600496) 1. AgWare Update for Appraising Rural America 7 Hours Motion was first and seconded to Approve. Johnson/Ratterman 5/0 The following Board Members Voted "Aye" "Nay"

E. American Society of Appraisers (CE21400022)

Mark Ratterman

Ron Kohart Wayne Johnson John Newlin

Dennis "Matthew" Kruse

Motion was first and seconded to **Approve.**

Johnson/Kohart 5/0

The following Board Members Voted	"Aye"	"Nay"
Mark Ratterman	✓	
Dennis "Matthew" Kruse	\checkmark	
Ron Kohart	\checkmark	
Wayne Johnson	\checkmark	
John Newlin	\checkmark	

VII. OLD/NEW BUSINES

- A. Appraisal Subcommittee Report
 - The Appraisal Subcommittee introduced themselves and what their Committee does.
- **B.** Change Instructor qualifications
 - Rule Change required
- C. Appraiser Trainee not licensed wanting to transfer logs to Indiana from California
 - Yes, they can.
- D. Kara Cutchbert-Trainee licensed in Michigan wanting to use log hours from Michigan to be licensed in Indiana as a Trainee
 - Yes, they can.
- E. Tracy Brown Licensed Residential requesting waiver for Bachelor's degree
 - Tracy Brown emailed PLA to let us know she would not be coming to the meeting.
- F. Roseanne N Eaton TR41200012 CE Audit no response did not provide any CE
 - Motion was first and seconded to send another certified letter to the address.
- **G.** Ronald McCord Hasn't paid Civil Penalty per the Non-compliance letter.
 - Certified has been returned

- **H.** Benjamin Hopkins Hasn't paid Civil Penalty per the Non-Compliance letter.
 - Mr. Hopkins completed his CE and payed his Civil Penalty prior to the meeting.
- **I. Patrick Troy** hasn't paid Civil Penalty per the Non-Compliance letter.
 - Certified has been returned
- J. Amanda Haehl She was issued a Non-Compliance letter but was Compliant.

Motion was first and seconded to vacate the Notice and find the petitioners Appeal Moot.

K. Paul Matthews

Re: Action on Motion for Disqualification of Ultimate Authority.

Motion was first and seconded to Deny his Petition for Disqualification of Ultimate Authority and John Newlin has recused himself.

Ratterman/Johnson 4/0

The following Board Members Voted "Aye" "Nay

Mark Ratterman
Dennis "Matthew" Kruse
Ron Kohart
Wayne Johnson

John Newlin recused himself from the vote as he was the Liaison on the Case. The following members continued to take part in the hearing: Mark Ratterman, Wayne Johnson, Dennis "Matthew" Kruse and Ron Kohart.

L. Jason King

Re: Petition to not be held in Default

Motion was first and second to not hold Jason King in Default

Ratterman/Johnson 5/0

The following Board Members Voted "Aye" "Nay"

Mark Ratterman
Dennis "Matthew" Kruse
Ron Kohart

Wayne Johnson ✓
John Newlin ✓

Motion was first and seconded to not Rule on the Motion to Dismiss and to schedule Oral Arguments for the May 30, 2019 meeting.

Ratterman/Johnson 5/0

The following Board Members Voted	"Aye" "Nay"
Mark Ratterman	✓
Dennis "Matthew" Kruse	✓
Ron Kohart	✓
Wayne Johnson	\checkmark
John Newlin	✓

M. InBiz

N. Education Expiring

• Getting direction from the Board how to proceed with cleaning up the CE course list.

VIII. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, and having completed its duties, the meeting of the Indiana Real Estate Appraiser Licensure and Certification Board adjourned at 1:10 p.m.

Next Scheduled Meeting May 30, 2019 9:00 a.m. W064

Dennis Kruse, Chairman