2015 IPAC Awards

December 10, 2015

2015 IPAC Awards Photos

Indiana Prosecutors Present
Stephen Johnson Award to Robert R. Cline
Also Recognize Excellence in Law Enforcement,
Victim Advocacy and the Indiana General Assembly

The Indiana Prosecuting Attorneys Council held an awards ceremony during its annual Winter Conference, Dec. 7-9, in Indianapolis. The IPAC Stephen Johnson Award was presented to Morgan County Chief Deputy Prosecutor Robert R. Cline. This award, named in the honor and memory of the organization’s longtime executive director Stephen Johnson, is the organization’s highest honor that is presented to an elected, chief deputy, deputy or senior prosecutor that has displayed superior service resulting in a significant contribution to public safety. Chief Deputy Cline was nominated by Morgan County Prosecutor Steven Sonnega.

Indiana Prosecutors also recognized excellence among law enforcement, victims’ advocacy and the Indiana General Assembly during the awards ceremony. Awards were presented to:

  • Mary Fox as Outstanding Victims’ Advocate. Cass County Prosecutor Lisa Swaim nominated Mary Fox, her compassion and dedication to assisting crime victims through the criminal system and for assisting the prosecutor’s staff in preparing cases.
  • Terry Hall received one of two Law Enforcement Awards. Wabash County Prosecutor William C. Hartley, Jr. nominated the retired Indianapolis Metropolitan Police Officer who presents a body safety program throughout the state to children and adults. Prosecutor Hartley said every time Hall speaks in Wabash County, a new case of inappropriate contact comes to light.
  • Fortville Police Officer Marlin “Doug” Durbin received a second Law Enforcement Award. Hancock County Prosecutor Brent Eaton nominated Durbin for his dedication to helping the Hancock County Prosecutor’s office prepare cases for trial and for his patience with and an ability to relate to crime victims, particularly a child who was a crime victim but who would only speak with Officer Durbin.
  • Indiana State Representative Gregory Steurewald received one of two Legislative Excellence Awards. Hendricks County Prosecutor Patricia Baldwin nominated Rep. Steurewald who was author of the new Indiana Criminal Code which became effective July 1, 2014 because he worked tirelessly to accomplish that legislative milestone.
  • Indiana State Senator Brent Steele received a second Legislative Excellence Award. Washington County Prosecutor Dustin Houchin nominated Sen. Steele who championed legislation to combat the scourge of meth labs that has made Indiana the number one state in the nation for the potentially explosive drug making method.

Indiana prosecutors with 30 years’ service were also honored during the conference. Fourteen Indiana prosecutors and/or deputy prosecutors were recognized for 30 or more years of service:

  • Kathleen Burns, chief deputy prosecutor, Bartholomew County
  • Bruce Petit, deputy prosecutor, Boone County
  • John H. Myers, chief deputy prosecutor, Clinton County
  • Lynn Liggett, deputy prosecutor, Delaware County
  • Melvin F. Wilhelm, prosecutor, Franklin County
  • Richard A. Brown, prosecutor, Fulton County
  • James D. Luttrull, Jr., prosecutor, Grant County
  • Patricia A. Baldwin, prosecutor, Hendricks County
  • William Welch, IV-D prosecutor, Indiana Prosecuting Attorneys Council
  • Donald Frey, deputy prosecutor, Jackson County
  • Robert Hagee, deputy prosecutor, Morgan County
  • Robert Andree, chief deputy prosecutor, Owen County
  • Alfred H. Plummer III, deputy prosecutor, Wabash County
  • John H. Larson, prosecutor, Warren County


Indiana Prosecuting Attorneys Council Contact:

Connie Smith
Public Affairs Officer