REVISED ADMINISTRATIVE DISTRICT 25 DISTRICT GOVERNANCE PLAN MARCH 7, 2017

1. <u>COUNTY SPECIAL JUDGE PLANS:/USE OF SENIOR JUDGES AND TEMPORARY JUDGES:</u>

The judges of Administrative District 25 have reviewed Administrative Rule 1 (as Amended 1-26-17) and the Trial Rule 79 plans in each county and have determined that each plan is correct and allows for the efficient operation of special judge assignments in the District. Our judges will use judges within the District as special judges, or judges drawn from counties contiguous to the county seeking a special judge, pursuant to the provisions of Trial Rule 79(H), as well as the use and appointment of senior judges and temporary judges. The judges of the county of record have considered and may adopt by approved local county rule, and the district plan to provide that a judicial officer or a court of record within each county or district as may serve as acting judge in another court in the county or in district 25.

2. CRIMINAL RULE 2.2 PLANS:

The judges of Administrative District 25 have reviewed the current criminal 2.2 plans for the counties in our District. We have determined that the counties in our District currently follow the provisions of Criminal Rule 2.2, and that these plans are consistent with the plans of other counties in the District.

3. **DISTRICT LEADERSHIP:**

The judges of Administrative District 25 have chosen to be led by an Administrative Committee of three judges. One of the three judges shall be a sitting judge in either Daviess, Knox, or Martin counties. Another judge shall be a sitting judge in either Dubois, Perry, Pike, or Spencer counties. The third judge shall be the judge selected as the District Representative to the Indiana Judicial Conference Board of Directors. The judge shall have the right to cast the votes allocated to District 25 at the meetings of the Judicial Conference Board.

4. <u>SELECTION PROCESS FOR LEADERSHIP:</u>

The judges of Administrative District 25 shall have an annual meeting in March at a place and time to be determined by the Administrative Committee.

The judge to be selected from Daviess, Knox, and Martin counties shall be elected by the judges of those three counties at the annual meeting each year commencing in 2013. The judge selected from Daviess, Knox, and Martin counties shall serve a one year term.

The judge to be selected from Dubois, Perry, Pike, and Spencer counties shall be elected by

the judges of those four counties at the annual meeting each year commencing in 2013. The judge selected from Dubois, Perry, Pike and Spencer counties shall serve a one year term.

The judge selected as the District Representative to the Indiana Judicial Conference Board of Directors shall be elected by the judges of all seven district counties at the annual meeting each odd-numbered year commencing in 2013. The judge selected as the District Representative to the Indiana Judicial Conference Board of Directors shall serve a two year term.

5. **NUMBER OF MEETING PER YEAR:**

As set forth above, the judges of Administrative District 25 shall have an annual meeting each year in March. The time and place of the annual meeting shall be determined by the Administrative Committee. A majority of judges from District 25 in attendance at the meeting shall constitute a quorum to conduct business. The annual meeting shall be conducted in person unless extreme conditions, such as weather, or other extenuating circumstances causing a cancellation of the meeting make it impractical to re-schedule in a timely manner.

The Administrative Committee may schedule other meetings of the District 25 judges in a calender year, if necessary. These additional meetings may be conducted in person, electronically, or by conference call, as determined by the needs of the District.

6. <u>DISTRICT ACTIVITIES:</u>

Our District is cooperating on Administrative Rule 1, Trial Rule 79 and Criminal Rule 2.2 plans. In addition, all District 25 counties cooperate with, and are served by, the Volunteer Lawyer Program of Southwestern Indiana, Inc.

7. <u>DISTRICT RULES:</u>

Other than this District Governance Plan, District 25 does not have any District Rules. The District is not adopting case load allocation plan from the District as allowed in Administrative Rule 1 at this time.

8. <u>COMPLIANCE:</u>

This District Governance Plan complies with the minimum requirements for district governance contemplated by Administrative Rule 3(B). A majority of judges in District 25 have agreed to this plan as set forth below. It will remain in effect until further notice.

This District Governance Plan shall be effective this A day of _ 2017. Gregory A Smith Dean A. Sobecki Judge, Daviess Circuit Court Judge, Daviess Superior Court Nathan A. Verkamp Mark R. McConnell Judge, Dubois Circuit Court Judge, Dubois Superior Court Sherry B. Gregg Gilmore Gara U. Lee Judge, Knox Circuit Court Judge, Knox Superior Court 1 Ryan D. Johanningsmeier Lynne El Ellis Judge Knox Superior Court 2 Martin Circuit Court Bristewell Lucy/Goffinet Jeffrey L. Biesterveld Judge, Perry Circuit Court Judge, Pike Circuit Court Jonathan A. Daxtt Judge, Spencer Circuit Court