Former Gov. Mitch Daniels' Newsroom

Contact: Jane Jankowski
Phone: 317/232-1622

For Immediate Release: Aug 1, 2006
Daniels appoints members to Commission for Higher Education

INDIANAPOLIS (August 1, 2006) - Governor Mitch Daniels today announced four appointments and one reappointment to the Indiana Commission for Higher Education.

"These individuals bring a wealth of experience with both higher education and the communities and economic environment of the state," said Daniels. "Education beyond high school will be almost mandatory to hold a good-paying job in the Indiana of tomorrow. We will look to this board to promote and demand true excellence from our universities in both their academic and economic development missions."

The appointments are:
Gerald L. Bepko, of Indianapolis, will serve a four-year term. He is chancellor emeritus of Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI), the inaugural director of the Randall L. Tobias Center for Leadership Excellence at IUPUI and was formerly the interim president of Indiana University. Bepko earned his undergraduate degree at Northern Illinois University, his doctorate of jurisprudence at IIT/Chicago-Kent College of Law, and his master of laws degree from Yale Law School. He will serve as an at-large member.

Debra K. Cook, of Kokomo, will serve a two-year term as a student member of the commission. She is a community specialist for the Kokomo Department of Development and a master of public management candidate at Indiana University Kokomo.

Christopher J. Murphy, III, of South Bend, will serve a second four-year term. He is the chairman, president and CEO of 1st Source Corporation and chairman and CEO of 1st Source Bank. Murphy earned his undergraduate degree from the University of Notre Dame, his law degree from the University of Virginia and his masters of business administration (with distinction) from Harvard University. Murphy is from the 2nd congressional district.

Kenneth L. Sendelweck, of Jasper, is replacing John Fernandez who resigned his appointment earlier this year. Sendelweck will serve the remainder of the term which will expire on July 1, 2008. He will be eligible for reappointment at that time. Sendelweck is president of German American Bank and treasurer of the Dubois County Economic Development Corporation. Sendelweck received his undergraduate degree from the University of Southern Indiana (USI). He is from the 9th congressional district.

Michael L. Smith, of Carmel, will serve a four-year term. He is retired from WellPoint, Inc. (Anthem), where he was executive vice president and chief financial officer. Prior to joining Anthem, Smith was chairman, president and chief executive officer of Mayflower Group, Inc. and chairman of the Central Indiana Community Foundation. He received his undergraduate degree from DePauw University. Smith is from the 5th congressional district.

The governor appoints twelve members, one from each of Indiana's nine congressional districts and three at-large members, to serve terms of four years. In addition, one student and one faculty representative are appointed for terms of two years.