- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.


Agency Links Links

IARA > State Archives > Indiana World War I Centennial Committee Indiana World War I Centennial Committee

Indiana WWI Centennial Committee Logo Horizontal

About the Indiana World War I Centennial Committee

The Indiana World War I Centennial Committee is responsible for planning, developing and executing programs, projects, and activities to commemorate the centennial of World War I in the state of Indiana.

The Committee aims to encourage private organizations and local governments to organize and participate in activities commemorating the centennial of World War I.

The Committee’s goal with its endorsements is to increase the number of people in Indiana who will be exposed these educational programs, tools, projects, and activities, and broaden their impact. 

Upcoming Events

APRIL 6, 2017 - NOON - 1 P.M.

To coincide with the 100th anniversary of the United States entering World War I, the Indiana World War I Centennial Committee will host a ceremony on April 6, 2017 from noon to 1 p.m. inside Pershing Auditorium at the Indiana War Memorial to commemorate the start of the war.

This event will bring Hoosiers together in honor of the United States’ official entry into World War I. The ceremony will feature speakers including Indiana Governor Eric Holcomb, Brig. Gen. Ronald A. Westfall, director of Joint Staff, Indiana National Guard and Judge Jim Osborne, vice chair of the Indiana World War I Centennial Committee, president of the Indiana Military Museum. The members of the Indiana World War I Centennial Committee will also be introduced to the public.

Attendance is free and open to the public. Parking is available at metered locations surrounding the Indiana War Memorials Plaza Historic District. For more information on available parking, visit

The event will also be broadcast live for those to watch remotely across the state. The broadcast can be accessed by visiting  

This is the first in a series of events that the Indiana World War I Centennial Committee will sponsor with the last event culminating in 2019. 

Indiana World War I Centennial Committee Members

Jim Corridan, Director & State Archivist
Indiana Archives and Records Administration

Vice Chair
Jim Osborne, President
Indiana Military Museum

Executive Director
Brig. Gen. Stewart Goodwin, Director
Indiana War Memorial

Committee Members
Bruce Blomberg
Indiana Department of Education

Hannah Brown
Governor’s Office

Jim Brown
Indiana Department of Veteran’s Affairs

Wayne Eells
Sons of the American Revolution

Katherine Gould
Indiana State Museum

Gerald Hadley
Indiana National Guard

Elizabeth Howard
Indiana Daughters of the American Revolution

Kyle Johnson
Indiana Office of Tourism Development

Dr. Dan Murphy
Hanover College

Lauren Patton
Indiana State Library

Johnathan Pickett
Department of Indiana, American Legion

Joanne Remender
Salvation Army

Dr. Lawrence Sondhaus
University of Indianapolis

Dr. Kathleen A. Tobin
Indiana Association of Historians

Major Bob Webster
Salvation Army

Sub-Committees of the Centennial

Special Events and Commemoration Activities Committee

To plan and coordinate centennial commemorative events and work with local organizations through an endorsement process for State recognized functions.

  • Hannah Brown
  • Jim Corridan
  • Katherine Gould
  • Gerry Hadley
  • Dan Murphy

Marketing and Publicity Committee

To develop and distribute materials, press releases, website updates and social media posts about Indiana WWI Centennial news and events.

  • Stewart Goodwin
  • Kyle Johnson
  • Jim Osborne
  • Sam Alderfer (IARA)
  • Ben Kenney (IDOA)

Outreach and Engagement Committee

To reach out to other groups and organizations to foster interest and engagement.

  • Bruce Blomberg
  • Jim Brown
  • Elizabeth Howard
  • Lauren Patton
  • Kathleen Tobin

Development and Fundraising Committee

  • Wayne Eells
  • Elizabeth Howard
  • Laurence Sondhaus