3rd Brigade

Patriots Tertiae - Patriots of the Third

COL Kevin M. McElyea

The Third Brigade, Indiana Guard Reserve, "Patriots of the Third", is headquartered in Bedford, Indiana and encompasses the Southwestern quarter of Indiana. Its members come from a variety of backgrounds. Most are prior service personnel from various branches of military service including retired Reserve Component members. All have a common interest - to continue to serve their country and the State of Indiana as members of an authorized state military organization.

The Third Brigade, Indiana Guard Reserve, welcomes all interested individuals who share their same interests of continued service to their community, the State of Indiana and their country. Please take a few minutes to find how you can continue the tradition of service by becoming a proud member of the Indiana Guard Reserve.

Third Brigade Command and Staff Personnel

Commander COL Kevin M. McElyea  
Executive Officer LTC Paul W. Fagin  
Command Sergeant Major CSM Mike Heshelman  
Chaplain CPT Mark A. Schlechtly  
Medical Officer SGM Ken Street  
S-1 Personnel Officer MAJ Newton G. Talley  
S-3 Operations CPT Clayton W. Goad  
S-4 Logistics CPT Bryan Kovener  
S-6 Information Resources MAJ Newton G. Talley  
Recruiting Officer 2LT Joe DeFrancisci  
Recruiting Sergeant SGT Joe Slaughter  
SAR Officer CPT Bryan Kovener  
SAR NCO SFC Jeff King  
MEMS Academy Instructor SFC Jeff King  
Ceremonial Unit NCOIC SFC Jeff King  

Other Area Commanders and Sergeants Major:

First Battalion - Bloomington

Commander CPT Michael J. Dean
Sergeant Major 1SG Thomas L. Conklin

Second Battalion - Evansville

Commander (vacant)
Sergeant Major SGM Ken Street

Third Battalion - Jasper

Commander LTC John R. Fish
Sergeant Major SGM Michael E. Moore

Fourth Battalion - Terre Haute

Commander (vacant)
Sergeant Major (vacant)