Daviess County

Daviess County was created in 1817 from Knox County.  It is located in southwest Indiana.  The county seat is Washington.

The courthouse experienced a fire in 1879 which destroyed all records except the marriage records, indexes to probate cases, and the deed records.



Selected Holdings at the Indiana State Library

The following list is not complete.  Further resources may be found by searching the Indiana State Library online catalog.

Print Materials from the Genealogy Division

Marriage Records

Marriage Records, 1817-1850
ISLG 977.201 D256bo v. 1-2

Marriages from 1817-1850
ISLG 977.201 D256ihs

WPA Index to Marriage Records, 1850-1920
ISLG 977.201 D256u v. 4-6

Vital Records

Index to Death Records, 1921-1946
ISLG 977.201 D256m
WPA Index to Birth Records, 1882-1920
ISLG 977.201 D256u v. 1-2
WPA Index to Death Records, 1882-1920
ISLG 977.201 D256u v. 3

Wills and Probates

Abstract of Probate Records, 1817-1850
ISLG D256b Pt. 1-2

Other Library Materials

Online Resources

Cemeteries and Obituaries

Marriage Records



Locating Original Records

For Further Research

GEN JD 3-6-2016