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Local Rules 1 through 7 8 Relating to Indiana Rules of Trial Procedure 

LR07-TR1-GEN-01  Scope of Rules 

Except as otherwise provided, these rules govern the procedure and practice in all cases, 

including criminal, civil, and juvenile, filed or pending in the Brown Circuit Court, unless 

otherwise ordered by the judicial officer presiding in a specific case.  These rules are in addition 

to, and are not intended to replace, the Indiana Rules of Court or any other rules or statutes.  

Where any conflict may exist, the rules promulgated by the Indiana Supreme Court control.  

 

LR07-TR3.1-GEN-02 Withdrawal of Appearance by Counsel 

(A) Written Motion and Compliance with Trial Rule 3.1:   Permission to withdraw an 

appearance by counsel shall be requested by written motion.  Permission to withdraw shall be 

given only after the petitioning attorney has complied with the requirements of T.R. 3.1(E), 

including a certification of the last known address and telephone number of the party, subject to 

the confidentiality requirements of T.R. 3.1. 

(B)  Motions Filed Prior to the Appearance of Other Counsel:  Permission to withdraw 

shall be given only after the petitioning attorney has given his/her client 10 days written notice of 

the intent to withdraw.  A copy of the written notice shall be attached to the petition to withdraw. 

 The written notice to the client shall explain the possible effects of failure to secure new counsel 

and shall set forth any hearing or trial dates and any pleading, discovery or other pre-trial 

deadlines.  

(C) Motions Filed Subsequent to the Appearance of Other Counsel: Motions to withdraw 

an appearance filed subsequent to the proper appearance of other counsel shall constitute a 

waiver of the requirements of paragraph (B) of this rule. 

(D) Criminal Cases; Withdrawal Due to Defendant’s Failure to Fulfill an Obligation With 

Respect to Counsel’s Fee: Paragraph (D) of this local rule applies only to criminal cases and is 

designed to minimize the inconvenience and delay caused to the parties and court by the 

withdrawal of counsel shortly before trial due to nonpayment of counsel’s fee, while also 

recognizing the realities faced by counsel and their clients in meeting fee obligations. 

The requirements of paragraphs (A), (B) and (C) of this local rule are in addition to the 

requirements and provisions of I.C. 35-36-8-2 in criminal cases.  Absent exceptional 

circumstances, no attorney in a criminal case should expect permission to withdraw the 

attorney’s appearance based on his or her client’s failure to fulfill an obligation with respect to 

the attorney’s fee unless the motion to withdraw is filed at least 90 days prior to any second or 

subsequent trial setting. 
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LR07-TR5-GEN-03 Service and filing of pleadings; Court Office Mailboxes; Submission  

   of Proposed Orders 

(A) Service at Mail Slot in Offices of Circuit Court:  Any attorney choosing to use the 

mail slots made available in the offices of the Brown Circuit Court shall be considered to have 

designated that attorney’s mail slot as a suitable place for delivery and service of pleadings 

pursuant to T.R. 5(B)(d). 

(B) Submission of Proposed Orders:  All motions, petitions, and requests for action by 

the Court must be accompanied by an original a proposed order, sufficient copies for each party 

and person required to receive notice, and an extra copy for the Court.  Proposed orders shall 

include a complete distribution list including all parties, or if represented, their counsel, the 

Guardian Ad Litem if appointed in the case, and all other persons to whom the order should be 

distributed.  All proposed orders shall identify the motion or petition to be ruled on, and, if a 

hearing is requested, a description of the specific hearing to be set and a statement of the 

anticipated length of the hearing. 

 

LR07-TR53.5-GEN-04 Continuances 

(A) Written Motions: A motion for continuance, unless made on record during the 

hearing of the cause or otherwise specifically authorized by the court, shall be in writing and 

signed.  Such motion shall comply in all respects with T.R. 53.5 of the Indiana Rules of Trial 

Procedure. 

(B) Scheduling Conflicts: A motion for continuance based on a scheduling conflict with 

another cause shall specify the Court, the case name, the cause number, the date the hearings or 

trials in both cases was set, and the type of conflicting hearing or trial. 

 

(C) Duty to Confer:  Before requesting a continuance, the moving party shall confer with 

counsel for all other parties and with any parties appearing pro se, to determine any objections 

and to ascertain dates for rescheduling when all parties are available. Such objections and 

alternative dates shall be reported in the motion for continuance. 

 

LR07-TR30-CRIM-05 Acceptable Recording Method for Informal Depositions 

In all misdemeanor and traffic cases, The Court will approve the recording of deposition 

testimony by means of an tape audio recording without the procedures provided in T.R. 74 so 

long as: 

1) all parties agree to the recording method; 

2) the tape all parties are provided access to the audio recording upon request or 

transcript of the recording is exchanged between the Prosecutor and all defense attorneys; 

3) the party taking the deposition has complied with T.R. 30(B)(4); 

4) if a transcript of the deposition is produced by a party, the transcript shall be submitted 

to the witness for reading, signing and changes in a manner consistent with Indiana Trial 
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Rule 30(E).  The party producing the transcript shall make the transcript accessible to all 

parties, electronically or by paper copy. 

 

The purpose of this rule is to effect economy for the county and the parties consistent 

with T.R. 30(B)(4).  This rule does not affect the parties’ responsibility to comply with all other 

applicable Trial Rules regarding the taking of depositions, nor does it limit the parties’ ability 

under T.R. 29 to enter into written stipulations modifying discovery procedures.  

 

LR07-TR73-GEN-06  Telephonic pretrial conferences Pretrial Conferences 

In order to expedite the Court's business, and in conjunction with T.R. 73, the Court 

encourages the use of telephone conferencing for the conducting of pre-trial conferences and for 

other matters which may be reasonably conducted by use of telephone.  Telephone conferences 

for conducting pre-trial conferences and for other matters may be set at the discretion of the 

Court upon the Court’s own motion or upon request of a party.   

 

LR07-TR79-CIV-07 Special Judge Appointment in Civil Cases 

This rule shall govern the appointment of a special judge in the Brown Circuit Court in 

all matters in which the provisions of Trial Rule 79 require the appointment of a special judge 

pursuant to local rule.  An eligible special judge shall be appointed from the following list of 

judges and magistrates from Brown County, from a county within Administrative District 21, or 

from a contiguous county outside Administrative District 21 if the judge of the contiguous 

county has agreed to serve as special judge in Brown County:  

 

Judge of the Bartholomew Circuit Court 

Magistrate of the Bartholomew Circuit Court  

Judge of the Bartholomew Superior Court 1 

Judge of the Bartholomew Superior Court 2 

Magistrate of the Bartholomew Superior Court 2 

Magistrate of the Brown Circuit Court (Unless recusal or disqualification of  

the regular judge of the Brown Circuit Court) 

Judge of the Jackson Circuit Court 

Judge of the Jackson Superior Court 1 

Judge of the Jackson Superior Court 2 

Judge of the Jennings Circuit Court 

Judge of the Jennings Superior Court 

   

The Magistrate of the Brown Circuit Court shall not be selected if the regular judge of the 

Brown Circuit Court has recused or is disqualified. 

The Clerk shall maintain the list of special judges eligible under Trial Rule 79(J) and 

shall select from the list on a rotating basis when appointment under this local rule is required.  If 
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a judge is skipped in the rotation because of ineligibility or disqualification, he or she shall be 

selected first for the next eligible case. 

(Amended effective January 1, 2014) 

 

Local Rules 8 through 10 Relating to Miscellaneous Civil Proceedings 

LR07-TR00-CIV-8 TR69-08 Procedure for Proceedings Supplemental 

Unless the participation of the judge or magistrate in the hearing is specifically requested 

by the judgment holder or judgment debtor, the hearing on a proceeding supplemental will be 

conducted informally by the parties, without the presence of the judge or magistrate.  Proceeding 

supplemental hearings will be conducted in the courtroom, but unless record is requested by any 

party, the proceeding supplemental hearing will not be on the record.  The hearings will be 

scheduled by the court.  Counsel shall inform court staff of the result of the proceeding 

supplemental. 

 

Local Rules 9 through 21 Relating to Family Law Proceedings 

 

LR07-FL00-CIV-9 Termination of Counsel Representation in Dissolution of Marriage 

Actions 

(A) Unless otherwise indicated by counsel, upon the entry of a final Decree of 

Dissolution of Marriage, Legal Separation or Paternity, or an order of permanent modification of 

any custody, visitation and/or child support order, the representative capacity of all attorneys 

appearing on behalf of any party shall be deemed terminated upon:An order of withdrawal 

granted in accordance with the Local Rules of Practice for the Brown Circuit Court; or 

 

1. The expiration of time within which an appeal of the Order may be preserved or 

perfected pursuant to the Indiana Rules of Trial Procedures and/or the Indiana 

Rules of Appellate Procedure; or 

2. The conclusion of any appeal of the Order commenced pursuant to Indiana Rules 

of Trial Procedure and/or the Indiana Rules of Appellate Procedure. 

(B)  Attorneys shall be responsible for providing a statement in the final decree or 

disposition of any pending matter that all Counsel of record are deemed to have withdrawn 

pursuant to Local Rule No.___________” in order to authorize the Clerk to withdraw an 

attorney’s appearance pursuant to this rule.   

(C) Counsel for initiating and responding parties shall be required to file a new 

appearance in any post dissolution action. 

(D) The service of any post dissolution pleadings upon any party not represented by 

counsel pursuant to this local rule shall be made upon that person pursuant to the Indiana Rules 

of Trial Procedure. 

(E) Any copy served upon original counsel will be deemed to be a matter of professional 
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courtesy only. 

 

LR07-FL00-CIV-10 Attendance at Children Cope With Divorce Class 

 The court finds it is in the best interests of minor children of divorcing parents and minor 

children involved in paternity cases to encourage conciliation and cooperation between the 

parents, and that attendance of the parents at the Children Cope with Divorce class will aid in 

such cooperation.  Therefore, both parents in all dissolution of marriage cases in which there are 

minor children shall attend the Children Cope with Divorce class.  The parents shall pay the 

costs of the class.  The class must be completed prior to the final hearing, and unless otherwise 

ordered, the court will not conduct the final hearing or grant the Decree of Dissolution of 

Marriage until the class has been completed.  At the time the action is filed, the Clerk of the 

Brown Circuit Court shall provide the parties with contact information to arrange the class. 

 

LR07-FL-09    Family Law Rules, Title and Scope 

 

A) These Rules shall be known as the “Brown County Family Law Rules” and shall 

be referred to as LR07-FL-***. 

B) These Rules shall apply in all domestic relations, paternity, and child support 

cases pending in the Brown Circuit Court unless otherwise ordered by a judicial 

officer presiding in a specific case. These Rules are in addition to, and are not 

intended to replace, the Indiana Rules of Trial Procedure, the Indiana Rules of 

Evidence, the Indiana Rules of Alternative Dispute Resolution, the Indiana Child 

Support Rules and Guidelines, the Indiana Parenting Time Guidelines, the Indiana 

Administrative Rules, or any other rules promulgated by the Indiana Supreme 

Court. 

LR07-FL-10   Self-Represented Litigants 

 

A) The same court rules apply to parties who are represented by attorneys and parties 

who represent themselves, and all parties, whether represented by an attorney or 

not, shall comply  these rules; any other applicable rules including  the Indiana 

Rules of Trial Procedure, the Indiana Rules of Evidence, the Indiana Rules of 

Alternative Dispute Resolution, the Indiana Child Support Rules and Guidelines, 

the Indiana Parenting Time Guidelines, the Indiana Administrative Rules, or any 

other rules promulgated by the Indiana Supreme Court, and procedures required 

by Indiana law. 

 

B) Self-represented parties shall file appropriate pleadings to request court action and 

shall include with each pleading a “certificate of service” that states that the 
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document was provided to the other party(ies) or to the attorney(s) for the other 

party(ies); the method of serving the document; and the date that it was sent.  

 

C) The court has the discretion to reject incomplete pleadings or pleadings that do 

not comply with Indiana law.  

 

LR07-FL-11    Waiver of Court Costs  

 

The Court, upon written petition by a party, may waive the initial payment of  court costs. 

 If court costs are initially waived, the Court will address the payment of these fees and costs at 

the provisional or final hearing. If the court costs are initially waived, and the parties later waive 

a final hearing and submit a settlement agreement for the Court’s approval, the parties shall 

provide proof that the court costs have been paid with their agreement or submit further evidence 

that the payment of court costs should be completely waived. 

 

LR07-FL-12     Other Cases Involving Same Child(ren) 

 

A) Any party to a dissolution or paternity action involving a child or children, shall 

file a notice in that case advising the Court of any other case, whether pending or 

closed, in any court involving any child or children involved in the currently pending 

case.  

 

B) The notice shall be filed within 10 days of the party’s appearance in the case and 

shall include the cause number(s) and caption(s). 

 

C) Each party shall have a continuing duty to inform the Court of other cases 

involving the child or children until final resolution of the pending case. 

 

LR07-FL-13   Temporary Restraining Orders and Protective Orders 

 

A) Any party seeking an ex parte temporary restraining or protective order must 

comply with the requirements of Trial Rule 65(E) and I.C. 34-26-5-1 et seq. 

 

B) Absent extremely extraordinary circumstances, the Court will not issue ex parte 

orders regarding custody of children or restricting parenting time of parents with their 

children. A party seeking an expedited hearing to address temporary custody of a 

child/children or a restriction of parenting time on an emergency basis shall be 
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responsible for expediting service of notice of that hearing on the opposing party and 

shall be responsible for providing proof of that service to the Court. 

 

C) A joint order issued under Trial Rule 65(E)(1) shall be entered against both 

parties and shall be limited to the terms of the order as specified in Trial Rule 

65(E)(1). Any party submitting a request for such a joint order shall provide the Court 

with a proposed order following the specific language of Trial Rule 65(E)(1). 

 

LR07-FL-14   Preliminary Hearings, Change of Judge, Emergency Matters 

 

A)      At or after the filing of a domestic relations case, any party may request in 

writing a preliminary hearing to address temporary maintenance, temporary 

support or custody of a child of the marriage, possession of property, counseling, 

and/or a protective order under IC 34-26-5.  

 

B) A party seeking an expedited preliminary hearing due to an emergency  shall be 

responsible for expediting service of notice of that hearing on the opposing party 

and shall be responsible for providing proof of that service to the Court. 

 

C) If the court has scheduled a date for a preliminary hearing, and the other party 

thereafter  moves for a change of venue from the judge, the court will allow the 

preliminary hearing to remain as scheduled to address emergency matters. At the 

hearing, the court will first consider whether an emergency exits.  The party 

requesting preliminary orders shall bear the burden of first establishing that an 

emergency exists.  If the court finds that an emergency exists, the court will 

proceed with the hearing and issue preliminary orders regarding emergency 

matters. If the court finds that no emergency exists, the court will not conduct the 

preliminary hearing and shall defer all matters to the special judge. 

LR07-FL-15    Continuances  

 

Parties seeking a continuance shall comply with the requirements of  LR07-TR5-Gen-3. 

 

 

LR07-FL-16   Attendance at Children Cope With Divorce Class  

 

A) The court finds that it is in the best interests of minor children of divorcing 

parents and minor children involved in paternity cases to encourage conciliation and 

cooperation between the parents, and that attendance of the parents at the Children 
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Cope With Divorce will aid in such cooperation. Therefore both parents in all 

dissolution of marriage cases in which there are  minor children and both parents in 

paternity cases in which there are minor children shall attend the Children Cope With 

Divorce class, or upon a showing of good cause, an equivalent class with permission 

of the court.  

 

B) At the time any dissolution of marriage or paternity case is filed, the Clerk of the 

Brown Circuit Court shall provide the parties with contact information to arrange to 

attend the class. 

 

C) A parent, who desires to attend a parenting class other than the Children Cope 

With Divorce class, must obtain the approval of the court.  

 

D) Each parent shall pay the cost to attend the class. 

 

E) In dissolution of marriage cases, the parents must complete the class prior to the 

final hearing and provide proof of completion to the court. Unless otherwise ordered, 

the court will not conduct a final hearing or grant the decree of dissolution of 

marriage until both parents provide proof that they have completed the class. 

 

F) In paternity cases, the parents must complete the class prior to the final hearing 

regarding custody and parenting time. Unless otherwise ordered, the court will not 

enter a final order regarding custody and parenting time until both parents provide 

proof that they have completed the class. 

 

G) A parent, who has already completed a Children Cope With Divorce class and 

provides proof of the same, shall not be required to repeat the class and will be 

exempted from complying with this rule. 

LR07-FL-17   Alternate Dispute Resolution 

 

A) Parties should attempt to resolve matters by agreement before seeking court 

intervention.  The court expects all parties and/or their attorneys to communicate and 

cooperate with each other in a good faith effort to resolve disputes and negotiate fair 

and equitable settlement agreements.  Parties shall exchange proposals to settle and 

resolve all pending issues before proceeding to a contested hearing and all parties 

shall clearly  and promptly respond to any proposal for settlement. 
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B) Parties may request that the case be referred to the Family Court Project or to 

private mediation by filing a written request with the court.  

 

C) Unless excused by the Court, parties shall attend the Family Court Project or 

mediation before a contested final hearing in a dissolution of marriage case, before a 

contested final hearing in regard to custody and parenting time in paternity case, and 

before a contested hearing regarding a post-decree request for modification of any 

order, excepting a request for modification of child support.  

 

D) Parties may select a mediator by agreement or may request that the court appoint 

a panel of mediators from which the parties shall select a mediator.  Upon written 

notice from the parties, the court will appoint a panel of three mediators.  The 

petitioner shall strike first from the panel within 7 days after the date the court’s order 

is entered on the CCS.  The respondent shall strike second within 7 days of the 

petitioner’s striking. In the event that a party fails to timely strike from the panel, the 

court will direct the clerk of the court to strike a name from the panel for that party. 

 

E) Unless the parties agree otherwise, the parties shall equally share the cost of 

mediation with the final responsibility for payment to be determined by the court at a 

hearing subsequent to the completion of mediation. Each party shall pay the cost of 

mediation provided through the Family Court Project. 

 

F) A party may request to be excused from mediation for good cause shown.  

 

G) Any mediation shall comply with the provisions of the Indiana Rules of Alternate 

Dispute Resolution, as they may be amended from time to time. 

 

 

 

LR07-FL-18   Marital Balance Sheet and Proposed Division of Marital Estate 

 

A) In all contested dissolution of marriage cases, each party shall file with the court 

and exchange a marital balance sheet at least 30 days before any mediation or final 

hearing.  This balance sheet shall include a list of all assets, with corresponding 

values,  and debts, with corresponding balances, as of the date of filing , as well as a 

proposed division of the marital estate. 
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B) After both parties have filed and exchanged the marital balance sheet, each party 

shall, within 7 days thereafter, file an amended marital balance sheet and proposed 

division of the marital estate to address any asset(s) or debt(s) that appear on the other 

party’s balance sheet, but was not addressed on that party’s initial marital balance 

sheet. 

 

C) All parties are under an obligation to update the marital balance sheet and 

proposed division of the marital estate until any mediation and/or final hearing.  A 

party making such an update shall informally provide such information to the other 

party as quickly as feasible and shall file and exchange an updated balance sheet and 

proposed division as soon as practicable. 

 

LR07-FL-19   Witness and Exhibit List Exchange, Exhibits 

 

A) Parties shall exchange names and addresses of all witnesses as well as actual 

copies of all exhibits at least 7 days prior to any of the following hearings: 

 

1. A contested preliminary hearing in a dissolution of marriage case. 

2. A contested final hearing in a dissolution of marriage case. 

3. A contested final hearing regarding custody and parenting time in a 

paternity case. 

4. A contested post-decree hearing regarding modification in a dissolution of 

marriage or paternity case, excluding child support modifications. 

 

B) Parties shall file the list of witnesses and exhibits with the court at least 7 days 

prior to any of the hearings specified in section “a.” Failure to include a witness or 

exhibit shall preclude  the witness from testifying or the exhibit from being 

introduced, unless the court waives the requirement for good cause shown. 

 

C) Parties shall provide a completed child support worksheet for any hearing at 

which the determination or modification of child support is an issue and shall bring 

proof of income to the hearing.  

 

D) Parties shall bring sufficient copies of exhibits to the hearing such that each party 

and the court shall receive a copy.  
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E) Any digital picture, movie, video, text, or recording, including,  but not limited to, 

information contained on cellphones,  must be submitted on a DVD, CD, USB drive, 

or printed such that the court can maintain the evidence.   

 

F) Parties shall number the pages of any printed exhibit and shall identify each photo 

in a group of photos by numbering each photo.  

 

LR07-FL-20   Submission of Agreements  

 

A) Agreements shall be signed by both parties and shall include a proposed order or 

decree. 

 

B) A completed child support worksheet as required by Guideline 3(B)1 of the 

Indiana Child Support Guidelines shall be submitted with any agreement regarding 

child support, including an agreement between the parties that no child support will 

be paid by either party.  When an agreement deviates from the Indiana Child Support 

Guidelines, the parties shall include an explanation of the reason for the deviation in 

their agreement. 

 

C) An agreement shall not contain a signature line for the court, but the proposed 

order or decree submitted by the parties shall contain language incorporating and 

approving the agreement in the order or decree.  Proposed orders or decrees shall be 

submitted as a separate document from the corresponding agreement. 

 

LR07-FL-21   Final Hearing  

 

A) Dissolutions of marriage cannot occur unless the court conducts a final hearing or 

the parties waive a final hearing and submit a settlement agreement to the Court. The 

Court will not schedule a final hearing in a dissolution of marriage case until one of 

the parties requests that a final hearing be scheduled.  

 

B) A party seeking to have a final hearing scheduled must file a written request for a 

final hearing,  provide a copy to the opposing party, and include a certificate of 

service on the request.  The request shall state whether there are contested issues and 

the approximate amount of time required for the hearing.   

 

C) Parties may waive a final hearing in dissolution of marriage cases, however, both 

parties must sign and submit a written waiver of final hearing and submit a settlement 
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agreement with a proposed decree of dissolution of marriage, and a child support 

worksheet if there are minor children of the marriage. 

 

LR07-FL-22  Termination of Counsel Representation in Dissolution and Paternity Cases. 

 

A) Unless otherwise indicated by counsel, upon the entry of a final decree of 

dissolution of marriage, legal separation or paternity, or an order of permanent 

modification of any custody, visitation and/or child support order, the representative 

capacity of all attorneys appearing on behalf of any party shall be deemed terminated 

upon: 

 

1. An order of withdrawal granted in accordance with the Local Rules of 

Practice for the Brown Circuit Court,  See LR07-TR3.1-Gen-2, or 

2. The expiration of time within which an appeal of the order or decree may 

be preserved or perfected pursuant to the Indiana Rules of Trial Procedure 

and/or the Indiana Rules of Appellate Procedure; or 

3. The conclusion of any appeal of the order or decree  commenced pursuant 

to the Indiana Rules of Trial Procedure and/or the Indiana Rules of Appellate 

Procedure. 

 

B) Attorneys shall be responsible for providing a statement in the final decree or 

disposition of any pending matter that all counsel of record are deemed to have 

withdrawn pursuant to “LR07-FL-22” in order to authorize the Clerk to withdraw an 

attorney’s appearance pursuant to this rule.  If this statement is not contained in the 

final decree or disposition, the representation shall not be deemed terminated and the 

attorney’s appearance shall not be withdrawn. 

 

C) Counsel for initiating and responding parties shall be required to file a new 

appearance in any post final decree/final paternity order action. 

 

D) The service of any post final decree/post final paternity order pleadings upon any 

party not represented by an attorney shall be made upon that person pursuant to the 

Indiana Rules of Trial Procedure. Any copy of a pleading served upon original 

counsel will be deemed a matter of professional courtesy only. 
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Local Rule 11 23 through 25 Relating to the Indiana Rules of Criminal 

Procedure  

 

LR07-CR2.2-CRIM-11-23 Assignment of Criminal Cases and Special Judge   

                                                 Appointment 

 

All felony and misdemeanor cases are assigned to the regular judge of the Brown Circuit 

Court.   

 In the event a change of judge is granted, or an order of disqualification or recusal is 

entered, in any felony or misdemeanor case pending in the Brown Circuit Court, a special judge 

shall be appointed in rotating order from the judges of the following courts, comprising certain of 

the courts contiguous to Brown County:   

 Bartholomew Circuit 

Bartholomew Superior 1 

Bartholomew Superior 2 

Jackson Circuit 

Jackson Superior 1 

Jackson Superior 2 

Monroe Circuit 3 

Monroe Circuit 9 

Jennings Circuit 

Jennings Superior 1  

  

The Clerk shall maintain the list of special judges, and shall select from the list on a 

rotating basis when appointment under this local rule is required.  If a judge is skipped in the 

rotation because of ineligibility or disqualification, he or she shall be selected first for the next 

eligible case. 

 

 (Amended effective January 1, 2015) 

 

LR07-CR2.1-24  Timely Motions to Withdraw and Automatic Termination of 

Defense Counsel Representation 

(A) In addition to the provisions of Indiana Code §35-36-8-2 and LR07-TR.3.1-02, absent 

exceptional circumstances, no attorney in a criminal case should expect permission to withdraw 

the attorney’s appearance based on his or her client’s failure to fulfill an obligation with respect 
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to the attorney’s fee unless the motion to withdraw is filed at least 90 days prior to a second or 

subsequent trial setting. 

(B) In all criminal cases, a defense attorney’s appearance in the case shall automatically be 

withdrawn 35 days after the conclusion of the pending action by plea, verdict, or dismissal.  In 

probation and community corrections violations proceedings, a defense attorney’s appearance 

shall automatically be withdrawn 35 days after the conclusion of the violation proceedings.   

 

Local Rules 12 through 13 Relating to Miscellaneous Criminal Procedures  

 

LR07-CR00-CRIM-12 Preliminary Criminal Pretrial Conferences 

At the initial hearing, unless otherwise ordered, all criminal cases will be set for a 

preliminary pretrial conference.  The preliminary pretrial conference will be conducted with the 

prosecutor and defense counsel without participation by the Court.  Defense counsel should 

contact the prosecutor at or before the time of the scheduled preliminary pretrial conference 

either in person or by phone.  Defendants appearing pro se may participate in the preliminary 

pretrial conference with the prosecutor, but shall not be required to participate.  Matters to be 

addressed at the preliminary pretrial conference include compliance with any previously issued 

discovery orders, outstanding discovery issues, witness and exhibit lists, and possible plea 

agreements. 

 

 

 

 

LR07-CR26-CRIM-13 25  Pretrial Release and Bond  

 

Pursuant to Indiana Trial Rule 26 and Indiana Code §35-33-8-1 et seq., the Brown Circuit Court 

enters the following order regarding pretrial release and bail bond for persons arrested for the 

commission of an offense.     

 

Section 1: Terms 

 “Bail bond” means a bond executed by a person who has been arrested for the 

commission of an offense, for the purpose of ensuring: 

(1) the person’s appearance at the appropriate legal proceeding; 

(2) another person’s physical safety; or 

(3) the safety of the community. 
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 “Cash bond” means posting 10% of the amount of the bail by cash or credit card 

payment. 

 “Full cash” means posting the entire amount of the bail by cash or credit card payment. 

 “Release on own recognizance” (ROR) means release without financial obligation.  Other 

conditions of release may apply. 

 “Surety bond” means paying a non-refundable (usually 10% of the bail) to an approved 

surety company, which in turn posts its guarantee to pay the full amount of the bail if the 

Defendant fails to appear and the appropriate revocation procedures have been followed. 

 

Section 2: General Provisions 

A.            Unless otherwise stated herein or ordered by the Court, all persons arrested shall 

be entitled to post bail by either a full cash or cash bond or a surety bond pursuant to this 

local rule. 

1. If the person posts a full cash or  cash bond, the Defendant must execute an 

agreement authorizing the Court to use all or part of the cash posted to pay for fines, 

costs, restitution, and fees (including public defender fees, probation user fees, 

community corrections fees, etc.)  if convicted. 

2. If the person posts a full cash or cash bond, the person must execute an agreement 

that in the event of a failure to appear as scheduled, the person shall forfeit the deposit 

and must also pay additional amounts to satisfy the full amount of bail plus associated 

court costs, fees and expenses 

B.   If a person  is arrested for multiple crimes allegedly committed in a single episode of 

criminal conduct, the bail amount and conditions shall be as stated herein for the highest level of 

bail and/or supervision applicable. 

C. Pursuant to Indiana Code §35-33-8-3.6, a person who has been arrested for a crime under 

the Indiana Code that is a felony or a Class A misdemeanor that results in bodily injury to the 

another person shall refrain from any direct or indirect contact with the alleged victim: 

(1) For ten (10) days after release; or 

(2) Until the initial hearing; 

whichever occurs first.   

 The person shall sign the Order for No Contact as a Condition of Bond for Felony or 

Class A Offenses Involving Violence prior to release.  Any person who refuses to sign the form 

shall not be released without authority of the Court.  The original shall be delivered to the Court 

with the Cash Bond and Official Notice or surety bond form.  Copies of the Order shall be 

provided to the Prosecutor and the person.  

D. A sexually violent predator Defendant as defined by Indiana Code §35-33-8-3.5(b), a 

person charged with child molesting (Indiana Code §35-42-4-3) or a person charged with child 
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solicitation (Indiana Code §35-42-4-6) shall not be admitted to bail until the Court has conducted 

a bail hearing in open court.  Individuals held pursuant to this provision shall be brought before 

the Court not later than forty-eight (48) hours after being arrested, unless exigent circumstances 

prevent the holding of a hearing within forty-eight (48) hours. 

E. A person arrested for murder shall not be admitted to bail unless ordered by the Court. 

Individuals held pursuant to this provision shall be brought before the Court not later than forty-

eight (48) hours after being arrested, unless exigent circumstances prevent the holding of a 

hearing within forty-eight (48) hours.  

F. In accordance with state law and the policy of the Brown County Sheriff, persons who 

are under the influence of alcohol, drugs or controlled substances may be detained until he or she 

is no longer under the influence. 

G. Persons arrested for a crime of domestic violence (as defined by Indiana Code §35-31.5-

2-78) shall not be released on bail until at least forty-eight (48) hours from the time of the 

person’s arrest, unless otherwise ordered by the Court. The Court finds this cooling off period is 

appropriate because of the unique nature of domestic violence.   

H. A person who is arrested shall complete the Brown County Pretrial Services Intake 

Information Form.  Any person who refuses to complete and sign the Brown County Pretrial 

Services Intake Information Form shall not be released without authority of the Court.  The 

Brown County Sheriff shall rely on the information on the Intake Information Form and other 

available information to make the initial determination regarding release at set forth in Sections 3 

through 7.   

Other available information may include a search of records provided by the Brown County 

Probation Office, records maintained by the Brown County Sheriff/Jail, and/or records readily 

available through the internet.  

I. Any person who is not released on his or her own recognizance or by posting bond shall 

be assessed by a pretrial services officer within forty-eight hours of his or her arrest, excluding 

weekend and court holidays.  The pretrial services officer shall prepare and file a Pretrial 

Services Report.  

J. The Court shall conduct a hearing regarding pretrial release at the Court’s earliest 

opportunity, but no later than ten (10) days following arrest, unless exigent circumstances 

prevent the holding of a hearing within ten (10) days of arrest.  This hearing shall be attended by 

the Defendant, his counsel and the Prosecutor.  The pretrial services officer shall attend, if 

possible. 

K. The Court establishes the following standard levels of supervision for persons released 

with conditions pursuant to Indiana Rule of Criminal Procedure 26(B); 

 Level 1: at least one contact every two weeks, monthly criminal record check 

Level 2: at least one contact and one face-to-face meeting every month; monthly criminal 

record check 
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Level 3: at least two contacts and two face-to-face meetings every month; monthly 

criminal record check 

 

 The Court may impose additional conditions, including electronic monitoring, no contact 

orders and substance abuse or mental health evaluations and treatment as recommended.   

 

 Standard levels of supervision for persons released with or without posting bond shall be 

as stated in the Brown County Pretrial Services Policies and Procedures Manual.  

 

L. The Court may assess pretrial release services fees pursuant to Indiana Code §35-33-8-

3.3.  

 

Section 3: Pretrial Release – Misdemeanor Offenses   

For the purpose of this Section, Resisting Law Enforcement shall be considered a violent 

crime. 

NON-VIOLENT MISDEMEANOR:  

A. A person who is arrested for a misdemeanor offense that is not a violent crime (as defined 

by Indiana Code §5-2-6.1-8) and the person is not:  

a. on pre-trial release not related to the incident that is the basis for the present 

arrest; or 

b. on probation, parole, or other community supervision 

 

 shall be released on his or her own recognizance. 

 

B. A person who is arrested for a misdemeanor offense that is not a violent crime (as defined 

by Indiana Code §5-2-6.1-8) and is: 

a. on pre-trial release not related to the incident that is the basis for the present 

arrest; or 

 

 

b. on probation, parole, or other community supervision 

shall be required to post bond in the amount of $5,000 and shall be placed on Level 1 

pretrial supervision. The Court may impose additional conditions at its discretion to 

ensure appearance at court proceedings and the safety of the person and the community. 

 

VIOLENT MISDEMEANOR:  

C. A person who is arrested for a misdemeanor offense that is violent crime (as defined by 

Indiana Code §5-2-6.1-8) and the person is not:  

a. on pre-trial release not related to the incident that is the basis for the present 

arrest; or 
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b. on probation, parole, or other community supervision 

 

shall be required to post bond in the amount of $5,000 and shall be placed on Level 1 

pretrial supervision.  The Court may impose additional conditions at its discretion to 

ensure appearance at court proceedings and the safety of the person and the community.  

 

D. A person who is arrested for a misdemeanor offense that is a violent crime (as defined by 

Indiana Code §5-2-6.1-8) and is: 

a. on pre-trial release not related to the incident that is the basis for the present 

arrest; or 

b. on probation, parole, or other community supervision 

  

shall be required to post bond in the amount of $10,000 and shall be placed on Level 2 

pretrial supervision. The Court may impose additional conditions at its discretion to 

ensure appearance at court proceedings and the safety of the person and the community. 

 

Section 4: Pretrial Release – Level 6 Felony Offenses -   

For the purpose of this Section, Resisting Law Enforcement shall be considered a violent 

crime. 

NON-VIOLENT/NON-DRUG OR ALCOHOL LEVEL 6 FELONY:  

A. A person who is arrested for a level 6 offense that is not a violent crime (as defined by 

Indiana Code §5-2-6.1-8) and the offense is not possession of heroin, methamphetamine, 

a syringe or operating while intoxicated/operating with .08 or .15 or more ACE and the 

person is not:  

a. on pre-trial release not related to the incident that is the basis for the present 

arrest; or 

b. on probation, parole, or other community supervision 

 

shall be released on his or her own recognizance. 

 

B. A person who is arrested for a level 6 felony offense that is not a violent crime (as 

defined by Indiana Code §5-2-6.1-8) and the offense is not possession of heroin, 

methamphetamine, a syringe or operating while intoxicated/operating with .08 or .15 or 

more ACE and is: 

a. on pre-trial release not related to the incident that is the basis for the present 

arrest; or 

b. on probation, parole, or other community supervision 
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shall be required to post bond in the amount of $20,000 and shall be placed on Level 2 

pretrial supervision. The Court may impose additional conditions at its discretion to 

ensure appearance at court proceedings and the safety of the person and the community. 

VIOLENT OR DRUG/ALCOHOL LEVEL 6 FELONY: 

C. A person who is arrested for a level 6 felony offense that is violent crime (as defined by 

Indiana Code §5-2-6.1-8) or possession of heroin, methamphetamine, a syringe or 

operating while intoxicated/operating with .08 or .15 or more ACE and is not:  

a. on pre-trial release not related to the incident that is the basis for the present 

arrest; or 

b. on probation, parole, or other community supervision.  

 

shall be required to post bond in the amount of $10,000 and shall be placed on Level 2 

supervision. The Court may impose additional conditions at its discretion to ensure 

appearance at court proceedings and the safety of the person and the community. 

 

D. A person who is arrested for a level 6 felony offense that is a violent crime (as defined by 

Indiana Code §5-2-6.1-8) or possession of heroin, methamphetamine, a syringe or 

operating while intoxicated/operating with .08 or .15 or more ACE and is: 

a. on pre-trial release not related to the incident that is the basis for the present 

arrest; or 

b. on probation, parole, or other community supervision 

  

shall be required to post bond in the amount of $30,000 and shall be placed on Level 3 

pretrial supervision. The Court may impose additional conditions at its discretion to 

ensure appearance at court proceedings and the safety of the person and the community. 

 

 

 

Section 5: Pretrial Release – Level 3, 4, And 5 Felony Offenses (excluding sexually 

violent predator Defendants as defined by Indiana Code §35-33-8-3.5(b), persons charged with 

child molesting (Indiana Code §35-42-4-3) or persons charged with child solicitation (Indiana 

Code §35-42-4-6)) 

 

NON-VIOLENT LEVEL 3, 4 OR 5 FELONY: 

 

A. A person who is arrested for a level 3, 4 or 5 felony offense that is not a violent crime (as 

defined by Indiana Code §5-2-6.1-8) and the person is not:   
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a. on pre-trial release not related to the incident that is the basis for the present 

arrest; or 

b. on probation, parole, or other community supervision 

 

 shall be required to post bond in the amount of $20,000 and shall be placed on Level 2 

pretrial supervision.  The Court may impose additional conditions at its discretion to 

ensure appearance at court proceedings and the safety of the person and the community. 

 

B.  A. person who is arrested for a level 3, 4 or 5 felony offense that is not a violent crime 

(as defined by Indiana Code §5-2-6.1-8) and is: 

a. on pre-trial release not related to the incident that is the basis for the present 

arrest; or 

b. on probation, parole, or other community supervision 

 

shall be required to post bond in the amount of $50,000 and shall be placed on Level 3 

pretrial supervision. The Court may impose additional conditions at its discretion to 

ensure appearance at court proceedings and the safety of the person and the community. 

 

VIOLENT LEVEL 3, 4 OR 5 FELONY:  

C. A person who is arrested for a level 3, 4 or 5  felony offense that is violent crime (as 

defined by Indiana Code §5-2-6.1-8) and is not:  

a. on pre-trial release not related to the incident that is the basis for the present 

arrest; or 

b. on probation, parole, or other community supervision.  

 

shall be required to post bond in the amount of $30,000 and shall be placed on Level 3 

pretrial supervision. The Court may impose additional conditions at its discretion to 

ensure appearance at court proceedings and the safety of the person and the community. 

 

 

D. A person who is arrested for a level 3, 4 or 5 felony offense that is a violent crime (as 

defined by Indiana Code §5-2-6.1-8) and is: 

a. on pre-trial release not related to the incident that is the basis for the present 

arrest; or 

b. on probation, parole, or other community supervision 
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shall be required to post bond in the amount of $60,000 and shall be placed on Level 3 

pretrial supervision. The Court may impose additional conditions at its discretion to 

ensure appearance at court proceedings and the safety of the person and the community. 

 

Section 6: Pretrial Release – Level 1 And 2 Felony Offenses (excluding sexually violent 

predator Defendants as defined by Indiana Code §35-33-8-3.5(b), persons charged with child 

molesting (Indiana Code §35-42-4-3) or persons charged with child solicitation (Indiana Code 

§35-42-4-6)) 

 

NON-VIOLENT LEVEL 1 OR 2 FELONY: 

A. A person who is arrested for a level 1 or 2 felony offense that is not a violent crime (as 

defined by Indiana Code §5-2-6.1-8) and the person is not:  

a. on pre-trial release not related to the incident that is the basis for the present 

arrest; or 

b. on probation, parole, or other community supervision 

 

 shall be required to post bond in the amount of $75,000 and shall be placed on Level 3 

pretrial supervision.  The Court may impose additional conditions at its discretion to 

ensure appearance at court proceedings and the safety of the person and the community. 

 

B. A person who is arrested for a level 1 or 2 felony offense that is not a violent crime (as 

defined by Indiana Code §5-2-6.1-8) and is: 

a. on pre-trial release not related to the incident that is the basis for the present 

arrest; or 

b. on probation, parole, or other community supervision 

 

shall not be admitted to bail until the Court has conducted a bail hearing in open court.  

Individuals held pursuant to this provision shall be brought before the Court not later than 

forty-eight (48) hours after being arrested, unless exigent circumstances prevent the 

holding of a hearing within forty-eight (48) hours. 

  

 

VIOLENT LEVEL 1 OR 2 FELONY: 

C. A person who is arrested for a level 1 or 2 felony offense that is a violent crime (as 

defined by Indiana Code §5-2-6.1-8) shall not be admitted to bail until the Court has 

conducted a bail hearing in open court.  Individuals held pursuant to this provision shall 

be brought before the Court not later than forty-eight (48) hours after being arrested, 
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unless exigent circumstances prevent the holding of a hearing within forty-eight (48) 

hours.  

Section 7:  Warrants 

A. A Defendant arrested on a warrant issued due to the Defendant’s failure to appear at a 

scheduled court hearing shall be held to bond in the amount set by the Court and shall not 

be eligible for release on recognizance. 

 

B. A Defendant arrested on a warrant issued by the Court upon a finding of probable cause 

shall be eligible for pretrial release as set forth in Sections 3 through 6, unless otherwise 

noted on the arrest warrant. 

 

Local Rule 14 26  Relating to the Indiana Jury Rules  

LR07-JR4-JURY-14 -26 Notice of Selection for Jury Pool; Summons for Jury Service 

The Brown Circuit Court shall utilize a single tier system for mailing notice and 

summons to prospective jurors as referenced in Jury Rule 4(a).  Each year when names of 

prospective jurors are drawn from the jury pool, the jury administrator shall simultaneously send 

to those prospective jurors whose names have been drawn notice of the period of their possible 

jury service, a jury qualification form, and a summons.  The notice, qualification form and 

summons shall be mailed not later than seven (7) days after the date the prospective jurors’ 

names were drawn from the jury pool and at least six (6) weeks before jury service. 

 

Local Rules 15 27 through 29 Relating to the Indiana Administrative Rules  

LR07-AR15-ADMN-15 -27 Court Reporter Services 

 

Section One. Definitions. For purposes of this local rule, the definitions contained in 

Administrative Rule 15 shall apply. 

 

Section Two. Court Reporter; Salaries and Per Page Fees. 

1. Court Reporters shall be paid an annual salary for time spent working under the control, 

direction and direct supervision of their supervising court during any regular work hours, 

gap hours or overtime hours. Court Reporters shall be compensated for gap and overtime 

hours as set forth in the Brown County Human Resources Policies and Procedures as 

adopted and/or amended by the Judge. 

2. Court reporters may charge a per page fee for preparation of transcripts if the transcripts 

are prepared on the court reporter’s own time outside of any regular work hours, gap 

hours or overtime hours and are prepared using the court reporter’s own paper and the 

court reporter’s own supplies. This would include the ability to assign the transcript to a 
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third party to transcribe or assist in typing the transcript.  The total combined per page fee 

to be paid to the court reporter and/or third party transcriber shall not exceed the 

maximum per page fee set forth in this rule. 

3. The maximum per page fee a court reporter may charge for the preparation of a county 

indigent transcript shall be Four Dollars ($4.00) $4.50; the court reporter shall submit a 

claim directly to the county for the preparation of any county indigent transcripts. 

4. The maximum per page fee a court reporter may charge for the preparation of a state 

indigent transcript shall be Four Dollars ($4.00). $4.50. 

5. The maximum per page fee a court reporter may charge for the preparation of a private 

transcript shall be Four Dollars ($4.00), plus the actual cost of paper used at a per page 

cost. $4.50.  

6. The per page fee for expedited transcripts shall be $6.00 with 24 hours notice and $5.00 

with three (3) days notice. 

7. The maximum per page fee a court reporter may charge for a copy of a transcript is 

$2.50, which includes the cost of paper and binding.  

8. Binding and Exhibit and Index Volume Fees.  An additional fee shall be added to the cost 

of the transcript for the time spent binding the transcript and preparing the exhibit and 

index volumes at an hourly rate based on one and one-half (1 ½) times the Court 

Reporter’s hourly rate.  This fee will only apply if the Court Reporter binds the transcript 

and prepares the exhibit and index volumes on the court reporter’s own time outside of 

any regular work hours, gap hours or overtime hours using the court reporter’s own paper 

and the court reporter’s own supplies. 

9. If a third party types the transcript for a per page rate equal to the maximum  approved in 

this rule, the court reporter shall not be entitled to any additional per page fee, but with 

the approval of the Judge, shall complete the review and proofing of the transcript either: 

 *   during normal work hours using court equipment, paper and supplies without   

 charging any additional fee whatsoever; or 

       * on the court reporter’s own time outside of any regular work hours, gap hours or 

overtime hours using the court reporter’s own paper, and the court reporter’s own 

supplies at an hourly rate based on one and one-half (1 ½) times the Court Reporter’s 

hourly rate. 

10. Each court reporter shall report, at least on an annual basis, all transcript fees received for 

the preparation of county indigent, state indigent or private transcripts to the Indiana 

Supreme Court Division of State Court Administration. The reporting shall be made on 

forms prescribed by the Division of the State Court Administration. 

 

Section Three. Private Practice. 

(1) If a court reporter elects to engage in private practice through the recording of a 

deposition and/or preparing of a deposition transcript, and the court reporter desires to 
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utilize the court’s equipment, work space and supplies, and the court agrees to the use of 

the court equipment for such a purpose, the court and the court reporter shall enter into a 

written agreement which must, at a minimum, designate the following: 

a. The reasonable market rate for the use of the equipment, work space and supplies; 

b. The method by which records are to be kept for the use of equipment, work space 

and supplies; and  

c. The method by which the court reporter is to reimburse the court for the use of the 

equipment, work space and supplies. 

(2) If a court reporter elects to engage in private practice through the recording of a 

 deposition and/or preparing of a deposition transcript, all such private practice work shall   

 be conducted outside of regular working hours. 

(Amended effective January 1, 2016) 

 

LR07-AR00-28  Evidence Handling, Retention and Disposition 

 

Section 1: Retention periods for evidence introduced in all non-criminal proceedings: 

A. All items of evidence that cannot be scanned, including models, oversized 

exhibits and  physical evidence, that are placed in the custody of the court reporter as 

exhibits shall be taken away by the parties offering them into evidence four (4) 

months after the case is decided, except as otherwise ordered by the court.  If an 

appeal is taken, all such evidence shall be retained by the court reporter for four (4) 

months from the termination of the appeal, retrial, or subsequent appeal and 

termination, whichever is later.  

B. The court reporter shall retain the mechanical or electronic records or tapes, 

shorthand or stenographic notes as provided in Administrative Rule 7. 

C. The Court may direct longer periods of retention upon motion of any party or on 

its own motion. 

 

Section 2: Retention Periods for evidence introduced in criminal misdemeanor and level 

6/class D felony proceedings: 

A. All items of evidence that cannot be scanned, including models, oversized exhibits and 

physical evidence, that are placed in the custody of the court reporter as exhibits shall be 

taken away by the parties offering them into evidence three (3) years after the case is 

dismissed, the defendant is found not guilty or the defendant is sentenced, unless an 

appeal is taken.  If an appeal is taken, all such exhibits shall be retained by the court 

reporter for three (3) years from the termination of the appeal, retrial, or subsequent 

appeal and termination, whichever is later, unless an action challenging the conviction or 

sentence or a post-conviction action is pending. 
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B. The court reporter shall retain the mechanical or electronic records or tapes, shorthand or 

stenographic notes as provided in Administrative Rule 7. 

C. The Court may direct longer periods of retention upon motion of any party or on its own 

motion. 

Section 3:     Retention periods for evidence introduced in levels 1-5/class A-C felony 

proceedings: 

A. All items of evidence that cannot be scanned, including models, oversized exhibits and 

physical evidence, that are placed in the custody of the court reporter as exhibits shall be 

taken away by the parties offering them into evidence eight (8) years after the case is 

dismissed, the defendant is found not guilty or the defendant is sentenced, unless an 

appeal is taken.  If an appeal is taken, all such exhibits shall be retained by the court 

reporter for three (3) years from the termination of the appeal, retrial, or subsequent 

appeal and termination, whichever is later, unless an action challenging the conviction or 

sentence or a post-conviction action is pending. 

B. The court reporter shall retain the mechanical or electronic records or tapes, shorthand or 

stenographic notes as provided in Administrative Rule 7. 

C. The Court may direct longer periods of retention upon motion of any party or on its own 

motion. 

 

Section 4: Retention periods for evidence introduced in murder/attempted murder/and 

criminal cases in which a Defendant is sentenced to death or life without parole: 

A. All items of evidence that cannot be scanned, including models, oversized exhibits and 

physical evidence, that are placed in the custody of the court reporter as exhibits shall be 

taken retained for twenty (20) years after the case is dismissed, the defendant is found not 

guilty or the defendant is sentenced, unless an appeal is taken.  If an appeal is taken, all 

such exhibits shall be retained by the court reporter for twenty (20) years from the 

termination of the appeal, retrial, or subsequent appeal and termination, whichever is 

later, unless an action challenging the conviction or sentence or a post-conviction action 

is pending.  The items of evidence shall not be destroyed without first notifying the 

Defendant, his trial, appellate and post-conviction counsel, and the prosecutor’s office.  If 

a request is made to retain the evidence, it shall be retained for an additional twenty (20) 

years.  

B. The court reporter shall retain the mechanical or electronic records or tapes, shorthand or 

stenographic notes as provided in Administrative Rule 7. 

C. The Court may direct longer periods of retention upon motion of any party or on its own 

motion. 
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Section 5:  Biologically contaminated evidence: 

A. A party who intends to offer biologically contaminated evidence must file a 

pretrial notice and serve all parties. The Court will determine how said evidence shall 

be presented. 

B. Biologically contaminated evidence shall not be handled or passed to jurors or 

sent to the jury room.   

 

Section 6:  Disposal of evidence: 

A. All evidence that is illegal to possess or a firearm or deadly weapon that is 

eligible to be disposed of pursuant to Sections 1, 2, 3 and 4, shall be disposed of by 

the Sheriff. 

B. All evidence that has some value that is eligible to be disposed of pursuant to 

Sections 1, 2, 3, and 4 shall be offered for sale at the county auction. 

C. All other evidence that is eligible to be disposed of pursuant to Sections 1, 2 3 and 

4 shall be disposed of as determined by the Court. 

 

LR07-AR00-29 Possession and Use of Cellular Phones and Electronic Devices 

 

(A) Persons entering the Brown Courthouse may possess cellular phones and other electronic 

communication devices.  Cellular phones and other electronic communication devices shall be 

either turned off or set to silent mode if taken into the courtroom or the hearing room.  When 

court is in session, no person, other than as stated in paragraph (B), shall use a cellular phone or 

electronic communication device in any manner including, but not limited to text messaging, e-

mail, telephone calls, accessing the internet or using social media.  A person, if a specific request 

is approved by the court,  may use a cellular phone or electronic device to acquire information 

during a court proceeding.   

(B) Attorneys and parties to a proceeding may use a, cellular phone, lap top computer or 

other electronic device as necessary to access information from their files, conduct legal 

research, and otherwise as necessary to effectively participate in the proceedings.  

(C) A person shall not use a cellular phone or electronic device to make any video, 

photographic or audio record of any court proceeding.   

(D) Failure to abide by this Rule may result in the judicial officer taking possession of a 

person’s cellular telephone or electronic device until court is no longer in session. 

(E) Failure to abide by this Rule may result in a finding of contempt of court.  

 

Local Rules 17 through 22 30 through 36 Relating to Probate Procedures  

 

LR07-PR00-PROB-17 -30 Notice 

Whenever notice by publication and/or written notice by U.S. Mail, or other method, is 
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required to be given, the attorney shall prepare such notice and ensure that the notice is properly 

published and/or served as required by statute or Supreme Court Rule.  It shall be the attorney’s 

responsibility to ascertain and provide adequate proof of notice prior to bringing a matter to the 

Court. 

 

LR07-PR00-PROB-18 -31 Bond 

(B) It is the policy of the Court to require that a corporate surety bond in an amount to be  

determined by the Court be acquired and filed by the fiduciary in every estate, whether 

supervised or unsupervised, before letters are issued to that fiduciary.  The purpose of the bond is 

to protect creditors, taxing authorities and devisees. To facilitate the Court’s determination of the 

amount of bond to be required in any estate or guardianship, all petitions to open an estate or 

guardianship shall set forth the probable assets of the estate and the value of such assets, 

including the value of all personal property plus the estimated annual rents and profits to be 

derived from the property in the estate or guardianship and the amount of any known debt and/or 

tax liability.  Any request to waive this requirement must set forth in detail the reason(s) for said 

request.  The Court may schedule a hearing to determine whether a bond should be required and, 

if required, the appropriate amount of bond. 

(C) No corporate bond shall be required of a resident corporate fiduciary, qualified by law to 

serve as a fiduciary.  A non-resident corporate fiduciary shall be required to post bond in the 

amount required by Indiana Code §29-1-10-1. 

(D) If the fiduciary is an heir, devisee or legatee, the Court may reduce the amount of the 

bond by the amount of that fiduciary’s estimated net share of the estate. 

(E) A non-resident fiduciary or an appointed fiduciary who becomes a non-resident must post 

a corporate surety bond in the amount required by Indiana Code §29-1-10-1. 

 

LR07-PR00-32 Deeds, Sale or Transfer of Real Estate 

  

(A) The fiduciary shall file a written appraisal or market analysis by a qualified real estate 

professional with any petition for the sale of real estate in a supervised estate, unless such an 

appraisal or analysis was previously filed with an inventory.  The appraisal or market analysis 

shall have been made within one (1) year of the date of the filing of the petition for sale. 

(B) The Court will not authorize or approve the sale of real estate in an unsupervised estate. 

(C) Copies of all deeds submitted to the Court for approval in either an  estate or 

guardianship  proceedings shall be filed with the Court for its records.  Any deed submitted to 

the Court for approval in an estate proceeding must be first signed by the fiduciary before a 

notary public.  

(D) If a final decree provides that real estate shall vest in heirs or beneficiaries of the estate, 

the final decree shall be recorded with the office of the Recorder in the county in which the real 

estate is located, and evidence of this recording shall be provided to the Court in a supplemental 
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report.  

  

LR07-PR00-PROB-20 -33 Accountings 

Whenever an estate cannot be closed within one (1) year, an intermediate account shall 

be filed with the Court within thirty (30) days after the expiration of one (1) year and each 

succeeding six (6) months thereafter.  Such accounting shall comply with the requirements of 

I.C. 29-1-16-4 and 29-1-16-6 and shall: 

1. State facts showing why the estate cannot be closed and an estimated date of 

closing; and 

2. Propose partial distribution of the estate to the extent that partial distribution can 

be made without prejudice to distributees and claimants. 

 

LR07-PR00-PROB-21 - 34 Fees of Attorneys and Fiduciary Fiduciaries 

No fees for fiduciaries or attorneys shall be paid out of any supervised estate or 

guardianship without prior written order of the Court.  Absent exceptional circumstances, no 

attorney or fiduciary fees will be determined and authorized for payment by the Court in any 

unsupervised estate.  Unless otherwise ordered by the Court, the fees awarded to fiduciaries and 

attorneys in supervised estates shall not exceed the Maximum Fee Guidelines for Supervised 

Estates attached to these Local Rules. 

 

(A) The Court will determine the reasonable fiduciary and attorney fees in supervised 

estate proceedings.  A petition for fees must be signed and approved in writing by the fiduciary.  

Any petition for fiduciary or attorney fees must include a detailed statement of the services 

performed, the amount of fee requested, and how the fee was calculated. 

(B) The court will not determine, authorize, or approve fiduciary or attorney fees in 

an unsupervised estate. 

(C) No fees for fiduciary or attorney fees shall be paid out of any estate without prior 

written order of the Court.  Fees deposited with an attorney as advancement against future fees 

shall not be paid from the estate of the deceased person without prior approval of the Court. 

(D) The Court will determine reasonable fiduciary and attorney fees based upon the 

information provided in each case.  The Court shall not be bound by a fee arrangement which 

requires the payment of fees in excess of the amount determined by the Court from estate assets. 

The Court will not determine fees based only on the value of the estate. 

(E) Unjustified delays in performing duties by the fiduciary or attorney may result in 

a reduction of fees. 

 

LR07-PR00-PROB-22 -35 Presence of Alleged Incapacitated Person at Guardianship 

Hearing 

In all guardianship matters seeking to declare an adult incapacitated for any reason, the 
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allegedly incapacitated person shall be present at the hearing or sufficient evidence shall be 

presented showing that the incapacitated person is unable to appear. 

 

LR07-PR00-36  Required Information in Petitions for Appointment of Guardian of a 

Minor 

         Every petition for appointment of a guardian of a minor shall contain the following 

information:  

A) The minor’s present address; 

B) The places the minor has resided within the past two years and the names and present 

addresses of persons with whom the minor has lived during that period; 

C) Whether, to the petitioner’s knowledge, any other litigation in pending concerning the 

custody of the minor in pending in this state or any other state; and  

D) Whether, to the petitioner’s knowledge, any person not a party to the guardianship 

proceedings has physical or legal custody of the minor or claims to have legal or physical custody of 

the minor or has parenting or visitation rights with respect to the minor.    
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MAXIMUM FEE GUIDELINES FOR SUPERVISED ESTATES   

 

Attorney Fees 

Administration 

Gross estate services are considered to normally include: opening of the estate qualifying the 

Personal Representative, preparing and filing the inventory, paying claims, collecting assets, 

preparing and filing non-extraordinary petitions, preparing and filing the Inheritance Tax 

Schedule, obtaining the court order thereon and paying the taxes, preparing and filing the Final 

Report, obtaining an order approving the same, distributing assets, obtaining discharge of the 

Personal Representative, and preparing and serving all notices on interested parties and readily 

ascertainable creditors throughout the proceedings.  This list shall not be considered to be 

exclusive. 

 

A. Gross Estate: 

Up to         $    100,000  not to exceed    6% 

Next     200,000  not to exceed    4% 

Next    700,000  not to exceed    3% 

Next  1,000,000  not to exceed    1% 

 

B. Miscellaneous B Extraordinary Services 

 

Miscellaneous and extraordinary services should be billed at a reasonable rate.  Attorneys 

are required to notify the Court of the hourly or other rate of compensation and the services 

provided when requesting fees in excess of the schedule listed above.  Miscellaneous or 

extraordinary services will vary but may include sale of personal property, sale of real property, 

partial distribution, defending a will, construing a will, contesting claims, adjusting tax matters, 

any contested hearing, petition for instructions, heirship determination, generating additional 

income for the estate, etc. 

Personal Representative Fees 

Professional: An applicable reasonable rate will be established in each case considering all 

circumstances. 

 

Non-professional: An amount not in excess of one-half (2) of the attorney=s fee. 

 

Attorney: When an attorney also serves as the Personal Representative, an additional amount not 

in excess of one-third (1/3) of the attorney fee may be allowed, provided the attorney has 

performed additional services normally performed by the Personal Representative and the assets 

of the estate warrant the a allowance of additional fees 

 

Limitation on Total Fees 

Absent truly exceptional circumstances, the combined total of all fees allowed to the 

Personal Representative and the attorney for the administration of an estate shall not exceed ten 

percent (10%) of the decedent’s gross estate. 

 


