## NIRPC Appointed Commissioners (\*One vote allotted per Municipality/Agency)

Commissioners and meeting chair and co-chair are appointed annually by the current chair of the Northwestern Indiana Regional Planning Commission from among the local elected official members of the Commission. Appointed Commissioners (other than the chair and co-chair) may designate a municipal staff person to fully represent them on the committee.

## Local Government Representatives (non-Commissioner) (\*One vote allotted per Municipality/Agency)

Municipal or county employees (as many as interested) of jurisdictions with representation at NIRPC per IC 36-7-7.6 are eligible to participate in EMPC designate a voting representative with environmental or natural resource expertise and or responsibilities to the Environmental Management and Policy Committee. Each jurisdiction is limited to one vote per action item. Municipal/County Employees (as many as interested)

## **Stakeholders** (\*One vote allotted per organization)

EMPC includes voting members from regulated NWI industries and utilities, environmental and natural resource non-governmental organizations as well as technical experts from regional universities and institutions. This allows for informed, diverse, and balanced discussions and recommendations to the Commission. Voting representation is evaluated based on attendance on a bi-annual basis to avoid undue influence of "one issue, hot topic" voters when controversial issues arise.

## **Federal and State Environmental and Natural Resource Agencies**

Federal and State agencies with an active presence in NWI participate regularly in EMPC. In addition to serving as an advisory body for NIRPC's Environmental activities and policies, EMPC often provides an established venue for exchanging information, giving updates, and receiving input about programs and projects of interest. Typically, these are non-voting members.

Updated: 8/6/2020 1