Info Agency Main Banner Content
Pharmacy Technician Requirements and Application
The Board shall issue a pharmacy technician license to an individual who:
- submits a completed application and $25 application fee (in the form of a check or money order, made payable to "Professional Licensing Agency");
- is at least 18 years of age (in lieu of meeting this requirement, you will need to submit additional documentation; see below for more information);
- submits a copy of a high school diploma or GED or transcripts showing you graduated (in lieu of meeting this requirement, you will need to submit additional documentation; see below for more information);
- has not been convicted of a crime that has direct bearing upon their ability to work with legend drugs or controlled substances;
- submits to a criminal background check; please note that the criminal background check cannot be done prior to our receiving your application and payment; and
- has completed an Indiana Board approved training and education program or has passed an Indiana Board approved examination [currently there are two: PTCB or ExCPT]. If you still need to do this step you can print off the above application and mark "technician in training" send the application along with everything required in 1 through 5 and we will then issue you a training permit to complete number six (6).
Ø If you are licensed and/or certified in another state, your state license/certification will not transfer to Indiana. You are required to meet Indiana's license requirements in order to qualify for licensure in Indiana.
Ø If you have NOT completed an Indiana board approved training and education program OR have not successfully completed the PTCB or ExCPT examination, then you need to apply for the Technician in Training permit. You will use the same application above.
Ø If you currently hold an active technician-in-training permit and have completed your training or examination, you do not need to submit a new application for licensure. Please submit your affidavit of completion or certificate of completion from a Board approved training and education program OR copy of PTCB or ExCPT certificate. This documentation must be sent by mail to 402 W Washington Street, Room W072, Indianapolis, Indiana, 46204. If you email the document it MUST be scanned and attached as a PDF document - pictures are NOT accepted.
Ø If your technician-in-training permit is expired, your application would be considered abandoned at that time, therefore you will need to reapply with a brand new application, fee etc., and meet all the requirements as if you never applied previously. Permits are NOT renewable.
Ø If you have an Active technician-in-training permit and need an extension to complete your training, your Pharmacist Supervisor may email email@example.com and request the extension. The email should include the name of the technician-in-training, the permit number, how long of an extension is needed and why it is needed. This needs to be submitted approximately a week before the permit expires so staff has sufficient time to review the request and process it.
Indiana law requires a licensed pharmacy technician to be at least 18 years old. If you are not yet 18, then you must have the qualifying pharmacist at the pharmacy at which you will be employed to submit a statement supporting your request to be a licensed pharmacy technician.
High School Diploma or GED Certificate Requirement
You must have your high school diploma or GED in order to obtain your technician license. Please submit a copy with your application. If you do not have a high school diploma or GED you may obtain a technician-in-training permit, provided you only practice in a Board-approved training program (you must submit proof either from the Pharmacy or School on what approved program you will be in - this can be in the form of a letter) and submit documentation that you are actively pursuing a high school diploma or GED. You will need to submit a copy of your high school diploma or GED before you can obtain your technician license.
What Do I Submit With My Completed Application for Licensure as a Pharmacy Technician/Technician in Training?
è $25 application fee in the form of a check or money order, made payable to "Professional Licensing Agency";
è affidavit of completion or certificate of completion from a Board approved training and education program OR copy of PTCB or ExCPT certificate;
è if under 18 years of age, statement from your qualifying pharmacist;
è copy of high school diploma, high school transcripts showing you graduated, college diploma, or GED;
è if you answered “yes” to any of the questions on the application, then you must explain fully, including all related details, in a signed and notarized statement. You must also submit a signed statement in your own words as well as documentation regarding to the incident(s) in question. Below, find a list of documentation that will be requested by the Board if not submitted. The Board may, however, request information in addition to what is listed below upon reviewing the information you submit.
Documentation Required for “Yes” Responses on the License Application
Question #1: Copies of all Board orders filed against the license. If action has been lifted against your license, then verification of this is required as well.
Question #2: Submit a copy of the denial notification as well as any other documentation relating to the denial.
Question #3: Submit a current evaluation from an approved addictionologist.
Question #4: Submit all related court documentation that indicate the charge, plea, sentence requirements, and, if the sentence requirements have been met, verification of completion of sentencing requirements. Request a chronological case summary. If you had fines or were on probation we must have proof that the fines were paid and proof of completion of the probation.
Question #5 & #6: Nothing additional; however, after reviewing your statement, the Board may request additional information.
For anyone with an expired technician license please go back to the original Pharmacy page and under resources click on the renewal forms and pull up the appropriate renewal form for completion. Please note that if your technician license has been expired for three (3) or more years you will be required to make a personal appearance before the Board.
Please submit the application, fee, and documentation (if required) to our office at the address below:
Professional Licensing Agency
402 W Washington Street, Room W072
Indianapolis, IN 46204
If you have any questions, please contact our office at pla4@pla.IN.gov.