

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

December 6, 2016

## Indiana Prosecutors Recognize Excellence In Criminal Justice

(Indianapolis) - Indiana's Attorney General-Elect Curtis T. Hill, Jr., was recipient of the **Eugene "Shine" Feller Award** from the Association of Indiana Prosecuting Attorneys, Inc., Monday, December 5 during the annual winter conference of Indiana prosecutors in Indianapolis. Mr. Feller was a career prosecutor and an early proponent of better training for prosecutors. The award in his honor recognizes individuals for outstanding contributions on behalf of prosecuting attorneys and law enforcement in the state of Indiana.

Mr. Hill is presently serves as Elkhart County's Prosecuting Attorney. He was nominated for the honor by Allen County Prosecutor Karen Richards who cited Hill's service to the people of Elkhart County and to his service to prosecutors in Indiana and, through his various roles with the National District Attorneys' Association, his contributions to prosecutors around from the country. He is the first Indiana Attorney General in many years to be elected from the office of prosecutor and received the most votes of any candidate for any office in Indiana history.

Scott County Prosecutor Jason M. Mount was recipient of the Indiana Prosecuting Attorneys Council's **Stephen J. Johnson Award**. Named for IPAC's former executive director who spent his entire 38-year career with the state agency, the award is presented to an individual who demonstrates the same level of professional dedication and excellence as did Johnson. Nominated by Jefferson County Prosecuting Attorney Chad Lewis, Prosecutor Mount demonstrated excellence in criminal justice. Additionally, he has been a community leader and a leader in the legal profession. While serving as a prosecutor, Mr. Mount has raised the public profile of Indiana prosecutors. He has been elected judge of Scott Circuit Court and will assume that office in January.

The Prosecuting Attorneys Council also presented awards in the areas of legislative excellence, law enforcement, victim advocacy, and prosecutor's office support. The Council also recognized Indiana prosecutors and staff members for 10, 20 and 30-year service. Award winners are:

**Law Enforcement** - Anderson Police Officer Marty Dulworth and St. Joseph County Metro Homicide Unit Commander Tim Corbett.

 Nominated by Madison County Prosecutor Rodney Cummings, Officer Marty Dulworth was wounded in the line of duty and his K-9 Kilo killed. Officer Dulworth subsequently lost his lower leg and wears a prosthesis. He is still an officer with the Anderson Police Department.  Nominated by St. Joseph County Prosecutor Kenneth Cotter, Tim Corbett assumed command of the specialized unit following retirement from the South Bend Police Department. His unit has solved and seen prosecuted 85% of all assigned homicides. Subsequently, the prosecutor's office has achieved a conviction rate in 95% of those cases.

**Legislative Excellence** – Sen. Jean Leising and Rep. Tom Wasburne, nominated by Dearborn/Ohio County Prosecutor Aaron Negangard.

- Sen. Leising has been an ally of prosecutors and law enforcement in opposing the legalization of marijuana. She is a staunch advocate for public safety and includes prosecutors in the ongoing debate related to CBD/Hemp oil and marijuana.
- Rep. Washburne is chair of the House Courts and Criminal Code Committee. He has assisted in securing legislative criminal code fixes and has supported hearing of criminal code and public safety bills.

**Victim's Advocate** – Morgan County Prosecutor Steven Sonnega nominated Marlene Tyler-Black. She has worked tirelessly advocating for the rights of crime victims in Morgan County courts and within the community. She goes out of her way to talk and listen to victims, arrange for medical and counseling services, explain the protective order process, coordinate with shelters and has made "house calls" to victims when transportation was an issue.

**Kathy Faulkner Richey Award** – Office managers Madonna Carroll of Hendricks County and Susan Sauer of Marshall County received awards in recognition of their tremendous service as office administrators. Kathy Faulkner Richey was office administrator for the IPAC for 38 years.

- Nominated by Hendricks County Prosecutor Patricia Baldwin, Madonna Carroll has been with the office for nearly 30 years, through explosive growth in the county and through a corresponding increase in the prosecutor's office staff. Ms. Carroll has always set the standard by working outside of office hours at public safety events and by assisting crime victims.
- Nominated by Marshall County Prosecutor Nelson Chipman, Jr., Susan Sauer has survived management styles and organization of three different prosecutors and shoulders a tremendous amount of responsibility, all completed with consistently outstanding timeliness and with attention to detail. She recalls defendants, case facts, families, case resolutions and victims in Marshall County over the span of her career.

Indiana prosecutors with more than **30 years of service** were also honored. They include: Allen County Prosecutor Karen E. Richards (35 years), St. Joseph County Chief Deputy Thomas Sanders (30 years) and Tippecanoe County Deputy Prosecutor Timothy Kern (35 years).

**About the Indiana Prosecuting Attorneys Council:** The IPAC is a non-partisan, independent state judicial branch agency that supports Indiana's 91 prosecuting attorneys and their chief deputies. It is governed by a 10-member board of directors of elected prosecuting attorneys. The IPAC assists prosecuting attorneys in the preparation of manuals, legal research and training seminars. It serves as a liaison to local, state, and federal agencies, study commissions, and community groups in an effort to support law enforcement and promote the fair administration of justice.

Media contact: Connie Smith, Public Affairs Officer, 317-233-3923, cosmith1@ipac.in.gov