Technical Planning Committee

NIRPC Lake Michigan Room, Portage, IN May 14, 2019 Minutes

Kevin Breitzke called the meeting to order at 10:05 a.m. with the Pledge of Allegiance and self-introductions. Kevin Breitzke welcomed Blossom Mabon, new Executive Director for South Lake County Community Services following the retirement of Margot Sabato. Committee members present were Kevin Breitzke, Will Farrellbegg, Diane Noll, George Topoll, Kay Nelson, Dean Button, Tyler Kent, Kelly Wenger, Blossom Mabon, Mark O'Dell, David Wright, Tom MacLennan, Beth Shrader, and Jessica Miller.

Others present were Christopher Murphy, Dennis Cobb, Phil Gralik, Ron Wiedeman, Ismail Attallah, Jeff Huet, Claudia Taylor, Jeff Sheridan, Craig Phillips, Adam McAlpine, Duane Alverson, K-Todd Behling, Bruce Lindner, and Jerry Siska.

Staff present were Trey Wadsworth, Kathy Luther, Mitch Barloga, Charles Bradsky, James Winters, Gabrielle Biciunas, Peter Kimball, Dominique Edwards, Scott Weber, and Mary Thorne.

The INDOT survey was available on the table in the lobby.

There were no requests for public comment.

The minutes of the April 9 and April 16 minutes were approved on a motion by Will Farrellbegg and a second by Blossom Mabon.

Scott Weber no public comments were received during the 30-day period from April 1 to April 30 on the Air Quality Conformity Determination for the *NWI 2050 Plan* and the 2020-2024 Transportation Improvement Program. NIRPC is federally required to demonstrate air quality conformity for any newly adopted metropolitan transportation plans and transportation improvement programs and for any amendments to the MTPs or TIPs that include regionally significant, non-exempt projects for ozone. Interagency consultation was conducted with NIRPC, INDOT, IDEM, FHWA, FTA and the EPA. The air quality conformity determination process completed for the *NWI 2050 Plan* and the 2020-2024 TIP demonstrates that these planning documents meet the Clean Air Act and Transportation Conformity Rule requirements for the applicable National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS). On a motion by Dean Button and a second by Will Farrellbegg, the Technical Planning Committee voted to recommend Resolution 19-18, the Air Quality Conformity Determination for the *NWI 2050 Plan* and the 2020-2024 Transportation Improvement Program to the NIRPC Commission for approval.

Dominique Edwards gave a brief overview of the comments received during the 30 day period from April 1 to April 30 on the *NWI 2050 Plan*. The *Plan* was revised based on the comments received. The members were provided with an Executive Summary of the Plan. Mitch Barloga briefly overviewed all of the stages of the 2050 planning process over the last year. The *NWI 2050 Plan* and Storybook are on NIRPC's website. On a motion by Will Farrellbegg and a second

by George Topoll, the Technical Planning Committee voted to recommend Resolution 19-19, the *NWI 2050 Plan* to the NIRPC Commission for approval.

James Winters presented Resolution 19-21, in support of application submissions by the transit operators to the Volkswagen Mitigan Trust. If awarded, funding from the Trust would allow all operators to fund more non-diesel vehicle and capital purchases. David Wright added that the request by GPTC and East Chicago Transit would impact the other operators by leaving more money on the table. Kay Nelson said she would abstain from voting as she is on the VW Trust Board. On a motion by George Topoll and a second by Kelly Wenger, the Technical Planning Committee voted to recommend Resolution 19-21, supporting applications to the Volkswagen Mitigation Trust to the NIRPC Commission for approval.

Mitch Barloga announced that \$25 million was available in the first round of the Next Level Trail program. 17 of 84 applications for 42 miles of trails in 17 counties were funded. Three NIRPC projects received awards:

• Schererville Pennsy Greenway: \$2.9 million

• Burns Harbor Marguette Greenway: \$1.7 million

Hebron Veterans Memorial Trail: \$303,000

The next round is scheduled for July or August. Communities should work with NIRPC on their applications before submission to DNR. Contact Mitch for more information.

Charles Bradsky overviewed the three comments received during the 30-day period from April 1 to April 30 on the 2020-2024 Transportation Improvement Program. Two were from residents on public transportation and pedestrian signals. One resident was directed to NIRPC's website for the Coordinated Transit Plan and the other commenter's email was forward to INDOT and the Town of Merrillville. A comment was received from Dean Button about the NOFA process and several projects selected. These were discussed at the April 16 TPC meeting regarding increased funding received from INDOT. While his comments were significant, there was no need to modify the Plan. The process will be revisited and revised for a future NOFA so as not to hold up our application to INDOT. Kevin Breitzke expressed appreciation for Mr. Button's comments and said we will proceed with "lessons learned" and improve the process in the next NOFA. Mr. Button said we need to be careful about how we funded legacy projects. The Executive Summary of the TIP was available. The TIP and r-TIP are on the website. The new projects will be added to the RTIP after the Commission meeting on Thursday. On a motion by Dean Button and a second by George Topoll, the Technical Planning Committee voted to recommend Resolution 19-20, the 2020-2024 Transportation Improvement the NIRPC Commission for approval.

- Kathy Luther said two workshops on wetlands were held in lieu of the meeting this month.
- Mitch Barloga said the Legacy Foundation is sponsoring a Lake County Art on Trails
 Program. A flyer was available and an email was sent. NIRPC received an award for the
 Greenways+Blueways Plan from the Indiana APA.
- James Winters said the transit operators discussed 2019 grant funding. We just finished the split with the RTA and it looks good. Emails will go out this week.

- Scott Weber said the Surface Transportation Committee will meet on June 4 at 9 a.m. at NIRPC.
- Charles Bradsky said the Transportation Resource & Oversight Committee will meet on May 28.
- Dominique Edwards said the Outreach Committee worked on a draft of the Public Participation Plan.
- Jessica Miller announced information on the Community Crossings Matching Grant Program. Training will be held on June 26. A flyer was provided.
- Information on upcoming meetings was provided on the agenda.

The next meeting of the Technical Planning Committee will be held on August 13, 2019, at 10 a.m. at NIRPC.

Hearing no other business, Kevin Breitzke adjourned the meeting at 11:15 a.m.