Church History-Baptist

Church History-Baptist
L189, V454
1 mss box, 8 volumes

Manuscript & Rare Books Division
Indiana State Library

Processed by: Jessica Combs, September 2010
Revised by: Brent Abercrombie, December 2012


Scope and Content Note:

The collection consists of records, both originals and Photostat copies, of a number of Indiana Baptist churches. Included are records of Baptist churches at Attica, Fountain County (1870-1899); Aurora, Dearborn County (1871-1883); Bloomington, Monroe County (1825-1890); Brown’s Wonder Church, Boone County (1840-1873); Ebenezer and Clear Creek, Morgan County (1830-1891); Eel River District Association, Putnam County (1825-1951); Lick Creek, Fayette County (1814-1912); Little Mt. Zion Church, Warrick County (1869-1882); Little Pigeon Creek, Warren County (1816-1840); Mt. Zion Church, Floyd County (1831-1833); Poison Creek, Perry County (1888-1909); Silver Creek, Clark County 91798-1837); and Wolcottville, Noble County (1837-1868).

Photocopying Policy:

Manuscript materials CANNOT be photocopied or digitized in their entirety. Photocopies and/or digital images cannot exceed 25% of a collection or a folder within a collection. In some cases, photocopying may not be permitted due to the condition of the item. Check with a Manuscript Librarian for other options.

Box and Folder Listing:

Box 1. 

1. Bloomington 1st Baptist Church, Monroe County, 1825-1890-Membership roll (transcript)
2. Brown’s Wonder Baptist Church, Boone County, 1840-1873- Articles of Faith and Minutes (original)
3. Ebenezer and Clear Creek, Morgan County, 1830-1894- Name changed in 1841. Minute book (original)
4. Eel River District Association, Putnam County-typed history
5. Little Mount Zion, Warrick County, 1816-1840- Minutes (photocopy)
6. Little Pigeon Creek, Warren County, 1816-1840- Minute book (transcript)
7. Mt. Zion Church, Floyd County, 1831-1833- Membership list, minutes (Photostat)
8. Poison creek Baptist Church, Perry County, 1888-1909- Articles of Faith, Rules of Decorum, Names of members (photocopy)
9. Wolcottville Baptist Church, Noble County, 1837-1868- Articles of Faith, Covenant, Minutes (transcript)

V545-1 Attica Baptist Church, Fountain County, 1870-1899- Ledger book contains Covenant, register of Members and minutes. (Original)
V545-2 Aurora Baptist Church, Dearborn County, 1871-1875- Minute book (original)
V454-3 Aurora Baptist Church, Dearborn County, 1876-1883- Minute book (original)
V454-4 Lick Creek, Fayette County, 1814-1869- Original record book, history of founding, and minutes (original)
V454-5 Lick Creek, Fayette County, 1845-1912- Record Book. Rules of decorum, register of members, minutes (original)
V454-6 Silver Creek Baptist Church, Clark County, 1798-1831- Judicial Records (transcript) Constitution, Church Orders, Minutes (original)
V454-7 Baptist Church Book, 1887 – 1889
V454-8 14 Mile Church, 1798 – 1806

Collection Information

Size of Collection: 1 mss box, 8 volumes
Collection Dates: 1798-1912
Provenance: Edgar West, 1/22/1951
Access : The collection is open for research use
Restrictions: None
Reproduction Rights: Permission to reproduce, exhibit, or publish material in this collection must be obtained from the Manuscript Section, Indiana State Library.
Language: Materials are entirely in English
Alternate Formats: None
Related Holdings: None

MA BA 7-3-2013