Close Menu

Main Content

MS4s Administering a Construction Program

Phase I, MS4

The City of Indianapolis is a Phase I community and has authority to regulate storm water run-off control from active construction sites and post construction activities within all of Marion County, except for the Cities of Beech Grove, Lawrence, Southport and Speedway. The City of Indianapolis has established provisions in Chapters 100 (policies that address the quality of storm water run-off), 600 (erosion and sediment control) and 700 (design standards) of the city’s Storm Water Design and Construction Specifications Manual that provide detailed requirements for compliance with the local program.

Under an agreement with the City of Indianapolis, the Marion County Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD) is provided the opportunity to comment on submitted Construction Plans, but the actual review of the plans is conducted by the City of Indianapolis. Once a plan is approved, a copy is required to be submitted to the Marion County SWCD. As part of the agreement, the SWCD will also conduct site inspections for erosion and sediment control on behalf of the City.

The City of Indianapolis receives a permit fee, separate from that of Rule 5, and issues its own permits for construction activities. Project site owners are still required to submit an NOI letter, proof of publication, permit fee, and Construction Plan approval verification from the review authority (in this case, the City of Indianapolis or their designated agent) to IDEM at least 48 hours prior to the start of land-disturbing activities.

Phase II MS4 Entities

MS4s with a Certified Construction Program are listed in the table below.
Construction plans are required to be submitted to the MS4. Plans should be submitted according to protocol established by the MS4 and in accordance with the MS4 ordinance. Contact information for the MS4 can be obtained at Designated MS4 Entities Currently Permitted.

MS4s that are highlighted have not submitted a Construction Certification.
Plans are to be submitted to the (SWCD/IDEM) according to protocol for established for compliance with 327 IAC 15-5 (Rule 5).

Note: Construction projects that are located on the property or are associated with colleges, universities, and the state and federal prison System are considered to be owned and operated by the MS4. Therefore, plans must be submitted to the (SWCD/IDEM) according to protocol for implementation of 327 IAC 15-5 (Rule 5).

County MS4 Entity
Adams Decatur, City of
Allen Fort Wayne, City of; IU/PU-Fort Wayne, Ivy Tech State College-Northeast, Indiana Institute of Technology, University of Saint Francis
Allen New Haven, City of
Allen Allen County; Huntertown, Town of; Leo-Cedarville, Town of
Bartholomew Bartholomew County
Bartholomew Columbus, City of
Boone Zionsville, Town of
Boone Lebanon, City of
Cass Logansport, City of
Clark Oak Park Conservancy District
Clark Clarksville, Town of
Clark Sellersburg, Town of
Clark Jeffersonville, City of
Clark Clark County
Clinton Frankfort, City of
Daviess Washington, City of
Dearborn Hidden Valley Lake CDP (Dearborn County)
Decatur Greensburg, City of
Dekalb Auburn, City of
Delaware Delaware County, Ivy Tech State College-Muncie
Delaware Yorktown, Town of
Delaware Ball State University
Delaware Muncie, City of
Delaware Daleville, Town of
Dubois Jasper, City of
Elkhart Elkhart County, City of Elkhart, City of Goshen, Town of Bristol
Fayette Connersville, City of
Floyd IU -Southeast (New Albany)
Floyd New Albany, City of
Floyd Floyd County
Floyd Georgetown, Town of
Grant Marion, City of Indiana Wesleyan University
Hamilton Arcadia, Town of
Hamilton Fishers, Town of
Hamilton Hamilton County; Cicero, Town of; Carmel, City of
Hamilton Westfield Public Works
Hamilton Noblesville, City of
Hancock McCordsville, Town of
Hancock Greenfield, City of
Hancock New Palestine, Town of
Hancock Fortville, Town of
Hancock Hancock County
Hendricks Hendricks County
Hendricks Brownsburg, Town of
Hendricks Plainfield, Town of
Hendricks Plainfield Correctional Facility
Hendricks Danville, Town of
Hendricks Pittsboro, Town of
Hendricks Avon, Town of
Henry New Castle, City of
Howard Howard County
Howard Kokomo, City of
Howard IU -Kokomo
Huntington Huntington, City of
Jackson Seymour, City of
Jefferson Madison, City of
Johnson Bargersville, Town of
Johnson Greenwood, City of
Johnson New Whiteland, Town of
Johnson Johnson County
Johnson Whiteland, Town of
Johnson Franklin, City of
Johnson Edinburgh, Town of
Knox Vincennes, City of
Kosciusko Warsaw, City of
Lake Lakes of the Four Seasons POA
Lake Munster, Town of
Lake New Chicago, Town of
Lake Lowell, Town of
Lake St. John, Town of
Lake Merrillville, Town of
Lake Crown Point, City of
Lake Dyer, Town of
Lake Cedar Lake, Town of
Lake Lake Station, City of
Lake Gary, City of; Ivy Tech State College-Northwest
Lake Griffith, Town of
Lake Schererville, Town of
Lake Lake County
Lake Hobart, City of
Lake Highland, Town of
Lake East Chicago, City of
Lake IU -Northwest (Gary)
Lake Hammond, City of
LaPorte LaPorte County; LaPorte, City of Michigan City, City of; Trail Creek, Town of Long Beach, Town of
LaPorte Indiana State Prison-Michigan City
Lawrence Bedford, City of
Madison Pendleton, Town of
Madison Anderson, City of Anderson University
Madison Ingalls, Town of
Madison Madison County
Madison Pendleton Correctional Facility, Correctional Industrial Facility
Madison Alexandria, City of
Madison Chesterfield, Town of
Madison-Marion Edgewood, Town of
Marion Southport, City of
Marion Cumberland, Town of
Marion Speedway, Town of
Marion Lawrence, City of
Marion Beech Grove, City of
Marion Morgan Hendricks Tri-County Conservancy District
Marshall Plymouth, City of
Miami Peru, City of
Monroe Ivy Tech State College-Bloomington
Monroe Ellettsville, Town of
Monroe Monroe County
Monroe Indiana University-Bloomington
Monroe Bloomington, City of
Montgomery Crawfordsville, City of
Morgan Mooresville, Town of
Morgan Brooklyn, Town of
Morgan Martinsville, City of
Morgan Morgan County
Noble Kendallville, City of
Porter Chesterton, Town of
Porter Twin Creeks Conservancy District
Porter Portage, City of
Porter Valparaiso Lakes Conservancy District
Porter Porter, Town of
Porter Porter County
Porter (Abderdeen) Nature Works CD
Porter Valparaiso, City of; Valparaiso University
Putman Greencastle, City of; DePauw University
Shelby Shelbyville, City of
St. Joseph St. Joseph County, Town of Osceola, Town of Roseland
St. Joseph Notre Dame, University of
St. Joseph Mishawaka, City of; Bethel College
St. Joseph South Bend, City of; Ivy Tech State College - North Central
St. Joseph Saint Mary’s College
St. Joseph IU -South Bend
Steuben Angola, City of; Tri-State University
Tippecanoe Tippecanoe County, City of Lafayette, City of West Lafayette, Purdue University, Town of Battle Ground, Town of Dayton, Ivy Tech State College-Lafayette
Vanderburgh Southern Indiana, University of
Vanderburgh Vanderburgh County
Vanderburgh Evansville, City of
Vanderburgh Evansville, University of
Vanderburgh Ivy Tech State College-Southwest
Vigo Terre Haute, City of; West Terre Haute, Town of; Vigo County, Town of Seelyville, Indiana State University, Ivy Tech State College-Wabash Valley, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology, Honey Creek-Vigo Conservancy District
Vigo US Penitentiary-Terre Haute
Wabash Wabash, City of
Wabash Chandler, Town of
Warrick Newburgh, Town of
Warrick Warrick County
Wayne Richmond, City of; Earlham College
Wayne IU - East (Richmond)
Whitley Columbia City, City of

News and FAQs

Top FAQs