Former Gov. Mitch Daniels' Newsroom

Contact: Brad Rateike
Phone: 317 232-1800

For Immediate Release: Jul 7, 2006
Board appointments made for Ivy Tech, University of Southern Indiana

INDIANAPOLIS (July 7, 2006) - Governor Mitch Daniels has made appointments to the boards of Ivy Tech State College and the University of Southern Indiana.

Four women will join the 14-member Ivy Tech board. The new members, whose appointments begin immediately, are:

  • Martha Rivas-Ramos of Hobart, vice president and branch manager for First Midwest Bank
  • Leigh Duckwall of Peru, design department head and interior designer for Doane Keyes Associates
  • Kaye Whitehead of Muncie, co-owner of Seldom Rest Farms and a member of the Ball Memorial Hospital Board of Directors
  • Linda White of Evansville, president and chief executive officer of Deaconess Health System

Terms end July 1, 2009. Those whose terms have expired and are leaving the board are Francis Lueken of Ferdinand, Louis Martinez of Crown Point, Jerry Speidel of Anderson and Tom Trauring of Kokomo.

Four appointments also have been made to the University of Southern Indiana (USI) Board of Trustees. The new members are:

  • Harold Calloway of Evansville (Calloway is resigning his position as chairman of the Indiana Gaming Commission to accept the trustee position). Calloway is an agent with State Farm Insurance and former director of student financial aid at USI.
  • John Dunn of Evansville, CEO of Dunn Hospitality Group and former chairman of the USI Foundation Board
  • Jeff Knight of Evansville, executive vice president, chief legal counsel and corporate secretary for Old National Bank
  • Amy MacDonell of Indianapolis, historic preservationist, community volunteer and former chair of the Indiana Main Street Council

Terms for Calloway, Dunn and MacDonnell end July 1, 2010. The term for Jeff Knight, who is taking the place of Louise Bruce, who has resigned, ends July 1, 2007. He will be eligible for reappointment. Others leaving the board are G. Pat Hoehn of Jeffersonville, J. David Huber of Evansville and Harolyn G. Torian of Indianapolis.

The USI board has nine trustees and must include one alumnus of the university, one current student, and one resident of Vanderburgh County. Trustee terms are for four years, except for the student term, which is two years.


Media contact: Brad Rateike, Office of the Governor, 317/232-1800,