Language Translation
  Close Menu

Executive Offices

  • Indiana’s Lieutenant Governor is second in command for the state. As stated in the Indiana Constitution, the officer serves as president of the Senate and “whenever the Senate shall be equally divided, he shall give the casting vote.” Today our Lt. Governor also serves as head of 5 departments, chairs 4 committees and has 2 appointments controlling major state government agencies.
  • The Secretary of State is Indiana’s chief election officer. Other responsibilities of the office include keeping permanent records of official state documents, chartering new businesses, monitoring business activity and authenticating documents by affixing the state seal.
  • The Treasurer of Indiana is the custodian of all state revenues. Primarily the treasurer is responsible for investing the state portfolio. The treasurer also oversees the Indiana Education Savings Authority, the Indiana Bond Bank, and Indiana Board of Depositories.
  • The Auditor of Indiana is the chief financial officer for the state of Indiana. The Auditor is responsible for acting as state bookkeeper; paying all the state’s bills, issuing state employee paychecks, accounting for state funds, and dispersing tax revenues to cities, towns, and counties.
  • The Attorney General is Indiana’s lawyer and represents the state in any legal challenges. The office consists of nine divisions: Advisory, Appeals, Consumer Protection, Investigation, Litigation, Medicaid Fraud, Solicitor General, Tax Practice and Unclaimed Property.
  • As Indiana’s chief school officer, the Superintendent of Public Instruction plays an important role in developing state education policy for schools kindergarten through high school. This executive position was created in Indiana’s 1851 constitution.

 Top FAQs