# **Technical Planning Committee**

NIRPC Lake Michigan Room, 6100 Southport Road, Portage November 13, 2018 Minutes

Kevin Breitzke called the meeting to order at 9:10 a.m. with the Pledge of Allegiance and self-introductions. Members present included Kevin Breitzke, George Topoll, Will Farrellbegg, Mark O'Dell, Kelly Wenger, Margot Sabato, Dean Button, Tyler Kent, Tom MacLennan, Duane Alverson, Stephen Stofko, Phil Gralik, Jeff Huet, Doug Ferguson, and David Wright. Others present included Jerry Siska, Bruce Lindner, Frank Rosado, Jr., Dennis Cobb, Mark Gordish, Laurie Keagle, Ron Wiederman, Phil Gralik, Chris Moore, Eric Wolverton, K-Todd Behling, Bob Thompson, Adam McAlpine, Mike Jabo, Don Oliphant and Christopher Murphy. Joyce Newland and Kay Nelson participated via conference phone. Staff present included Kathy Luther, Trey Wadsworth, Charles Bradskey, Scott Weber, Mitch Barloga, Dominique Edwards, Eman Ibrahim, James Winters, Gabrielle Biciunas, Peter Kimball, Candice Eklund and Mary Thorne.

The INDOT participation survey was available at the table in the lobby.

The minutes of the October 9, 2018 Technical Planning Committee meeting were approved on a motion by Dean Button and a second by Will Farrellbegg.

There were no public comments.

## Implementation Planning

Dominique Edwards presented on the 2050 Plan Futures fall pop-up events which concluded October 20. Feedback was received from over 200 people.

Scott Weber presented performance targets for safety, pavement condition and bridge condition and system reliability, freight and congestion mitigation air quality. These are targets and not goals. On a motion by Dean Button and a second by Mark O'Dell, the committee majority voted to recommend the three targets to the NIRPC Commission for adoption with one no vote.

James Winters presented on the Coordinated Transit Plan public comment report. The most significant comments were from GPTC and some changes were made enhancing language in the document. Also, there is language in the document leading into the matrix. On a motion by Will Farrellbegg and a second by David Wright, the committee voted to recommend the Coordinated Transit Plan to the NIRPC Commission for adoption.

Mitch Barloga, Charles Bradsky and James Winters presented on the draft funding allocations and program rules for the 2020-2024 Transportation Improvement Program and the timeline for the Notice of Funding Availability. Discussion followed with several questions which were answered by staff. Will Farrellbegg made a motion, seconded by Dean Button that municipalities that take jurisdiction over INDOT highways take at least 10 years of not making any applications for NIRPC funds. The motion failed on a show of hands with only two in favor. Discussion was held with regard to points being awarded to projects with previous phases, Dean Button made a motion, seconded by George Topoll for TPC to direct the topical committees to include in their scoring sheets preferential treatment to projects whose future phases are not yet funded. Motion passed. The funding application opens November 22. NIRPC will hold an application workshop on December 11 and pre-application scoping meetings will be held from December 12-January 4. Funding applications are due January 11. Projects will be reviewed, scored and fiscally constrained by the topical committees. The draft TIP is

due to INDOT by February 15. The final draft will be reviewed by this committee on March 12. A 30-day public comment period will be held throughout the month of April. The anticipated adoption by the Commission is set for May 16. A timeline for future NOFAs was also provided. Kevin Breitzke highlighted an email sent to him by Dean Button with his concerns, which were addressed by staff. Other concerns from the committee were also addressed. Kathy Luther commented that NIRPC is looking to address our local match which has not been addressed for 25 years. Any changes would need to be made through state legislation. Brief discussion followed. On a motion by Dean Button and a second by George Topoll, the TPC voted to recommend the funding program as presented with the amendments made to the Commission for adoption with one "no" vote.

### **Topical Committee Reports**

There were no reports.

#### **Planning Partners**

Joyce Newland said FHWA is having a course on January 8-9 on FHWA administration of planning and STR Part 1 funds.

#### **Announcements**

Upcoming meetings were listed.

The Complete Streets workshop will be held at NIRPC on December 7 from 9-3.

There is no meeting of the transit operators today.

The next Technical Planning Committee meeting is December 11 at 9 a.m. at NIRPC. Hearing no other business, Kevin Breitzke adjourned the meeting at 12:20 p.m.

A Digital MP3 of this meeting is filed. Contact Mary Thorne at the phone number or email below should you wish to receive a copy or a portion of it.