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Indiana WIC Program 

Indiana State Department of Health 
 

Reporting Suspected Child Abuse or Neglect 
 

Policy 
 

State of Indiana juvenile code requires an individual report to the local 
Indiana Department of Child Services/Child Protective Services (CPS) 

office when there is reason to believe that a child is a victim of child 
abuse or neglect.   WIC regulations allow for this disclosure of 

confidential applicant or client information to the extent necessary to 
comply with state laws pertaining to the reporting of suspected child 

abuse or neglect. 
 

Authority 

 
Indiana Code: IC 31-33-5 Duty to report; IC 31-9-2-14 “Child abuse 

or neglect”; IC 31-34-1 Circumstances under which a child is a Child in 
Need of Services 

7 CFR Part 246.26(d)(3) 
  

Procedures 
 

I. CPS must be contacted: 
 

A. when a minor applicant/client  
 reports him/herself, or is reported by someone else, 

to be physically or sexually abused;  
 displays physical characteristics and/or emotional 

behavior and/or has medical indicators that are 

symptomatic of physical or sexual abuse;  
 

B. any time a prenatal/postpartum mother is < 14 years of 
age (no minor under the age of 14 can consent to 

anything); or  
C. when a prenatal mother is > 14 and <16 years of age and 

the alleged father is 18 years of age or older (the age of 
consent in the state of Indiana is 16).  

D. any time a child is determined to be a Child in Need of 
Services (CHINS) under IC 31-34-1.   

 
II. Reporting should be handled through the local agency legal 

counsel or local agency director.  
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III. The State WIC Office must be contacted when CPS has been 
called regarding a case of suspected abuse or neglect 

 
IV. The local agency should contact the local Indiana Child Protective 

Services (CPS) for staff training on how to detect and when to 
report child abuse and neglect.  

 
Specific code can be found at www.in.gov/legislative/ic/code/ 

http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/code/

