

For immediate release

IDOC Commissioner Recognizes Staff for Excellence

Indianapolis, IN (October 17, 2011) – On Thursday October 6, 2011, Indiana Department of Correction (IDOC) leaders and staff gathered during the 2011 Indiana Correctional Association (ICA) Conference to recognize their own for outstanding contributions to the operations, administrative, and re-entry efforts of the Department.

The awards were presented during the annual joint ICA/Commissioner's Luncheon in Merryville, IN.

Most notably, IDOC Commissioner Bruce Lemmon named Miami Correctional Facility Superintendent Mark Sevier the 2011 Superintendent of the Year.

Other award winners included:

Re-entry Employee of the Year – Alexis (Dean) Evens, Indianapolis Re-entry Educational Facility
Administrative Support Staff of the Year – Jennifer Logan, Edinburgh Correctional Facility
Corrections Supervisor of the Year - Karl Pruett, Camp Summit Boot Camp
Correctional Professional of the Year - Jason Miller, Putnamville Correctional Facility
Parole Division Employee of the Year - Klorissa Moody, Parole District #8 (South Bend)
Chaplain of the Year - Terry Harman, Indiana State Prison
Human Resources Employee of the Year - Terry Tackett, Wabash Valley Correctional Facility
Physical Plant Employee of the Year - Cindy Brown, Branchville Correctional Facility
Rising Star Award - Steven Scholz, Wabash Valley Correctional Facility
Distinguished Service Award - Ernest Huff, Westville Correctional Facility
Industries Professional of the Year - Tanya Zimmerman, Miami Correctional Facility

Commissioner Lemmon commented, "These individuals exemplify the leadership, dedication, and excellence that we look for in our staff. It means a great deal to me that we take the time to honor and congratulate our outstanding employees who consistently go above and beyond."

###

Media Contact:

Douglas S. Garrison

Chief Communications Officer Indiana Department of Correction 317.232.5780 dsgarrison@idoc.in.gov