Close Menu

Main Content

Solid Waste Operator Certification

Individuals responsible for operation of the following solid waste facilities are required have a valid operator certification:

  1. Permitted solid waste incinerators and waste-to-energy facilities
  2. Permitted municipal and nonmunicipal solid waste land disposal facilities
  3. Permitted restricted waste sites and construction/demolition sites

The operators must have a valid certification until final closure of the facility.

The following operators are considered to be certified operators and therefore, need not apply for the operator certification from OLQ:

  • Operators of permitted hazardous waste treatment, storage, and disposal facilities (TSDFs) that comply with the training requirements of the hazardous waste rules (329 IAC 3.1-9)
  • Operators of permitted municipal solid waste incinerators defined in 329 IAC 11-2-16 that complies with the training requirements in 326 IAC 11-7-5.

Solid waste Management facilities must have a certified operator present or available by phone at all times.

There are 4 categories of operator certifications, depending on the type of operation. The training and examination requirements for different classification of operator certification are specified in 329 IAC 12.

News and FAQs

Top FAQs