2011 Letters About Literature Results

Letters About Literature is a national reading-writing contest that asks students in grades 4-12 to write a personal letter to an author, explaining how his or her work changed their view of the world or themselves. Letters About Literature is sponsored by the Center for the Book in the Library of Congress, in partnership with Target Stores, and is administered statewide by the Indiana Center for the Book.

The 2010/2011 finalists, including the author to which they wrote, are as follows:

Level I (grades 4-6)
1st Place: Dominic Rossi
, Zionsville Middle School (Michael Pollan, The Omnivore's Dilemma Young Reader's Edition)
2nd Place: Quinn Kennedy, Zionsville Middle School (Beverly Cleary, Beezus & Ramona)         
3rd Place: Sunanda Prasad, Castle North (Newburgh) Middle School (Enid Blyton, Secret Seven Series)
Hon. Mention: Nia Rochon, Evansville Day School (Pam Munoz Ryan, Esperanza Rising)
Hon. Mention: Mia Lord, Riverside (Fishers) Intermediate School (Randy Pausch, The Last Lecture)

Level II (grades 7-8)
1st Place: Evelin Arriaza, Hasten Hebrew Academy (Indianapolis) (Margaret Peterson Haddix, Because of Anya)           
2nd Place: Cassidy Ratliff, West Noble (Ligonier) Middle School (Anne Frank, The Diary of a Young Girl)
3rd Place: Chelsea Meeboer, Pittsboro (Francine Rivers, Redeeming Love)
Hon. Mention: Christina Barnes, Zionsville West Middle School (Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird)
Hon. Mention: Anat Berday-Saks, Hasten Hebrew Academy (Indianapolis) (Katherine Ayres, North by Night)

Level III (grades 9-12)
1st Place: Hannah Chalmers
, Crawfordsville High School (Virginia Lee Burton, Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel)           
2nd Place: Nicole Tzenov, New Tech Academy (Fort Wayne) (Sue Monk Kidd, The Secret Life of Bees)
3rd Place: Shelby Orange, Clinton Prairie (Frankfort) High School (Markus Zusak, The Book Thief)
Hon. Mention: Josh Levesque, Crawfordsville High School (J. D. Salinger, The Catcher in the Rye)
Hon. Mention: Mary Eshelman, Logansport High School (Davida Wills Hurwin, A Time for Dancing)
Hon. Mention: Emily Shirar, Crawfordsville High School (Tim O'Brien, The Things They Carried)