## **Environmental Management Policy Committee**

NIRPC – Virtual Meeting January 7, 2021 **Minutes** 

This meeting was convened as an electronic meeting, pursuant to Governor Holcomb's Executive Order 20-04 and 20-09, extended by Executive Order 20-50. All persons were meeting remotely on a Google Meet platform that allowed for real time interaction and supported the public's ability to observe and record the proceedings. When the agenda item was provided for public comment, this was supported as well. A roll call was taken to motion and approve the agenda items.

Bill Emerson called the meeting to order at 9:05 a.m. with the Pledge of Allegiance and roll call.

In attendance were Katie Vallis (IDNR), Katie Hobgood (Save the Dunes), Jennifer Birchfield (Purdue Northwest), Chandramouli Chandramo (Purdue Northwest), Brenda Scott-Henry (Gary), Kris Krouse (Shirley Heinze), Jennifer Gadzela (Chesterton), Reggie Korthals (BFS), Jan Bapst (Dune Acres), Lauri Keagle (SSCC), Geof Benson (Beverly Shores), Jenny Orsburn (LMCP), Kay Nelson (Forum), Susan MiHalo (Nature Conservancy), George Topoll (Union Township), and Bill Emerson (Lake County).

NIRPC staff present were Kathy Luther, Meredith Stilwell, Candice Eklund, Joe Exl, Kevin Polette, and Flor Baum.

The meeting minutes of November 5, 2020 were approved on motion by Reggie Korthals and second by Jan Bapst. A roll call was taken, and the committee voted unanimously to approve.

There were no public comments.

Kathy Luther presented on the proposed 2021 EMPC schedule and planning. EMPC acts as one of several formal stakeholder advisory groups that NIRPC staffs and coordinates. Environmental responsibilities assigned to NIRPC are for Lake, LaPorte, and Porter counties. EMPC recognizes the value and interdependence of Northwest Indiana's natural resources and economic strengths and encourages the use of those resources to meet current needs while ensuring adequate resources are available for future generations.

The committee focused on the following goals: To educate and inform about environmental issues, and to form coalitions to pursue cooperative approaches to environmental issues of mutual concern. Topics of interest for the 2021 EMPC meetings were discussed. Committee members will champion topics listed:

- Brenda Scott-Henry Lead in Drinking Water, Water Equity, and Cost of Water.
- Joe Exl Urban Forestry.
- NIRPC staff and Jennifer Birchfield follow up on EPA Emergency Response Planning.
- Bill Emerson and Chandra Chandramo Flooding/River Corridor, Wetland Initiative, the Deep River Dam, LCRBC and KRBYRBC updates.
- Lauri Keagle (SSCC) Air Quality, Transportation, New EPA Asthma topics.
- NIPRC staff and South Shore Clean Cities Model Ordinances and Sustainability.
- NIRPC staff and Jenny Orsburn Shoreline Erosion, ACOE study, and WRDA bill.
- Reggie Korthals New MS4/Stormwater NPDES Rules.

- Bill Emerson and Reggie Korthals Solid Waste Management.
- To be determined by NIRPC staff Agriculture and NRCS.
- To be determined by NIRPC staff Climate Change and Greenhouse Gas.
- To be determined by NIRPC staff Public Access, Urban Waters, Waterway Accessibility and Equity.

The EMPC meetings will continue to be held quarterly and are slated for April 1, July 1, and October 7. Workshops will be held in between the quarterly meetings and are slated for the following dates: February 4, March 4, May 6, June 3, August 5, September 2, November 4, and December 2.

There were no announcements.

The next EMPC meeting is scheduled for April 1, 2021 at 9:00 a.m. in the NIRPC offices.

Hearing no further business, the meeting adjourned at 10:24 a.m.