SURFACE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE Virtual Meeting January 5, 2021 <u>Minutes</u>

This meeting was convened as an electronic meeting, pursuant to Governor Holcomb's Executive Order 20-04 and 20-09, extended by Executive Order 20-50. All persons were meeting remotely on the Zoom platform that allowed for real time interaction and supported the public's ability to observe and record the proceedings. When the agenda item was provided for public comment, this was supported as well. A roll call was taken to motion and approve the agenda items. Please click <u>here</u> for the full recording of the STC meeting.

Tom Schmitt called the meeting to order at 9:01 a.m. with the Pledge of Allegiance and roll call. In attendance were Gerald Swets, Jeff Huet, Mark O'Dell, Dean Button, Nick Bellar, Kevin Brietzke, Bryan Blazak, Trisha Nugent, Rita Cavin, Don Oliphant, David Wright, Timothy Werner, Eric Wolverton, Jennifer Fehlman, Craig Phillips, Bob Thompson, and Dennis Cobb.

NIRPC staff present were Meredith Stilwell, Scott Weber, Kevin Polette, Candice Eklund, Peter Kimball, Charles Bradsky, and Flor Baum.

There were no public comments.

The minutes of the December 1, 2020 meeting were corrected and approved on motion by Mark O'Dell and second by Dean Button.

The committee reviewed the Fiscal Years 2025-2026 Notice of Funding Availability (NOFA) project applications for the New Roadways and Quality of Place – Roadway Expansion project types. These projects were previously considered Tier 3 in the 2025-2026 NOFA materials, but because of an action taken at the December 16, 2020 Transportation Resources Oversight Committee (TROC) meeting, these project types were moved to Tier 2. The December 16, 2020 TROC meeting also requested the STC to review these projects again with the goal of coalescing support for a small number of them. The projects discussed were from the City of Hobart, The City of La Porte, Porter County, Saint John, and Schererville. The projects that will were selected to be carried forward were the following.

New Roadway Submissions

- Porter County requested \$4,614,975 for the Willowcreek Rd Extension project. The New Roadway project seeks to improve regional connectivity and operational traffic flow by providing a direct north-south route in Porter County, generally between the Valparaiso-Merrillville corridor and downtown Portage.
- St. John will receive seed money to their request of \$6,452,500 for the Cline Ave Gap project. The New Roadway project will be for an extension of Cline Avenue from West 93rd Avenue to 101st Avenue. Funding will be for PE in FY-25.

Roadway Expansions Submissions

- Schererville requested \$4,173,322 for the Kennedy Ave Phase 3 project. CN total costs were projected at \$14.2M/mile.
- Schererville requested \$6,373,890 for the Kennedy Ave Phase 4 project. CN total costs were projected at \$10.9M/mile.

Both Schererville submissions are legacy projects and were considered an important factor to keep these projects going.

On motion by Bob Thompson and second by George Topoll, the STC unanimously agreed to recommend the two New Roadway Submissions (Porter County and St. John) and two Roadway Expansion submissions from Schererville to the Technical Planning Committee (TPC). The Land Use Committee will also have a vote on New Roadway submissions and Roadway Expansions submissions. Any inconsistencies in the voting will be adjudicated at the February TPC meeting.

Next Meeting

The next Surface Transportation Committee meeting is slated for Tuesday, April 6, 2021 at 9:00 a.m. at the NIRPC offices.

The meeting concluded at 11:08 a.m.