NIRPC Executive Board/Full Commission Meeting NIRPC/Forum Building, Portage, IN January 30, 2014 Minutes

Chairman Dave Uran called the meeting to order at 9:05 a.m. with the Pledge of Allegiance and self-introductions.

Commissioners present included Nancy Adams, Roosevelt Allen, Jr., John Bayler, Geof Benson, Kevin Breitzke, Tom Clouser, Anthony Copeland, Jon Costas, Dave Decker, Stan Dobosz, Bill Emerson, Jr., Don Ensign, Karen Freeman-Wilson, Jeff Freeze, Tom Goralczyk, Michael Griffin, Richard Ludlow, Tom McDermott, Blair Milo, Rich Mrozinski, Rich Murphy, Randy Niemeyer, Jim Polarek, Lori Reno, Bob Schaefer, Tom Schmitt, Joe Simonetto, Brian Snedecor, Joe Stahura, Greg Stinson, Eldon Strong, Jim Ton and Dave Uran.

Others present included Bob Alderman, Val Gomez, and David Wright.

Staff present included Ty Warner, Angie Hayes, Kathy Luther, Mitch Barloga, Scott Weber, Allen Hammond and Mary Thorne.

Dave Uran said public comments will now be taken at the beginning of the meetings. Anyone wishing to speak must register their intent to comment on a special sheet posted at the material table adding their name, location and relevant topic on that day's agenda. Given that this is the first implementation of the new policy, he entertained comments from the floor for this meeting only. There were no comments from the public.

Ty Warner announced the appointment of Randy Niemeyer representing the Town of Cedar Lake. Dave Uran also recognized Bill Emerson, Jr., the Lake County Surveyor.

Minutes: The minutes of the January 16, 2014 Executive Board meeting were approved on a motion by Geof Benson and a second by Dave Decker.

Report of the Chair:

Tom McDermott, Chair of the Nominating Committee reported the slate of officers for the 2014 NIRPC Board as follows:

Officers:

Chair Brian Snedecor Vice-Chair Blair Milo Treasurer Jim Ton

Secretary Roosevelt Allen, Jr.

Executive Board Members:

Lake County Anthony Copeland

Tom Schmitt

La Porte County Rich Murphy

Dave Decker

Porter County Don Ensign

Nancy Adams

Governor's Appointment Ed Soliday

Tom McDermott added that nominations are awarded through active involvement in committees. The Nominating Committee received no other nominations and there were no nominations from the floor. On a motion by Tom McDermott and a second by Jim Polarek, the slate was approved.

Dave Uran passed the gavel to Brian Snedecor. Ty Warner presented Dave Uran with a plaque in appreciation of his service as Chairman during this challenging year. Dave Uran commented that it was a good experience working with staff, Ty Warner and the Commissioners and added that Crown Point is stronger for the relationships he built with leaders throughout the region. Brian Snedecor said that he appreciated working with Dave Uran who did a great job chairing meetings and maintaining decorum through difficult issues. He reminded the Commissioners to submit their committee preferences to Mary Thorne as he hoped to complete assignments by the February meeting. Brian Snedecor also thanked Tom McDermott for his continued engagement with NIRPC after his Chairmanship ended. Tom Schmitt said he was honored to be chosen to serve on the Executive Board, having served on the Schererville Town Council for eight years and as appointment to NIRPC for four years.

Report of the Executive Director: Ty Warner reported that NIRPC is still trying to work out some lease issues with Portage. He will be attending the National Association of Regional Councils' National Conference of Regions February 9 to 12 along with Brian Snedecor, Blair Milo, Nancy Adams, Geof Benson (on current NARC Board) and Dave Shafer (as past-President of NARC). All legislative appointments have been confirmed for Wednesday February 12 to discuss MAP-21 and other issues. Ty Warner announced that the Local Government Assistance Committee will meet in the Packer Room immediately following the Commission meeting. The Executive Board will meet on February 20 to conduct upcoming business. In answer to a question by Tom McDermott on the lease, Blair Milo said there had been some issues and questions relative to space configuration, square footage, and rent amounts for NIRPC and the Northwest Indiana Forum.

Other Business:

Brian Snedecor led a discussion on the extreme weather, dwindling salt supplies and costs. Anyone who may have any contact information for salt may send it to Mary Thorne to be shared with the Commissioners. Bob Alderman described INDOT's plowing and salt in efforts to date. During the lake effect snowstorm in Lake County, snow fell at 3-4 inches per hour and congestion was so bad INDOT trucks couldn't get through to plow or salt. Bob Alderman said INDOT is looking into some snow fencing for areas with extreme blowing and drifting snow conditions, adding that over \$450 million has been spent in Northwest Indiana since 2006. Karen Freeman-Wilson suggested that members of the Commission may contact her if they are interested in asking Reith Riley or Walsh about opening a hot patch plant to deal with potholes. Anthony Copeland, citing dangerous conditions on Chicago Avenue, asked if INDOT had a policy to reimburse cities and towns to fix the potholes. Bob Alderman said he would look into it. Tom McDermott said he had heard reports that businesses don't want to relocate here because our roads are worse than in Illinois. Blair Milo offered that due to weather patterns in the region, lake effect snow primarily affects Northwest Indiana more so than Illinois.

Announcements: Mitch Barloga announced that he has 30,000 to 40,000 free trail maps and asked Commissioners to consider taking some back with them to their cities and towns. Jon Costas commented that the maps successfully got him to Chicago and back to Valparaiso by bike. Brian Snedecor welcomed newly sworn in Lake County Surveyor, Bill Emerson, Jr. Bill Emerson said he was excited to be working with the Commissioners at NIRPC.

On a motion by Joe Stahura and a second by Jon Costas, Brian Snedecor adjourned the meeting at 9:45 a.m.