PLEASE NOTE: None of these state agencies may recommend a practitioner (doctor, nurse,
etc.) a nursing home, a hospital, or home health service. Likewise, none of the agencies can
offer advice, legal or otherwise, to the public. They may provide information that may help
you make a decision.
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Licensure Questions

Is my health care practitioner licensed?
(HPB) (888) 333-7515

Is my Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA)
certified?
(SDH) (317) 233-7442 or (317) 233-7612

Has any action taken place against my health
care practitioner’s license?

What kind of education and training does
this practitioner need in order to be
licensed?

(HPB) (317) 232-2960

Where do I get information
about state law
requirements for health

care entities?

Nursing Homes: ........... (ISDH) (317) 233-7442
Hospitals:....................... (ISDH) .(317) 233-7474
Home Health Agencies: (ISDH) (317) 233-7474

Pharmacies: ................... (HPB) (317) 232-2960

Where do I get informati’vdn" about:

* Malpractice claims against a health care
provider... ;

¢ The patient’s compensation fund

Contact the Indiana Department 6f
Insurance (IDOI) at (317) 232-2402
or (317) 232-5253.

What if I have a complaint?

If you have a problem with a health care
practitioner you may file a complaint with
the Attorney General’s Consumer Protection
Division. The disciplinary action will be filed
with the state board or committee that
issued the practitioner’s license.

A disciplinary action can result in the
practitioner’s license being revoked or
suspended or in the practitioner being
placed on probation or reprimanded. Among
the reasons for disciplinary action are
incompetence, physical or mental disability,
addition to or abuse of alcohol or drugs, and
lewd or immoral conduct.

If you have information, or otherwise believe
that a health care professional is doing or
not doing something that may cause harm to
you or another person, you should file a
complaint with the Attorney General’s office.
These complaints must be made in writing.

To send a letter describing your complaint
or to request a complaint form, call
(317) 232-6330 or (800) 382-5516.

What are my rights for
getting medical
information?

A health care provider may not withhold
patient records, even if a patient has an
outstanding bill. The patient must request
copies of records in writing and include the
following information:

¢ Patient’s name and address

® Date of the request

¢ Name and address of the person or entity
to receive records

¢ Statement that the consent for release may
be revoked

» A date the consent will expire-up to 60
days

¢ Patient’s signature

A provider may charge the patient 25¢ per
page, with the option to charge a $15
retrieval fee and a $10 fee to provide records
within two days. There are additional rules
that apply to obtaining copies of mental
health records, records of communicable
diseases and certain drug and alcohol abuse
patient records.

How do I file a complaint
about Medical Malpractice?

The Indiana Patient’s Compensation Fund
has the forms and information necessary to
bring a claim of medical negligence against
an Indiana Health Care Provider. Contact the
Indiana Department of Insurance (IDOI) at
(317) 232-2402 or (317) 232-5253. For
complaints about HMOs or health insurance,
call (317) 232-2426, or in-state (800) 622-4461.

How do I file a complaint
against regulated health
care entities?

Nursing Home: .............. (ISDH) (800) 246-8909
Hospital: ...ccooeeveevevnvnnnene (ISDH) (800) 246-8909
Pharmacy:......cccccoeeuennenn. (HPB) (317) 232-2960

Complaints to the Indiana State Department
of Health can be made via the telephone or
fax at (317) 233-7442.




