NIRPC Full Commission Meeting NIRPC/Forum Building, Portage, IN October 29, 2012 Minutes

Chairman Geof Benson called an Executive Session meeting of the NIRPC Full Commission to order at 10:10 a.m. on October 29, 2012 at the NIRPC offices at 6100 Southport Road, Portage, Indiana pursuant to IC 5-14-1.5-6.1(b)(5) to receive information about and interview prospective employees. A quorum of the commission was present and exclusively considered and discussed matters related to the employment of a new NIRPC Executive Director. No other matters were considered or discussed and the Executive Session adjourned at 12:05 a.m.

Chairman Geof Benson called the Full Commission meeting to order at 12:05 p.m. with the Pledge of Allegiance and self-introductions.

Commissioners present included Nancy Adams, Roosevelt Allen, Jr., Geof Benson, Matt Bernacchi, Kevin Breitzke, Bob Carnahan, Tom Clouser, Anthony Copeland, John Costas, Jeff Dekker, Stan Dobosz, Karen Freeman-Wilson, Jeff Freeze, Anthony Hendricks, Ken Layton, Richard Ludlow, Tom McDermott, Blair Milo, Ed Morales, Jim Murphy, Rich Murphy, Diane Noll, Brian Novak, Don Parker, Shawn Pettit, Jim Polarek, Tom Schmitt, Dave Shafer, Brian Snedecor, James Snyder, Keith Soderquist, James Ton, David Uran and George VanTil.

Others present included Deb Bacchus, Keith Benman, Mr. Bowman of East Chicago, Jim Nowacki, Carole Carlson, Mr. Stevens of Valparaiso, and Ty Warner

Staff present included John Swanson, David Hollenbeck, Mitch Barloga, Gabrielle Biciunas, Bill Brown, Gary Evers, Sarah Geinosky, Kevin Garcia, Angie Hayes, Kathy Luther, Jody Melton, Belinda Petroskey, Amanda Pollard, Stephen Sostaric, Meredith Stilwell, Steve Strains and Mary Thorne.

Brian Snedecor asked the members of the Finance & Personnel Committee to introduce themselves: David Uran, Matt Bernacchi, Jeff Dekker, Jim Polarek, Ed Morales, Dave Shafer, Diane Knoll, and Ken Layton. The Committee presented a recommendation to approve the employment agreement of Ty Warner. The contract is from January 1, 2013 to December 31, 2014. Salary is \$130,000 yearly. The Committee is requesting an amendment for vacation with additional language that stipulates one week vacation be taken per quarter during the first year. A motion was made by Tom McDermott and a second by Jim Ton to approve the amended employment contract. George VanTil requested a roll call vote. Mary Thorne called roll. The vote to approve the contract was unanimous at 34.

Ty Warner remarked he looked forward to working with the Commission, who worked together throughout the process.

Chairman Benson adjourned the meeting at 12:20 p.m. ###