Language Translation
  Close Menu

Your vote decides the 2018 Best of Indiana State Parks & Recreation Areas Museums and Burgers

INDIANAPOLIS (August 31, 2018) –Lt. Governor Suzanne Crouch and the Indiana Office of Tourism Development (IOTD) announced today that voting is now open for the 2018 Best of Indiana people's choice campaign, where Hoosiers can now vote for Indiana’s Best State Parks and Recreation AreasBest Museums and Best Burgers.

“You may find it difficult to narrow down from the variety of Indiana’s gorgeous state parks and recreation areas, but luckily when casting your vote you can pick your top five favorite,” Crouch said. “One of the best things about voting in this contest, is you get to learn about others’ favorite locations and ones you might want to visit as well.”

There are 24 state parks, eight lakes/state recreation areas on the ballot, across the state to explore hiking, biking, camping, fishing, boating and much more.

Indiana is home to a huge variety of museums – from automobile museums to children’s museums, history to art, there’s so much to see in the Hoosier State. There are 30 museums in 20 counties that are vying for the title of Best Museum.

When it came to the Best Burger competition, local organizations stepped up to the challenge and submitted 32 signature burgers, some have of the over-the-top toppings like: foie gras, peanut butter, pot roast, shrimp and kimchi slaw!

Nominees for all three categories were recommended by members of Indiana’s travel, tourism and hospitality industry. is a companion site to, the official state travel website where discounts, trip ideas and helpful tips are easily accessible. Votes will be counted until Oct. 27 and the winners will be announced shortly thereafter.

More than 24,000 voters made a clear decision on Indiana’s Best Fall Festival, West Side Nut Club Fall Festival, Evansville, Best Historic Destination, Lincoln Boyhood National Memorial, Lincoln City and Best Tenderloin, Nick’s Kitchen, Huntington.

To see all of the best of Indiana winners through the years, click here.