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New State Law Changes Provisions Related to Employing Minors 

There are a number of  benef its to having teenagers in the workforce, a couple of  which are that it tends 

be cheaper for the employer than hiring adults, and it gives the teenagers some work experience and 

connections that could be valuable later in life. However, it is important to balance the needs of  employers 

with the needs of  the teenagers, who may still be in school. There are both federal and state laws in place 

that provide some basic guidelines for employers when it comes to teen employees.   

The federal Fair Labor Standards Act sets wage minimums, work hours, and safety requirements for 

workers under the age of  18 who are working in jobs that are covered by the law. For information on the 

Fair Labor Standards Act as it applies to minors, click here. 

IC 20-33-3 is the chapter of  Indiana state law that traditionally covered employer limits on employing 

students. However, the part of  the law where you will f ind these limitations has moved f rom Title 20 

(Education) to Title 22 (Labor and Safety).  

In the 2020 legislative session, the Indiana General Assembly made a number of  changes to  Indiana’s 

laws related to employing students, only one of  which was moving the teen labor laws to a dif ferent part 

of  the code.  A few of  the additional changes are as follows.  

The Bureau of  Child Labor is now called the Bureau of  Youth Employment . Work permits are no longer 

required for students who are not Indiana residents, or for home schooled students, or students enrolled 

in a career and technical education program. However, working hour restrictions still apply.  Break 

requirements have been eliminated. Working hour restrictions for 16 and 17-year-old students are the 

same now. Work permit termination notices are no longer required to be sent to the school upon worker 



termination. Minors less than 16 years old may not work during school hours. Employers who employ at 

least 5 minors age 14 to 17 must register with the Indiana Department of  Labor and a minor may not work 

in an establishment that is open to the public af ter 10 p.m. or before 6 a.m. unless another employee who 

is at least 18 years of  age also works with the minor. 

The Indiana Department of  Labor has a summary  document available that describes some of  the 
additional changes. To read about all the changes, review SEA 409 in its entirety. 

 

   

 


