Technical Planning Committee NIRPC Lake Michigan Room, Portage, IN February 12, 2019 Minutes

Kevin Breitzke called the meeting to order at 10:05 a.m. with the Pledge of Allegiance and self-introductions. Committee members present were Jim Biggs, Kevin Breitzke, George Topoll, Mark O'Dell, Marino Solario, Dean Button, Michael Griffin, Tim Bietry, David Wright, Tyler Kent, Tom MacLennan, Kelly Wenger, Kay Nelson and Jessica Miller.

Others present were Ryan Lisek, Craig Phillips, Duane Alverson, Beth Shrader, Matt Mihalik, Jeff Huet, Eric Wolverton, Mark Gordish, Denarie Kane, Dennis Cobb, Don Oliphant, Bruce Spires, David Shilling, Jerry Siska, Michael Duffy, K-Todd Behling, Tom VanderWoude, Frank Rosado, Jr., Nick Bellar, Wendy Vachet, Craig Zandstra, Michael Jabo, Ismail Attallah, Robert Thompson, Deb Backhus, Claudia Taylor, M. Matt Gavelek, Jake Dammarell, Sarah Kobetis and Christopher Murphy.

Staff present were Trey Wadsworth, Kathy Luther, Mitch Barloga, Charles Bradsky, Dominique Edwards, Gabrielle Biciunas, Scott Weber, Peter Kimball, Eman Ibrahim and Mary Thorne.

The INDOT participation survey was available.

The minutes of the January 8, 2019 meeting were approved on a motion by Kay Nelson and a second by Tim Bietry.

There were no public comment requests.

Programming

Charles Bradsky gave a brief overview of the current Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) for the Group 2 Michigan City Urbanized Area. There is currently a deficit of \$639,000 and this will be addressed next week at the Transportation Resource & Oversight Committee meeting.

Mitch Barloga described the TIP programming approach. Last fall, the TPC approved a series of funding targets. The next few months identified project types and how they rank with our process. There is only \$1 million available for over \$10 million proposed. For transit, we will need to cut \$10 million in requests to balance the TIP. More money will be available in the out years, but 2020-2023 will be slim. The timeline culminates in adoption of the TIP and NOFA by the Commission at their May 16 meeting. The next NOFA will kick off in September or October with anticipated adoption by the Commission at its meeting in April, 2020.

Group 2 Michigan City Urbanized Area

Beth Shrader, City of La Porte and Craig Phillips, City of Michigan City worked together to on roadway improvement funding for projects in Michigan City and La Porte. Funding amount changes were recorded in Excel live and onscreen. On a motion by Tim Bietry and a second by

Michael Griffin, the Technical Planning Committee approved the roadway improvement funding for the project selections for Years 2020-2024.

Group 1 Chicago Urbanized Area

Charles Bradsky gave an overview on Group 1 highway project funding for the Chicago Urbanized Area which include Lake and Porter Counties. The Bike and Ped deficit in 2022 will be discussed at the Transportation Resource & Oversight Committee meeting on February 26. There is a \$375,000 set aside for change orders and other risks. Group 1 Transit will be covered separately. Funding amount changes were recorded in Excel live and onscreen. 2020 is fully programmed.

In answer to a question by Jeff Huet, Trey Wadsworth said the Schererville project was being scored as a Quality of Place project because it would address congestion. Staff felt that projects already begun should be completed. This project will be included in the 2050 Plan for the next NOFA as a full allocation in 2025-2026.

Under Roadway Improvements, Denarie Kane presented an update on a letter of support from a developer to the Marcella and 61st Avenue project asking for a change in scoring points from 63 to 68. After discussion and deliberation, the committee felt that while Hobart had a partner, no funding commitment was provided. Michael Griffin moved to award \$1.6 million to the Hobart project with the caveat that Hobart would need to come up with the balance in local match and without scoping the project down. Mark O'Dell made the second. The Technical Planning Committee approved the roadway improvement funding for the Hobart project with one no vote by Dean Button.

Hammond's Kennedy Avenue project will receive \$3,220,000 in 2024. Portage's Samuelson Road project will receive \$306,000 in 2024. They are to rescind their PE/ROW request; find balance from State; pending INDOT commitment. On a motion by Marino Solario and a second by Michael Griffin, the Technical Planning Committee approved the roadway improvement funding for the Kennedy Avenue and Samuelson Road projects in 2024 as awarded.

Highland reduced its request to the \$131,133 available in the Complete Streets category.

Transit funding was discussed. There is a \$10 million deficit of 5307 funding and cuts in funding requests needed to be made. Last week this deficit was demonstrated to the transit operators and several options were discussed. GPTC and East Chicago Transit worked out their funding today. Several items will need to be rechecked by staff. On a motion by David Wright and a second by Michael Griffin, the Technical Planning Committee approved the transit plan as discussed.

Due to the length of the programming discussions, Kevin Breitzke directed the committee to refer to the meeting schedule. The next Technical Planning Committee meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, March 12, 019 at 10 a.m. in the Lake Michigan Room at NIRPC.

On a motion by Kay Nelson and a second by Mark O'Dell, Kevin Breitzke adjourned the meeting at 1:35 p.m.