Close Menu

Main Content

Marion County Judicial Selection (2020)

Sixteen Marion County judges in the Circuit & Superior Courts have terms that expire at the end of 2020. Those judges have until February 7 to indicate whether or not they wish to remain on the bench. If they do, the Marion County Judicial Selection Committee will interview them and make a recommendation to the public about whether or not they should be retained in the November general election.

If any of the sixteen judges should decide not to seek retention, a vacancy will occur. In that event, applications will become available for attorneys to seek judicial office. Applicants will be interviewed and evaluated by the selection committee, who will recommend 3 finalists for each vacancy to the Governor. The Governor will appoint a new judge or judges from among those finalists to fill the vacancy or vacancies.

This page will be updated throughout the year with information about incumbent retention, vacancies, applicants and other news related to Marion County judicial selection in 2020.

For more information about how judges are selected and retained in Marion County see Indiana Code 33-33-49-13.1 to 33-33-49-13.7 and the committee's Policies and Procedures.

42 have applied to fill 3 vacancies on the Marion Superior Court
  • Regina Christian Ashley
  • Kimberly Jaunetha Bacon
  • Gregory Philip Bowes
  • Marshelle Dawkins Broadwell
  • Beth Ann Butsch
  • Gerald Blair Coleman
  • Joseph Robert Delamater
  • Samantha Elaine DeWester
  • Matthew Ryan Dodson
  • Neal Frederick Eggeson, Jr.
  • Marcia Jo Ferree
  • Mellisica Kaywanie Flippen
  • Lillian Leona Frank
  • Geoffrey Arlyss Gaither
  • Ryan Kenneth Gardner
  • Danielle Priscu Gaughan
  • Amber Collins-Gebrehiwet
  • Sarah Jones Glasser
  • Garland Eugene Graves
  • Lawrence Michael Hansen
  • Anne Celeste Harrigan
  • David Michael Hooper
  • Melanie Leen Kendrick
  • Raiomand Govinda Krishnayya
  • Cynthia Elaine Lasher
  • Linda Aiken Major
  • Jeffrey Lynn Marchal
  • Kimberly Dean Mattingly
  • Patricia Louise McKinnon
  • Dianne Lynn Mejia
  • Charles Francis Miller
  • Cynthia Leigh Oetjen
  • Jason Glenn Reyome
  • Jennifer Gail Ruby
  • Kelly Michelle Scanlan
  • James Kevin Snyder
  • Jennifer Haley Springer
  • Matthew Edward Symons
  • Terrance Thomas Tharpe
  • Brett Barrett Thomas
  • Marla Rae Thomas
  • Matthew Garner Whitmire   
Marion County Judicial Vacancies - Application Deadline Extended and Interviews Rescheduled

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Marion County Judicial Selection Committee extended the deadline for applications to fill the vacancies created by the end-of-year retirement of Judges David Dreyer, Barbara Crawford, and Marilyn Moores. The deadline of March 30, 2020 (announced on February 14) was postponed until June 19, 2020 at 4:00pm (EDT). The applicant interviews scheduled for May 18, 19, and 20, 2020 will be rescheduled to late August/early September, 2020.

Marion County judges qualified by Commission

(March 9, 2020, press release)

Applications available for judicial positions in Marion County

(February 14, 2020, press release)

Application Instructions for the Marion Superior Court

(February 14, 2020)

Marion County judicial incumbent interviews scheduled

(February 13, 2020, press release)

Marion County Judicial Selection Committee to meet

(January 17, 2020, press release)

Applications & Instructions for Incumbent Judges

(January 6, 2020)


Jim Maguire
Office of Judicial Administration