Adoption Matching Registry

Effective July 1, 2018, unless a form has been filed to prevent record availability, identifying adoption information is available to eligible individuals by registration with the Adoption Matching Registry. Please note it may take 12-16 weeks to process requests after receipt due to high volume.

Press Release June 29, 2018: New Law Impacting Adoption Records Takes Effect July 1

Indiana initiated an Adoption History Program in 1988 (IC 31-19-18) to allow for the release of medical, non-identifying, and identifying information.

To request information from the Adoption History Program, related individuals may register with the Adoption Matching Registry. Individuals eligible to register include an adult adoptee, adoptive parent, birth parent, and birth sibling. Spouses and relatives of the deceased adoptee or deceased birth parent may register with the appropriate proof of relationship. An individual must be 18 years or older to register. To receive adoption information, the individual seeking information must be at least 21 years old, and complete both forms, identifying and non-identifying.

A request may be submitted to obtain non-identifying information by completing and submitting Form 47897. A request may be submitted to obtain identifying information by completing and submitting Form 47896. Identifying information can be released to adult adoptees as long as a birth parent has not filed a contact preference form to keep the information confidential. Identifying information can be released to birth parents only when both the adult adoptee and the birth parent register. A birth parent, or parents, may restrict the release of identifying information by completing and submitting Form 56535.

Frequently Asked Questions

What forms do I need to complete to get my original birth certificate and adoption records?

Please click on the links below to download the required forms.

Is there a fee?

No.

Is there an ID requirement?

Yes, a government issued ID must accompany the forms. Examples include:

  • Driver's license/State ID
  • Passport
  • Department of Corrections ID

Is there an age requirement?

Yes, the registrant must be at least 18 years of age to register.

Can anyone get the records?

The adoptee must be 21 years of age and must consent to release the records.

Are the Indiana adoption records public?

No, Indiana adoption records are sealed by the court.

Can my records be restricted?

Yes, the birth parents may keep the records sealed by submitting State Form 56535: Birth Parent Contact Preference Form.

 

Please direct any further questions to VRAdoptionRegistry@isdh.in.gov.