INITIAL APPLICATION FOR LICENSE TO OPERATE A HOME HEALTH AGENCY

Dear Applicant:

This letter instructs the applicant on how to obtain a license to operate a Home Health Agency.
Prior to operating a Home Health Agency in Indiana, a license must be obtained from the
Indiana Department of Health (“Department”). To obtain a license, the applicant must submit
to the Department a completed application on the designated form, supporting documentation
and $250.00 licensure fee and must be able to show compliance with the licensure statute, IC
16-27.

The Application for License to Operate a Home Health Agency (SF 4008) must be completed in
its entirety and submitted to the Department, along with supporting documents and/or

information and the required $250.00 non-refundable license application fee. Mail the entire

application packet to the Indiana Department of Health addressed as follows:

Indiana State Department of Health
Cashier’s Office
P O Box 7236
Indianapolis, IN 46207

A home health agency’s license to operate expires one (1) year after the date of issuance of
initial license and the license must be renewed annually. The home health agency must
complete a “Renewal Application for License to Operate a Home Health Agency” application (SF
48851), applicant documentation and a non-refundable licensure fee of $250.00 for renewal of
license. The documentation and licensure fee must be submitted at least 60 days, but not
sooner than 90 days before the expiration date of the current license.

If the application is submitted for a Change of Ownership (CHOW) of an existing Home Health
Agency, the application packet, documentation, and non-refundable license fee of $250.00.
The application, documentation and licensure fee must be submitted at least 30 days prior to
the effective date of the CHOW. Submit the applicable purchase agreement with buyer/seller
signatures, identity of corporation and DBA and effective date of transaction.

Submission of the application form and supporting documents within the time frames set out

above will avoid expiration of licensure and/or unnecessary delays in obtaining authority to
operate a new Home Health Agency, or to assume control of an existing Home Health Agency.
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Enclosed is a list of required documentation to be submitted with the initial licensure
application.

Review all the Home Health Agencies State Statute (Law) IC-16-27, Home Health Agencies
State Rules (Administrative Code) 410 IAC 17, “Application for License to Operate a Home
Health Agency” (State Form 4008) and information packet prior to completing and submitting
application to the Department.

If the provider cannot interpret the State Statute IC-16-27 or Rules 410 IAC 17, the provider
may obtain an attorney or consultant for interpretation of the State Statute (Law) IC-16-27
and/or Rules 410 IAC 17. The provider may contact the Indiana Association for Home &
Hospice Care (IAHHC), 6320-G Rucker Road, Indianapolis, IN 46220, telephone number
317/775-6675 to attend a home health 101 training class for home health agencies. The
Indiana Association for Home & Hospice Care (IAHHC) web address is located at www.iahhc.org.

Please include a cover letter with the application to include:

e Contact name

e Telephone number

e Mailing address
In the event additional information is requested the Department needs reliable contact
information.

The application will be reviewed in order received at the Department and as the priority is
dictated by the Division of Acute Care. The review process will be as follows:

e The Department will not accept providers walking in the Department and requesting
immediate review and approval of application and licensure due to provider’s timelines.
The Department will not accept providers calling the Department and requesting
immediate review and approval of application and licensure due to provider’s timelines.
The Department will not accept providers emailing the Department and requesting
immediate review and approval of initial/revised application and licensure due to
provider’s timelines.

The Department will review applications in order received by U.S. mail.

The provider may call to request the status of the application.

All documentation must be received and approved prior to issuing a license.

For faster processing, do not return the application in a binder or enclosed in sheet
protectors. You may use colored sheets of paper to separate documents. The colored
pages may be identified by topic. Do not use tabs.
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If you have any questions regarding the application process contact the program
coordinator at 317/233-7302.

Under Indiana Rule 410 IAC 17-10-1(e), after receiving an acceptable completed application,
fee for licensure, disclosure or ownership and management information and any other
requested information, this Division may issue a letter of approval to operate a home health
agency, not to exceed 90 days, pending an on-site inspection (survey) by the Division.

Upon receipt of a letter of approval to operate a home health agency, the applicant should
be ready for inspection as soon as possible. Per 410 IAC 17-10-1(e), the facility must
provide the service(s) which they have specified on the application prior to the inspection
and must have three (3) active patients for record review. Licenses issued by the
Department to operate home health agencies will be based upon the results of a survey
conducted by Department representatives to determine compliance with the requirements
of 410 IAC 17-9 et seq. If the Division finds that the applicant is not in compliance with all
applicable state and/or federal statutes and rules at the time of the initial licensure survey,
the approval to operate a home health will be terminated. Upon termination of the

approval to operate, the applicant must cease operations. If the applicant chooses to
resubmit an application, it may submit a request for reapplication form with the applicable
documentation at any time after notification of termination of approval to operate.

If the application is submitted for renewal of license, the application packet and licensure
fee must be submitted at least 60 days prior, but not sooner than 90 days before the

expiration date of the current license.
If the application is submitted for a Change of Ownership (CHOW) of an existing HHA, the
application packet and license fee must be submitted at least 30 days prior to the effective

date of the CHOW.

Submission of the application form and supporting documents within the time frames set

out above will avoid expiration of licensure and/or unnecessary delays in obtaining

authority to operate a new HHA, or to assume control of an existing HHA.




Don’t
FORGET!

0@

IMPORTANT!!!!

v' In order to expedite your application make sure the application is
accurate and complete. If the application is not completed accurately
and/or documentation is missing it hinders and delays the processing of

the application.

Ensure that all forms in this application packet, including duplicate
forms, have original signatures. The initial licensure application cannot
be processed until the Division has received all of the required forms

and documentation.
Review all rules and regulation BEFORE submitting your application to
the Indiana State Department of Health.




LICENSURE APPLICATION (State Form 4008)

The Department is requesting the following information to be included with the initial licensure
“Application for License to Operate a Home Health Agency” (State Form 4008) to facilitate the

approval and to process the application.
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Licensure Application

¢ Submit all documentation requested on the licensure application and in this letter. The
“Application for License to Operate a Home Health Agency” (State Form 4008) is
available on the Indiana State Department of Health’s website at
http://www.in.gov/isdh/20125.htm for the provider to complete the form online, print,
sign and submit with required documentation. Complete the application and return

with the required documentation.

Licensure Fee

¢ A non-refundable $250.00 licensure fee made payable to the Indiana State Department
of Health.

Secretary of State (SOS)

¢ Submit applicable document from the Indiana Secretary of State (SOS).

= |f a limited Partnership, submit a copy of the “Application for Registration” and
“Certificate of Registration” signed by the Indiana Secretary of State.

If a Corporation, submit a copy of the “Articles of Incorporation” and “Certificate
of Incorporation” signed by the Indiana Secretary of State.

If applicant is an out of state corporation (foreign corporation), submit a copy of
the “Certificate of Authority” to do business in the State of Indiana signed by the
Indiana Secretary of State.

If a Limited Liability Company, submit a copy of the “Articles of Organization”
and the “Certificate of Organization” signed by the Indiana Secretary of State.

If the “doing business as” (d/b/a) name is different from the corporation’s (direct
owner) name submit “Certificate of Assumed Business Name” or “Articles of
Incorporation” that list the owner and d/b/a name signed by the Indiana
Secretary of State.

Internal Revenue Service

¢ Submit a document from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) that reflects the legal
entity’s name and EIN number. Do not send a request form that the provider

6|Page



http://www.in.gov/isdh/20125.htm

completed requesting an EIN number. The document must be from the Internal
Revenue Service (IRS) that reflects legal name and EIN number.

Criminal History Checks

¢ Submit current copies of an expanded or national criminal history check for the
administrator, alternate administrator, nursing supervisor, alternate nursing supervisor,
and owners/officers.

Ensure that the agency conducts a national criminal history or an expanded criminal
history check on all employees. Review IC 16-27-2 on criminal history checks for the
requirements to operate a home health agency in Indiana.

¢ The expanded criminal history check and national criminal history check are defined as:

= |C 16-27-2-0.5—Expanded Criminal History Check Defined

Sec.0.5. Expanded Criminal History Check means a criminal history check of an

individual, obtained through a private agency that includes the following:

(1) A search of the records maintained by all counties in Indiana in which the
individual who is the subject of the background check resided.

(2) A search of the records maintained by all counties or similar governmental
units in another state, if the individual who is the subject of the background
check resided in another state.

IC 16-27-2-2.1—National Criminal History Background Check Defined

Sec.2.1. National Criminal History Background Check means the determination

provided by the State Police Department under IC 10-13-3-39(i).

Licensure Application (State Form 4008) helpful hints:

¢ Section I—Type of Application

®  Please check the appropriate box for the type of application the agency is
submitting.
"  Medicare
v Please note that the State cannot conduct your survey for Medicare and
that you will have to go through an accrediting organization for Medicare.
v If you plan to apply for Medicare in addition to state licensure, you must
check the box for Medicare at the top of the application, return all applicable
forms and submit a statement in writing to this office along with your




application. The note should read as follows — example: “ABC Healthcare
facility plans to apply for Medicare through an accrediting organization, but
would like the State to conduct my survey for state license only OR for state
license and Medicaid”.
Check the appropriate box for Medicaid too, if applicable. The state can conduct
the Medicaid survey along with the state license survey, or you have the option
to have the accrediting organization conduct the Medicaid survey along with the
Medicare. Your note should be specific in regard to who you would like to
have conduct the Medicaid survey, it you plan for Medicaid as well.

¢ Section ll—Identifying Information

If the “doing business name” (d/b/a) is different from the direct owner/entity
the d/b/a must be registered with the State of Indiana Office of the Secretary of
State. Submit “Certificate of Doing Business Name” document signed by the
State of Indiana, Office of the Secretary of State that list owner/entity name and
d/b/a.

Email Address: Please make this address a generic facility address, versus a
person specific email address.

Mailing Address: This is the address for current and future mailings; if this is a
temporary address please indicate. It is the agency’s responsibility to notify the
Department when the address changes.

Types of Home Services to be provided: Check only the services that you plan to
provide at the time of your survey; DO NOT check off services that you plan to
offer in the future.

¢ Section lll—Staffing

Please note the qualifications for each position shown on the application. Itis
the provider’s responsibility to ensure that all candidates meet the qualifications,
as stated on the application, and as required by state and/or federal guidelines
before submitting the application. If the applicant does not meet the stated
qualifications, specifically supervisory and management experience in
healthcare, the application will be returned. The provider will be asked to
submit another candidate for the position. Please be sure that each resume
includes job titles, description of supervisory responsibility, number and type of
employees supervised, and length of time served in supervisory experience. Do
not submit experience that is not relevant to healthcare.




¢ Section IV—Ownership and Controlling Interest

®  Type of Entity: How the agency is registered with the Secretary of State

¢ Section Vil—Certification of Application
= The individual who signs the application form must be either an officer or

director of the applicant entity (if corporation), or one of the partners (if
partnership). If the application is signed by an individual other than an officer,
director, partner, or sole proprietor, then one o f the officers, directors, partners,
or sole proprietor, as listed in Item IV (D)(1) and IV (D) (2) of the application
form, must give that individual written permission, in the form of a notarized
affidavit, to sign on his her behalf. A copy of this written permission must be
included with the application packet.




