Recycling Market Development Board

The Recycling Market Development Board, as established by IC 4-23-5.5, approves grants for business projects involving the creation of new products and new markets for products made from recycled materials.

The Board consists of nine voting members, who are appointed by the governor's office, as well as seven non-voting ex officio members:

Current Voting Members:

Harvey Abramowitz
Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Purdue University Northwest

Bruce Burrow
Rumpke of IN LLC, Southern District

Jie Chen, Ph.D.
IUPUI, Professor and Chair, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Director DOE Industrial Assessment Center

Matt Gratz
City of Fort Wayne, Solid Waste/Recycling Manager

Terry L. Guerin
Southside Landfill Inc., National Waste and Recycling Association, Midwest Region, Chapter Leader

Mike Hiday
Vice President, Green Wave Computer Recycling

Clay Turner
Executive Director, LaPorte County Solid Waste District

Kelly Weger
Purdue Manufacturing Extension Partnership (MEP), Lead Service Manager, Sustainability

Tara Wesseler-Henry
Indiana Department of Agriculture, District Support Specialist, Division of Soil Conservation

Ex Oficio Advisory Members (Non-voting):

  • Governor (or their representative)
  • Director of DNR (or their representative)
  • Commissioner of IDEM (or their representative)
  • Two members of the House of Representatives (each of opposite party)
  • Two members of the senate (each of opposite party)