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Appendix I:  Due Process Checklist  

Federally Subsidized Housing Programs 

(Please review both HUD directives and CARES Act provisions carefully and be aware of 
subsequent updates.) 
 
• Is the tenant living or participating in a federally-subsidized rental program covered 

under the CARES Act or properties covered by HUD directives? 
o Landlord/owner affidavit? 

• If NO, continue with review of due process requirements under I.C. § 32-31, et seq. and 
contained in the lease agreement (if applicable) 

• If YES, proceed with the following inquiries: 
o Which federally-subsidized program? 

 Most common: Public Housing Program, Section 8 Housing Choice 
Voucher Program, Low-Income Housing Tax Credit program (“LIHTC”) / 
Section 42 

o Was the notice of claim for possession filed on or before December 31, 2020 for 
HUD directive properties, or on or before August 24, 2020 for CARES Act 
properties? 
 If yes, is the cause of action based on nonpayment of rent (either on the 

notice of claim form itself, or may require evidence from the parties)? 
• If yes, case must be dismissed  
• If no, continue with inquiry below 

 If no, did Landlord/Owner provide thirty (30) day notice to tenant before 
filing the notice of claim?  

• If yes, was the notice provided on or after December 31, 2020 for 
HUD properties, or after July 24, 2020 for CARES Act properties? 

o If no, violates CARES Act protections and must be 
dismissed  

o If yes, case may continue 
o If claim is not based on nonpayment of rent, determine the following: 

 Are there any notice requirements for the federally-subsidized program 
at issue?  

 Was the notice sufficient in content and was it properly served upon the 
tenant? 

• Public Housing 
o Notice requirement  
o Notice must contain: 

 Grounds for termination  
 Tenant’s right to respond  
 Tenant’s right to examine PHA documents  
 Right to request a grievance hearing  
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o Timing of Notice: 
 14 days for nonpayment of rent  
 “Reasonable time” for eviction based on criminal 

activity  
 30-day notice for all other cause  

o Service of Notice: 
 Personal service on adult member of tenant’s 

household; OR 
 By first-class mail  

• Section 8 HCVP 
o Notice Requirement  
o Notice must contain: 

 Good cause  
 Notice must list specific grounds for termination  
 Statement that tenant has the right to discuss the 

termination with the landlord within 10 days 
o Timing and service governed by Indiana law  
o Note: Landlord/Owner must also provide a copy of the 

termination notice to the PHA at the same time that it is 
provided to the tenant  

• LIHTC / Section 42 
o No written notice requirement  
o Good cause required to evict or to not renew the lease 

 Note: for most federally subsidized programs good cause is required to 
terminate a tenancy 

 If good cause is not found and/or if Landlord/Owner fails to abide by a 
program’s notice requirement, then dismissal of the eviction action is 
appropriate 

Indiana (private landlord-tenant) 

• Did the landlord take any steps to initiate the eviction action during the moratorium 
period (March 16, 2020 through August 14, 2020)?  

o Examples of “initiating” eviction action: providing notice to quit during the 
moratorium period as provided by applicable law, taking self-help measures to 
take possession of rental property, filing a notice of claim for possession during 
the moratorium period. 
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