Header

  Close Menu

Death Information

Death records in the IDOH Vital Records office begin in 1900. Prior to 1900, records of death are filed only with the local health department in the county where the death occurred. For deaths occurring from 1900 to 1917, the city and/or county of death is required in order to locate the record.

A record cannot be identified as available prior to purchase because under State statute (IC 16-37-1-11 and IC 37-1-11.5), the fee associated with a death certificate is for the IDOH Vital Records office to search the records to determine if a record is on file. The search fee includes one copy of the certificate if the record is found; search fees are non-refundable.

Indiana does not issue death certificates for individuals who died in another state. Requests must be made directly to the vital records office in the state where the death occurred. For a listing of contact information for vital records agencies throughout the country, visit the CDC's Where to Write for Vital Records page.

If a change needs to be made to a death certificate, please visit the Correct/Amend a Death Certificate page of the Vital Records website for more information.

Customers that need an Apostille on certificates they have purchased from IDOH may get more information on the requirements by visiting the Indiana Secretary of State’s Apostilles website.

For U.S. Citizens who died abroad, please visit the U.S. Department of State’s Death Abroad webpage.

Indiana Codes 16-37-1-10, 16-37-1-11, and 16-37-1-11.5 serve as the State statutes for the fees, relationship, and identification requirements to purchase documents from the Vital Records office. The purchaser must have a “direct interest.” A direct interest is defined as a documented and verifiable financial and legal interest or an immediate direct kinship (parent, adult sibling, or grandparent) to the person named on the record.

Others such as guardians, attorneys, funeral directors, or other authorized agents acting on behalf of the registrant, or their family may demonstrate a direct interest when information is needed for the determination or protection of personal or property rights.

Depending on the individual’s interest in the record, additional documentation may be required.

Direct Interest:

  • Parents of the individual listed on the certificate – must be listed on the record
  • Spouse of the individual named on the certificate – must show proof of marriage
  • Child or Grandchild, 18 years or older, of the individual named on the certificate – must show proof of relationship
  • Grandparents of the individual listed on the certificate – must be the parent of a parent listed on the record & show proof of relationship
  • Sibling, 18 years or older, of the individual listed on the certificate – must show proof of relationship
  • Aunt or Uncle of the individual named on the certificate – must show proof of relationship
  • Niece or Nephew, 18 years or older, of the individual named on the certificate – must show proof of relationship
  • Genealogy – individual named on the certificate must be over 75 years old at the time of death - must show proof of death
  • Assigned Funeral Home/Director - must provide an explanation of direct interest on letterhead

No Direct Interest:

  • Legal Interest – must provide proof of legal relationship, i.e., contract, agreements, titles, court order

For a full listing of identification requirements, please see the Identification Requirements page within the Death Information section of this website

All requests require proper identification, proof of relationship, or direct interest in the person named on the record. Requests sent without proper identification or documentation will be returned without being processed.

Identification requirements may be fulfilled by submitting one valid Primary Document or two valid Secondary Documents. All documents must be current and valid; expired documents are not acceptable.

Accepted Primary Documents (One Form of Identification):

  • Government Issued Driver’s License / State ID – front and back required
  • US Military ID – front and back required
  • Passport
  • Veterans ID
  • Green Mexico Consular ID

Accepted Secondary Documents (Two Forms of Identification):

  • Signed Social Security Card
  • Department of Correction ID Card or Printout – must include picture
  • College School ID – with proof of current enrollment (transcript, letter from administration)
  • Work ID Badge – with proof of current employment (computerized paycheck stub, letter from employer)
  • Voter Registration Card – with name and current address
  • Current Vehicle Registration – with name and current address (not Title of Ownership)
  • Military Discharge (DD-214)
  • Home Lease/Rental Agreement or Warranty Deed – with name, current address and signature(s)

Those with Amish or Religious Exceptions must submit a letter from the Bishop/Clergy along with one form of primary documentation or two forms of secondary documentation.

Amish Primary Documents (One Form of Identification with letter from Bishop/Clergy):

  • Non-Photo ID

Amish Secondary Documents (Two Forms of Identification with letter from Bishop/Clergy):

  • Signed Social Security Card or IRS From 4029 (exemption of SSN)
  • Baptismal Certificate
  • Marriage Certificate
  • School Records

Check the Identification Requirements list to determine your eligibility as well as the proper identification and relationship document needed.

There are four ways to order a death certificate:

  1. Local Health Department – Allows the quick and convenient option of the local offices walk-up services. You must contact the local health department (LHD) in the county where the event occurred to obtain information on service hours, fees proper requirements, and acceptability with different federal and state agencies. For LHD contact information visit the page Local Health Department Contacts page.
  2. IDOH Vital Records Online – Allows you choose between two reputable entities using Vital Records Online to purchase documents from the Indiana Department of Health using a major credit card at your leisure.
  3. IDOH Vital Records via Phone – Allows you to order documents and receive customer service support for ordering assistance using a reputable third-party company. This option uses a toll-free number and is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at (866) 601-0891.
  4. IDOH Vital Records via Mail – Allows you to pay via check or money order. To apply for a death certificate, print Form 49606.

Fees are established by law (IC 16-37-1-11). Each search for a record costs $8.00. The fee is non-refundable. Included in one search is a five-year period: the reported year of death and, if the record is not found in that year, the two years before and after. For records prior to 1917, the search covers a five-year period and only one county. One copy of the record, if found, is included with the search fee; and additional copies of the same record purchased at the same time are $4.00 each.

Please see our Fee Schedule for a complete listing of costs associated with Vital Records.


IDOH Vital Records does not offer walk-in service. Please contact your local health department (LHD) in the county where the event occurred to obtain their individual walk-in hours.

Visit the Local Health Department Contacts page for LHD contact information.

Already order a certificate? Check your order status.

To move a family member from one cemetery plot to another cemetery plot requires the receipt of an Order for Disinterment and Reinterment. A permit is issued following the completion and submission of an Application for Permit to Disinter, Remove, and Reinter Human Remains (State Form 38697).

The permit allows for the disinterment of the individual from the current burial location, and subsequent reinterment at the new burial location. This process must be completed by the funeral director that will oversee the removal and reinterment of the remains.

For more information on Disinter/Reinter Permits, please call (317) 233-2700.

Order Certificates

Need to place a death certificate order?

Order Now

Check Order Status

Already place a death certificate order?

Check Status