Technical Planning Committee

NIRPC Lake Michigan Room, Portage, IN August 13, 2019 Minutes

Kevin Breitzke called the meeting to order at 10:05 a.m. with the Pledge of Allegiance and self-introductions. Kevin Breitzke reminded the Committee members to complete the meeting participation form in the lobby and expressed his gratitude to those who had already done so. Committee members present were Kevin Breitzke, Will Farrellbegg, Dean Button, Frank Rivera, Kay Nelson, Kelly Wenger, Tyler Kent, David Wright, and Julie Ritzler.

Others present were Michael Jabo, Jake Dammarell, Claudia Taylor, Jeff Huet, Kathryn Vallis, Doug Ferguson, Nick Bellar, Tom Vander Woude, Terry Martin, and Lauri Keagle.

Staff present were Trey Wadsworth, Peter Kimball, Charles Bradsky, James Winters, Scott Weber, Gabrielle Biciunas, Kevin Corrigan, Eman Ibrahim, and Candice Eklund

There were no requests for public comment.

The minutes of the May 14, 2019 minutes were approved on motion by Will Farrellbegg and second by Dean Button.

Peter Kimball presented on the Designation of the Critical Urban Freight Corridor (CUFC) project. The Critical Urban and Rural Freight Corridors (CURFCs) are important freight corridors that provide critical connectivity to the National Highway Freight Network (NHFN). Peter discussed the designation requirements for both the CUFCs and the CRFCs, stating the minimum eligibility requirement is to match at least one of the criteria. The state of Indiana has been allotted 97.13 miles of designated Urban Freight Corridor and 194.25 miles of Rural Freight Corridor. Dean Button questioned if this project could be the first of additional designations. Kevin Breitzke stated future projects could be addressed for evaluation by NIRPC staff and Peter informed the Committee that a task force for this initiative is being formed. On motion by Kay Nelson and second by Will Farrellbegg, the Technical Planning Committee voted to recommend Resolution 19-23, designating Willowcreek Road/Crisman Road as a Critical Urban Freight Corridor from U.S. Highway 20 to the entrance ramp of the Indiana Toll Road.

Mitch Barloga announced that \$25 million will be available for the second round of the Next Level Trail program. The second application cycle will run from October 1 to November 1, 2019. The funding focus is divided between two funding categories. The Regionally Significant category has a maximum request of \$5 million and a minimum request of \$250,000, and the Locally Significant category has a maximum request of \$2 million and a minimum request of \$200,000. For additional information, contact Mitch at mbarloga@nirpc.org or 219-763-6060.

Trey Wadsworth gave an update on the public comment report for the Public Participation Plan (PPP). The Engage NWI Plan for the new PPP was released for a 45-day public comment period on June 21, 2019. Input from the U.S. Department of Transportation, INDOT, the Outreach Committee and the peer exchange hosted at NIRPC in June, were all used to develop the plan. David Wright asked if the federal agencies had been involved in the Engage NWI process. Trey confirmed they were active partners and participated throughout the process. Four of the seven public comments received were in clear support of the PPP, two comments contained ideas and one was for a topic NIRPC does not have any involvement in and could not authorize the funding for. A total of four meetings were held in Hammond, Gary, Valparaiso and

Michigan City. On a motion by Will Farrellbegg and second by Kay Nelson, the Technical Planning Committee voted to recommend the adoption of Resolution 19-24, the Engage NWI Public Participation Plan, to the Commission at the meeting scheduled on September 19, 2019.

Charles Bradsky reported there were no public comments received on the Amendment for the FY 2018-2021 and FY 2020-2024 TIP during the 30-day period beginning June 27, 2019. Charles noted that NIRPC has not received final approval from the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) for the FY 2020-2024 TIP. NIRPC will be amending both amendments and will operate under the FY 2018-2021 until the next TIP is approved. Amendment 23, for FY 2018-2021, and Amendment 1, for FY 2020-2024, will operate the same until the federal partners approve the TIP. On motion by Kay Nelson and second by Dean Button, the Technical Planning Committee voted to recommend Resolution 19-22, Amending the FY 2018-2021 (Amendment 23) and FY 2020-2024 (Amendment 1) Transportation Improvement Programs for Lake, Porter and LaPorte Counties, Indiana.

Charles Bradsky provided an update on the monthly ad-hoc meetings for the TIP Continuous Improvement Committee. The four main topics the committee will be discussing are to define deficiencies from the prior NOFA, correct past errors, assemble 2020 NOFA questions, guidelines and rules, and test the process before going live. They will also address and incorporate transformative projects into the next NOFA, which are projects that need to be phased and are typically greater than \$10 million. Recommendations from the Ad-Hoc Committee meetings will be made to the TPC Committee. Communities can appeal the recommendations at any point in the process.

- Kathy Luther said there were two environmental workshops in lieu of the monthly meetings.
 One for the shoreline public access rights and one for the DNR Coastal program grant workshop. The next EMPC meeting is scheduled for September 19, 2019.
- Mitch Barloga said the Next Level Trails applications will begin October 1, 2019. The next TPC meeting will be hosting a Trails Town workshop.
- James Winters said the 2019 FTA grants were submitted and passed the initial review.
 Rules on public agency safety plans have been finalized and will be emailed to the transit operators.
- Eman Ibrahim said a Sensible Tools workshop will be held in February 2020.
- Scott Weber said he was working on the UPWP tasks that related directly to the 2050 plan, the Surface Transportation Committee, and the CUFC. A working group task force is being formed and will meet on 8/27/19 at 11:00 a.m.
- Charles Bradsky said the Transportation Resource & Oversight Committees will meet on August 27th. Local Quarterly meetings were completed in August with several projects being identified as high risk. These projects will be discussed at the next meeting.
- The Outreach Committee's main task was to adopt the Public Participation Plan.

Doug Ferguson reported on the Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning (CMAP) five year program of projects that is out for public comment period for the use of STP shared funds for transportation alternative program funds. CMAP is sponsoring a series of events called Small Plans, Big Ideas, trying to link some of the local leaders with the concepts of the plan. The initiatives for CMAP are on their website at: https://cmap.ihmc.us/.

Lauri Keagle reported the South Shore Clean Cities (SSCC) will host a National Drive Electric event in conjunction with the next NIRPC Commission meeting on September 19, 2019. The event will be held in NIRPC's parking lot. Carl Lisek, Executive Director with SSCC, will be back on the air with the Lake Shore Public Radio program every Wednesday, beginning

September 4, 2019. This initiative is funded in part by the contract with NIRPC. Laurie also reported the Partners for Clean Air Northwest Indiana has 325 followers on their Facebook page. When they reach 500 followers, a lucky follower will win a new bike. Lauri encouraged the group to follow their Facebook page if they haven't already done so. Through the contract with NIRPC, a LinkedIn page has also been launched.

The next meeting of the Technical Planning Committee will be held on September 10, 2019 at 10:00 a.m.

Hearing no other business, Kevin Breitzke adjourned the meeting at 10:55 a.m.