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INITIAL APPLICATION FOR LICENSE TO OPERATE A HOME HEALTH AGENCY 

 

Dear Applicant: 

This letter instructs the applicant on how to obtain a license to operate a Home Health Agency.  
Prior to operating a Home Health Agency in Indiana, a license must be obtained from the 
Indiana Department of Health (“Department”).  To obtain a license, the applicant must submit 
to the Department a completed application on the designated form, supporting documentation 
and $250.00 licensure fee and must be able to show compliance with the licensure statute, IC 
16-27. 

The Application for License to Operate a Home Health Agency (SF 4008) must be completed in 
its entirety and submitted to the Department, along with supporting documents and/or 
information and the required $250.00 non-refundable license application fee.  Mail the entire 
application packet to the Indiana Department of Health addressed as follows: 

 

Indiana State Department of Health 
2 North Meridian Street 

Attention: Cashier’s Office 
Indianapolis, IN 46204 

 
A home health agency’s license to operate expires one (1) year after the date of issuance of 
initial license and the license must be renewed annually.  The home health agency must 
complete a “Renewal Application for License to Operate a Home Health Agency” application (SF 
48851), applicant documentation and a non-refundable licensure fee of $250.00 for renewal of 
license.  The documentation and licensure fee must be submitted at least 60 days, but not 
sooner than 90 days before the expiration date of the current license. 
 
If the application is submitted for a Change of Ownership (CHOW) of an existing Home Health 
Agency, the application packet, documentation, and non-refundable license fee of $250.00.  
The application, documentation and licensure fee must be submitted at least 30 days prior to 
the effective date of the CHOW.  Submit the applicable purchase agreement with buyer/seller 
signatures, identity of corporation and DBA and effective date of transaction. 
 
Submission of the application form and supporting documents within the time frames set out 
above will avoid expiration of licensure and/or unnecessary delays in obtaining authority to 
operate a new Home Health Agency, or to assume control of an existing Home Health Agency. 
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Enclosed is a list of required documentation to be submitted with the initial licensure 
application. 
 
Review all the Home Health Agencies State Statute (Law) IC-16-27, Home Health Agencies 
State Rules (Administrative Code) 410 IAC 17, “Application for License to Operate a Home 
Health Agency” (State Form 4008) and information packet prior to completing and submitting 
application to the Department. 
 
If the provider cannot interpret the State Statute IC-16-27 or Rules 410 IAC 17, the provider 
may obtain an attorney or consultant for interpretation of the State Statute (Law) IC-16-27 
and/or Rules 410 IAC 17.  The provider may contact the Indiana Association for Home & 
Hospice Care (IAHHC), 6320-G Rucker Road, Indianapolis, IN 46220, telephone number 
317/775-6675 to attend a home health 101 training class for home health agencies.  The 
Indiana Association for Home & Hospice Care (IAHHC) web address is located at www.iahhc.org.  
 
Please include a cover letter with the application to include: 

• Contact name 
• Telephone number 
• Mailing address 

In the event additional information is requested the Department needs reliable contact 
information. 
 
The application will be reviewed in order received at the Department and as the priority is 
dictated by the Division of Acute Care.  The review process will be as follows: 

• The Department will not accept providers walking in the Department and requesting 
immediate review and approval of application and licensure due to provider’s timelines. 

• The Department will not accept providers calling the Department and requesting 
immediate review and approval of application and licensure due to provider’s timelines. 

• The Department will not accept providers emailing the Department and requesting 
immediate review and approval of initial/revised application and licensure due to 
provider’s timelines. 

• The Department will review applications in order received by U.S. mail. 
• The provider may call to request the status of the application. 
• All documentation must be received and approved prior to issuing a license.   
• For faster processing, do not return the application in a binder or enclosed in sheet 

protectors.  You may use colored sheets of paper to separate documents.  The colored 
pages may be identified by topic.  Do not use tabs. 

http://www.iahhc.org/
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If you have any questions regarding the application process contact the program 
coordinator at 317/233-7302. 
 
Under Indiana Rule 410 IAC 17-10-1(e), after receiving an acceptable completed application, 
fee for licensure, disclosure or ownership and management information and any other 
requested information, this Division may issue a letter of approval to operate a home health 
agency, not to exceed 90 days, pending an on-site inspection (survey) by the Division. 
 
Upon receipt of a letter of approval to operate a home health agency, the applicant should 
be ready for inspection as soon as possible.  Per 410 IAC 17-10-1(e), the agency must 
provide the service(s) which they have specified on the application prior to the inspection 
and must have three (3) active patients for record review.  Licenses issued by the 
Department to operate home health agencies will be based upon the results of a survey 
conducted by Department representatives to determine compliance with the requirements 
of 410 IAC 17-9 et seq.  If the Division finds that the applicant is not in compliance with all 
applicable state and/or federal statutes and rules at the time of the initial licensure survey, 
the approval to operate a home health will be terminated.  Upon termination of the 
approval to operate, the applicant must cease operations.  If the applicant chooses to 
resubmit an application, it may submit a request for reapplication form with the applicable 
documentation at any time after notification of termination of approval to operate. 
 
If the application is submitted for renewal of license, the application packet and licensure 
fee must be submitted at least 60 days prior, but not sooner than 90 days before the 
expiration date of the current license. 
 
If the application is submitted for a Change of Ownership (CHOW) of an existing HHA, the 
application packet and license fee must be submitted at least 30 days prior to the effective 
date of the CHOW. 
 
Submission of the application form and supporting documents within the time frames set 
out above will avoid expiration of licensure and/or unnecessary delays in obtaining 
authority to operate a new HHA, or to assume control of an existing HHA. 
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           IMPORTANT!!!! 
 
 In order to expedite your application make sure the application is 

accurate and complete.  If the application is not completed accurately 
and/or documentation is missing it hinders and delays the processing of 
the application. 
 

 Ensure that all forms in this application packet, including duplicate 
forms, have original signatures.  The initial licensure application cannot 
be processed until the Division has received all of the required forms 
and documentation. 

 

 
 Review all rules and regulation BEFORE submitting your application to 

the Indiana State Department of Health. 
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LICENSURE APPLICATION (State Form 4008) 

The Department is requesting the following information to be included with the initial licensure 
“Application for License to Operate a Home Health Agency” (State Form 4008) to facilitate the 
approval and to process the application. 

Licensure Application 

♦ Submit all documentation requested on the licensure application and in this letter.  The 
“Application for License to Operate a Home Health Agency” (State Form 4008) is 
available on the Indiana State Department of Health’s website at 
http://www.in.gov/isdh/20125.htm for the provider to complete the form online, print, 
sign and submit with required documentation.  Complete the application and return 
with the required documentation. 

Licensure Fee 

♦ A non-refundable $250.00 licensure fee made payable to the Indiana State Department 
of Health. 

Secretary of State (SOS) 

♦ Submit applicable document from the Indiana Secretary of State (SOS). 

 If a limited Partnership, submit a copy of the “Application for Registration” and 
“Certificate of Registration” signed by the Indiana Secretary of State. 

 If a Corporation, submit a copy of the “Articles of Incorporation” and “Certificate 
of Incorporation” signed by the Indiana Secretary of State. 

 If applicant is an out of state corporation (foreign corporation), submit a copy of 
the “Certificate of Authority” to do business in the State of Indiana signed by the 
Indiana Secretary of State. 

 If a Limited Liability Company, submit a copy of the “Articles of Organization” 
and the “Certificate of Organization” signed by the Indiana Secretary of State. 

 If the “doing business as” (d/b/a) name is different from the corporation’s (direct 
owner) name submit “Certificate of Assumed Business Name” or “Articles of 

http://www.in.gov/isdh/20125.htm
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Incorporation” that list the owner and d/b/a name signed by the Indiana 
Secretary of State. 

Internal Revenue Service 

♦ Submit a document from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) that reflects the legal 
entity’s name and EIN number.  Do not send a request form that the provider 
completed requesting an EIN number.  The document must be from the Internal 
Revenue Service (IRS) that reflects legal name and EIN number. 

Criminal History Checks 

♦ Submit current copies of national criminal history or expanded criminal history 
background checks on the administrator, alternate administrator, nursing supervisor, 
alternate nursing supervisor, and owners/officers. 

♦ Ensure that the agency conducts national criminal history or expanded criminal history 
checks on all employees.  Review IC 16-27-2 on criminal history checks for the 
requirements to operate a home health agency in Indiana. 

♦ The expanded criminal history check and national criminal history checks are defined 
below. 

 IC 16-27-2-0.5—Expanded Criminal History Check Defined 
Sec.0.5. Expanded Criminal History Check means a criminal history c heck of an 
individual, obtained through a private agency that includes the following: 
(1)  A search of the records maintained by all counties in Indiana in which the 

individual who is the subject of the background check resided. 
(2) A search of the records maintained by all counties or similar governmental 

units in another state, if the individual who is the subject of the background 
check resided in another state. 

 IC 16-27-2-2.1—National Criminal History Background Check Defined 
Sec.2.1. National Criminal History Background Check means the determination 
provided by the State Police Department under IC 10-13-3-39(i). 

 
Licensure Application (State Form 4008) helpful hints: 
 

♦ Section I—Type of Application 
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 Please check the appropriate box for the type of application the agency is 
submitting. The selection is either for a ‘new agency’ or a Change of Ownership 
(CHOW). 

 Medicare Certification Only: 
 Please note that the State CANNOT conduct your survey for Medicare. 

Medicare certification must be obtained through an accrediting 
organization approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 
(CMS).  Contact information is located at: 
https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Provider-Enrollment-and-
Certification/SurveyCertificationGenInfo/Downloads/Accrediting-
Organization-Contacts-for-Prospective-Clients-.pdf 

 If you plan to apply for Medicare only in addition to state licensure, you must 
return all applicable forms and submit a statement in writing to this office 
along with your application (example: “In addition to State licensure, ABC 
Healthcare Agency plans to apply for Medicare certification through an 
accrediting organization.   

 Medicaid Certification Only: 
 Please note that the agency has two options for obtaining Medicaid 

certification: 
o Option one: The State Agency can schedule a Medicaid only 

certification survey. The certification survey is separate from and not 
concurrent with the State licensing survey. The State Agency will 
schedule the Medicaid only certification survey as staff schedules 
allow. There may be significant delay under this option. 

o Option two: Contact a CMS approved accreditation organization to 
schedule a Medicaid only accreditation survey. Contact information is 
located at: https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Provider-Enrollment-and-
Certification/SurveyCertificationGenInfo/Downloads/Accrediting-
Organization-Contacts-for-Prospective-Clients-.pdf 

 If you plan to apply for Medicaid only certification, in addition to state 
licensure, you must return all applicable forms and submit a statement in 
writing to this office along with your application. Examples:  

o Option one: “In addition to State licensure, ABC Healthcare Agency 
plans to apply for Medicaid only certification and requests that the 
survey be performed by the State Agency.” 

https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Provider-Enrollment-and-Certification/SurveyCertificationGenInfo/Downloads/Accrediting-Organization-Contacts-for-Prospective-Clients-.pdf
https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Provider-Enrollment-and-Certification/SurveyCertificationGenInfo/Downloads/Accrediting-Organization-Contacts-for-Prospective-Clients-.pdf
https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Provider-Enrollment-and-Certification/SurveyCertificationGenInfo/Downloads/Accrediting-Organization-Contacts-for-Prospective-Clients-.pdf
https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Provider-Enrollment-and-Certification/SurveyCertificationGenInfo/Downloads/Accrediting-Organization-Contacts-for-Prospective-Clients-.pdf
https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Provider-Enrollment-and-Certification/SurveyCertificationGenInfo/Downloads/Accrediting-Organization-Contacts-for-Prospective-Clients-.pdf
https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Provider-Enrollment-and-Certification/SurveyCertificationGenInfo/Downloads/Accrediting-Organization-Contacts-for-Prospective-Clients-.pdf
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o Option two: “In addition to State licensure, ABC Healthcare Agency 
plans to apply for Medicaid only certification and requests that the 
survey be performed by an accrediting organization.” 

 Concurrent Medicaid AND Medicare Certification 
 CMS approved accreditation organizations can perform both 

accreditation surveys concurrently. 
 If you plan to apply for concurrent Medicare and Medicaid certification in 

addition to state licensure, you must return all applicable forms and 
submit a statement in writing to this office along with your application 
(example: “In addition to State licensure, ABC Healthcare Agency plans to 
apply for Medicare certification and Medicaid certification concurrently 
through an accrediting organization.” 

 
♦ Section II—Identifying Information 

 If the “doing business name” (d/b/a) is different from the direct owner/entity 
the d/b/a must be registered with the State of Indiana Office of the Secretary of 
State.  Submit “Certificate of Doing Business Name” document signed by the 
State of Indiana, Office of the Secretary of State that list owner/entity name and 
d/b/a. 

 Email Address:  Please make this address a generic agency address, versus a 
person specific email address.   

 Mailing Address:   This is the address for current and future mailings; if this is a 
temporary address please indicate.  It is the agency’s responsibility to notify the 
Department when the address changes. 

 Types of Home Services to be provided:  Check only the services that you plan to 
provide at the time of your survey; DO NOT check off services that you plan to 
offer in the future. 

 
♦ Section III—Staffing 

 Please note the qualifications for each position shown on the application.  It is 
the provider’s responsibility to ensure that all candidates meet the qualifications, 
as stated on the application, and as required by state and/or federal guidelines 
before submitting the application.  If the applicant does not meet the stated 
qualifications, specifically supervisory and management experience in 
healthcare, the application will be returned.  The provider will be asked to 
submit another candidate for the position.  Please be sure that each resume 
includes job titles, description of supervisory responsibility, number and type of 
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employees supervised, and length of time served in supervisory experience.  Do 
not submit experience that is not relevant to healthcare. 

♦ Section IV—Ownership and Controlling Interest 
 Type of Entity:  How the agency is registered with the Secretary of State 

♦ Section VII—Certification of Application 
 The individual who signs the application form must be either an officer or 

director of the applicant entity (if corporation), or one of the partners (if 
partnership).  If the application is signed by an individual other than an officer, 
director, partner, or sole proprietor, then one o f the officers, directors, partners, 
or sole proprietor, as listed in Item IV (D)(1) and IV (D) (2) of the application 
form, must give that individual written permission, in the form of a notarized 
affidavit, to sign on his her behalf.  A copy of this written permission must be 
included with the application packet. 

 
 


