Technical Planning Committee Meeting

NIRPC Lake Michigan Room 6100 Southport Road, Portage December 13, 2016 <u>MINUTES</u>

Chairman Michael Griffin called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. with the Pledge of Allegiance and selfintroductions. Members present included Michael Griffin, Kevin Breitzke, Geof Benson, William Emerson, Jr., George Topoll, Margot Sabato, David Wright, Rebecca "Sis" Williams, Lyndsay Quist, Tyler Kent, Mark O'Dell, Tom MacLennan, Robin Barzoni-Tillman, Nicole Barker, Beth Shrader and Kay Nelson. Others present included Mitch Bishop, Mike Yacullo, Ismail Attallah, Dean Button, Joe Crnkovich, Jack Eskin, Tom Schmitt, Jake Dammarell, Salvatore DiBernardo, Claudia Taylor, Jeff Huet, Randy Strasser, Don Oliphant, Chris Moore, Keith Kirkpatrick, Teri Dixon, Frank Rosado, Jr., James Mandon, Woody Dresden and Andrew Steele. Staff present included Mitch Barloga, Gary Evers, Kathy Luther, Stephen Sostaric, Scott Weber, James Winters, Gabrielle Biciunas, Eman Ibrahim, Amanda Pollard and Mary Thorne.

The minutes of the November 1, 2016 Technical Planning Committee meeting were approved by general consent.

Mitch Barloga presented the status of the Greenways + Blueways 2020 Plan Update. Approval has been delayed due to the receipt of several significant comments. The modifications will be made and another 30-day comment period will be held.

Stephen Sostaric reported that there were no significant comments received on the SR 249 Bridge project.

Eman Ibrahim presented FY 2017-2018 UPWP Amendment #2 for road safety audits for Hobart, Griffith, Valparaiso and Lake County using HSIP penalty funds obligated at 100% totaling \$440,000. On a motion by Kevin Breitzke and a second by Geof Benson, the FY 2017 UPWP Amendment #2 was recommended by the Committee to the Commission for adoption.

Mitch Barloga presented the modified B-List of projects as approved by this Committee in November. Gary Evers stated that there was no money available at this time. On a motion by Rebecca Williams and a second by David Wright, the Committee voted to recommend the modified B-List of projects.

Gary Evers described Amendment #32 to the FY 2016-2019 Transportation Improvement Program for new, existing and deleted project phases. The amendment received the required comment period and review by the Inter-Agency Consultation Group. Brief discussion followed. On a motion by Geof Benson

and a second by George Topoll, the Committee voted to recommend FY 2016-2019 Transportation Improvement Program Amendment #32 to the Commission for adoption.

Topical Committee reports were given for the Environmental Management Policy Committee, Ped Pedal & Paddle Committee, Transit Operators Roundtable, Rail Vision Workgroup/Freight and the Surface Transportation Committee.

Teri Dixon of Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning said their On to 2050 process continues.

There were no requests for public comment.

James Winters showed a brief video on the benefits of transit-oriented development in other parts of the country.

Kay Nelson noted the Chanute Prize for Team Innovation Awarded to the Calumet River Partners in Restoration Team from the Society of Innovators showcased in the lobby.

Michael Griffin announced the upcoming meetings and office closings at NIRPC. The next Technical Planning Committee meeting will be on January 10, 2017 at 9:00 a.m. in the Lake Michigan Room at the NIRPC office. Hearing no other business, he adjourned the meeting at 10 a.m.

A Digital MP3 of this meeting is filed. Contact Mary Thorne at the phone number or email below should you wish to receive a copy or a portion of it.

The Northwestern Indiana Regional Planning Commission (NIRPC) prohibits discrimination in all its programs and activities on the basis of race, color, sex, religion, national origin, age, disability, marital status, familial status, parental status, sexual orientation, genetic information, political beliefs, reprisal, or because all or part of an individual's income is derived from any public assistance program.