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MEMORANDUM DECISION 

Pursuant to Ind. Appellate Rule 65(D), this 

Memorandum Decision shall not be regarded as 

precedent or cited before any court except for the 

purpose of establishing the defense of res judicata, 

collateral estoppel, or the law of the case. 
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Appellant-Defendant, 
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October 20, 2016 

Court of Appeals Case No. 
49A02-1602-CR-336 

Appeal from the Marion Superior 
Court 

The Hon. Amy M. Jones, Judge 

Trial Court Cause No. 49G08-1505-
CM-15546 

Bradford, Judge. 

Case Summary 

[1] Following his conviction for Class B misdemeanor public intoxication, 

Appellant-Defendant Clifford Lawrence was sentenced to 178 days of 
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probation.  The trial court assessed a $50 supplemental public defender fee and 

ultimately ordered that Lawrence pay $220 in probation fees.  Lawrence 

contends that the trial court abused its discretion in ordering that he pay the 

supplemental public defender and probation fees without first assessing his 

ability to pay either.  Because we agree, we affirm the trial court’s judgment of 

conviction and sentence, reverse the trial court’s order to pay probation and 

supplemental public defender fees, and remand for further proceedings.   

Facts and Procedural History 

[2] On May 5, 2015, Indianapolis Metropolitan Police Sergeant Allen Tuttle 

encountered Lawrence, who was in a vehicle in the emergency room parking 

lot at Community East Hospital in Indianapolis.  Sergeant Tuttle approached 

the vehicle, which was not parked in an area designated for that purpose, and 

when he identified himself as a police officer, the vehicle “lurched forward an[] 

inch or two … six inches at the most.”  Tr. p. 7.  Sergeant Tuttle directed 

Lawrence to place the vehicle in park or turn it off, but Lawrence did neither.  

Sergeant Tuttle reached into the vehicle, placed it into park, and ordered 

Lawrence to exit.  When Sergeant Tuttle helped Lawrence out of the vehicle, he 

could smell the odor of alcoholic beverage coming from Lawrence’s person.  

Lawrence admitted that he had been drinking and Sergeant Tuttle also noticed 

that his eyes were glassy and bloodshot, his speech was slow and slurred, his 

manual dexterity was poor, and he had difficulty retrieving his license.   
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[3] On May 6, 2015, the State charged Lawrence with Class B misdemeanor public 

intoxication.  On January 28, 2016, the trial court found Lawrence guilty as 

charged and sentenced him to 178 days of non-reporting probation with alcohol 

monitoring for the first forty-five days.  When the trial court noted that the cost 

for the monitoring would be subject to a “sliding fee scale[,]” the following 

exchange took place: 

THE DEFENDANT:  With this sliding scale fee; where is this 

coming from? 

[Lawrence’s counsel]:  It’s a payment plan. 

THE COURT:  For anything that you have to pay for.  So like 

probation is going to have like user fees, they’re going to have 

probation fees that are associated with you being on probation, as 

well as the alcohol monitoring.  There’s a cost to have that 

device.  So what you need to do is provide them proof that your 

only income is disability. 

THE DEFENDANT:  Right. 

THE COURT:  Okay.  And then they’re going to adjust the fees; 

it could be all the way down to nothing, okay.  But I let them do 

that.  Because I don’t have a lot of time-- you can bring the proof 

in when you meet with your officer the first time so then they can 

get that set up for you, okay.  So that’s what we’re going to do.  

You’re going to report to the probation department and then 

you’re going to have to report to Community Corrections 

because that’s where the monitoring device is.  And we’ll give 

you both the referral slips.  I’m going to find you indigent to 

Court Costs, I’m not going to access any fines.   

 

Tr. p. 24.   

[4] Also on January 28, 2016, the trial court issued a written probation order, 

which included what appears to be a generic fee schedule for misdemeanors and 
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felonies.  The fee schedule indicated a maximum administrative fee of $50, a 

maximum probation user fee of $50 plus $20 per month, and a maximum 

public defender fee of $50.  On February 1, 2016, Lawrence was assessed $270 

in “Case Fees[,]” which included a $50 supplemental public defender fee, a $50 

adult probation administrative fee, $164.90 for adult probation monthly and 

initial user fees, and $5.10 for “Probation User Fee – Clerk’s 3%[.]”  Appellant’s 

App. p. 27.   

Discussion and Decision 

[5] Lawrence contends that the trial court erred in imposing $220 in probation fees 

and a $50 public defender fee without assessing his ability to pay.  We review 

sentencing decisions, including the trial court’s imposition of costs or fees, for 

an abuse of discretion.  Kimbrough v. State, 911 N.E.2d 621, 636 (Ind. Ct. App. 

2009).  “An abuse of discretion occurs if the decision is clearly against the logic 

and effect of the facts and circumstances before the court, or the reasonable, 

probable, and actual deductions to be drawn therefrom.”  Anglemyer v. State, 868 

N.E.2d 482, 490 (Ind. 2007) (citation and quotation marks omitted).   

A.  Probation Fees 

[6] Lawrence contends that the trial court abused its discretion in ordering $220 in 

probation fees without first assessing his ability to pay.  Indiana Code section 

35-38-2-1(e) provides as follows: 

(e) In addition to any other conditions of probation, the court 

may order each person convicted of a misdemeanor to pay: 
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(1) not more than a fifty dollar ($50) initial probation user’s 

fee; 

(2) a monthly probation user’s fee of not less than ten dollars 

($10) nor more than twenty dollars ($20) for each month that 

the person remains on probation; 

…. 

(4) an administrative fee of fifty dollars ($50); 

to either the probation department or the clerk. 

 

[7] Lawrence contends that the trial court abused its discretion in ordering the 

payment of probation fees without first conducting an indigency hearing.  This 

court has concluded that an indigency hearing is required before a trial court 

may order the payment of probation fees.  See Johnson v. State, 27 N.E.3d 793, 

794 (Ind. Ct. App. 2015) (“Johnson rightly asserts that, under Indiana Code 

section 33-37-2-3, if a trial court imposes costs on a defendant, a trial court is 

required to conduct an indigency hearing.”).  While the trial court found 

Lawrence indigent as to “Court Costs[,]” Tr. p. 24, it made no finding 

regarding probation fees.  We therefore remand with instructions for the trial 

court to conduct an indigency hearing with regard to Lawrence’s ability to pay 

probation fees.1   

                                            

1
  Lawrence also contends that the trial court abused its discretion by delegating to the probation department 

the possible reduction of his probation fees pursuant to the “sliding scale” mentioned at sentencing.  Put 

another way, Lawrence is essentially alleging that the trial court delegated the indigency determination to the 

probation department.  As Lawrence points out, there is no statutory authority for such a delegation of the 

trial court’s authority.  That said, we see no reason that an evaluation of the individual’s finances by the 

probation department (and recommendations resulting therefrom) could not factor into the trial court’s 

indigency determination.   
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[8] The State contends that the trial court was not required to hold an indigency 

hearing before assessing probation fees.  Indiana Code section 33-37-2-3 

provides, in part, that “when the court imposes costs, it shall conduct a hearing 

to determine whether the convicted person is indigent.”  The state notes that 

section 33-37-2-3 appears in Indiana Code Article 33-37, which the State 

contends is limited to costs and fees imposed pursuant to that Article, which 

does not include probation fees.  In support of this argument, the State relies on 

the following statutory language:  “(a) The costs imposed by [Indiana Code 

Article 33-37] are for all proceedings in the action.  (b) The costs imposed by 

[Indiana Code Article 33-37] include fees.”  Ind. Code § 33-37-1-3.  While it is 

true that Indiana Code section 33-37-1-3 refers to costs imposed pursuant to 

Indiana Code Article 33-37, it does nothing to limit section 33-37-2-3’s 

requirement for an indigency hearing to only those costs imposed pursuant to 

Article 33-37.  We are not convinced by the State’s argument that a trial court 

may order probation fees without conducting an indigency hearing, as has been 

previously required by this court in Johnson, 27 N.E.3d at 794.   

B.  Supplemental Public Defender Fee 

[9] Lawrence also contends that the trial court abused its discretion in ordering a 

$50 supplemental public defender fee.  It seems clear that the trial court 

imposed this fee pursuant to Indiana Code section 35-33-7-6, which provides as 

follows: 

(a) Prior to the completion of the initial hearing, the judicial 

officer shall determine whether a person who requests assigned 



 

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 49A02-1602-CR-336 | October 20, 2016 Page 7 of 8 

 

counsel is indigent.  If the person is found to be indigent, the 

judicial officer shall assign counsel to the person. 

(b) If jurisdiction over an indigent defendant is transferred to 

another court, the receiving court shall assign counsel 

immediately upon acquiring jurisdiction over the defendant. 

(c) If the court finds that the person is able to pay part of the cost 

of representation by the assigned counsel, the court shall order 

the person to pay the following: 

(1) For a felony action, a fee of one hundred dollars ($100). 

(2) For a misdemeanor action, a fee of fifty dollars ($50). 

The clerk of the court shall deposit fees collected under this 

subsection in the county’s supplemental public defender services 

fund established under IC 33-40-3-1. 

(d) The court may review the finding of indigency at any time 

during the proceedings. 

 

Ind. Code § 35-33-7-6.   

[10] Here, the trial court found Lawrence indigent and granted his petition for 

appointment of counsel on May 6, 2015, the day he was charged, based “on a 

thorough examination of defendant’s total financial picture[.]”  Appellant’s 

App. p. 15.  Although Indiana Code section 35-33-7-6(d) allows the trial court 

to review this indigency finding at any time during the proceedings, it did not.  

That said, despite the indigency finding, section 35-33-7-6(c) allowed the trial 

court to assess a $50 supplemental public defender fee if it found that Lawrence 

was able to pay part of the cost of the representation.  Because the trial court 

made no such finding, assessing the supplemental public defender’s fee amounts 

to an abuse of discretion.  We remand with instructions to conduct a hearing on 

Lawrence’s ability to pay part of the cost of representation by his appointed 

counsel.   
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[11] We affirm the judgment of the trial court in part, reverse in part, and remand 

with instructions.   

Pyle, J., and Altice, J., concur.  


