Former Gov. Mitch Daniels' Newsroom

Contact: Jane Jankowski
Phone: 317/232-1622

For Immediate Release: Jun 22, 2006
Seven selected as Governor's Fellows

INDIANAPOLIS (June 22, 2006) ? Seven of Indiana?s young leaders have been selected to the Governor?s Fellowship, a year-long program giving recent college graduates experience serving in state government.

Fellows participate in the daily activities of state government, complete special projects, travel to observe how work in the State House translates into action throughout the state, and experience firsthand how policy is made.

?An investment in the development of young leaders is an investment in the future of our state,? said Governor Mitch Daniels. ?We want the best and the brightest to utilize their talents and abilities to serve their fellow citizens and help build a stronger Indiana.?

The Governor?s Fellowship program was created in 1983 by Governor Bob Orr and is open to college graduates who receive their bachelor?s degrees in either fall of 2005 or spring of 2006. While any such graduate may apply, special consideration is given to applicants from Indiana, and candidates who have a B- or above grade point average.

The year of service corresponds with the state fiscal year, July 1, 2006 through June 30, 2007, during which Fellows receive a salary and full fringe benefits.

The 2006-2007 Governor?s Fellows are:

Stephen Grothouse
He is a University of Dayton (Ohio) graduate with a degree in philosophy and political science as well as a minor in economics. Grothouse, a native of Fishers, was a Berry Scholar and served as a volunteer with Head Start and Camp Awareness for autistic children. He has interned in U.S. Senator Richard Lugar?s office in Washington D.C. and for the Australian Electoral Commission in Melbourne and Canberra, Australia.

Brad Hilderbrand
An Anderson University graduate, Hilderbrand graduated summa cum laude with degrees in political science and history. Hilderbrand, a native of Bedford, is a member of the Phi Alpha Theta Honor Society and Alpha Chi Honor Society. In college, he served as student body president and participated in the Center for Public Service Fellowship where he was mentored by Indiana Attorney General Steve Carter.

Mary McNaught
She is a native of Carmel and graduate of the University of Virginia with a degree in history. McNaught served as the founder and chair of ?Pancakes for Parkinson?s? and worked as a student ambassador for the university. She has interned for U.S. Senator Richard Lugar?s office in Washington, D.C., and also studied abroad at Oxford University (England).

Sujal Pandya
He is a University of Notre Dame graduate with a degree in economics and minors in philosophy and politics. Originally from Fort Wayne, Pandya is an Eli Lilly Scholar and a member of the Omicron Delta Epsilon International Honor Society. He served as a research assistant to the economics and policy studies department chair at Notre Dame and chaired the oversight committee in the Notre Dame Student Senate.

Carissa Snyder
A native of Morgantown, Snyder is a graduate of Franklin College with a degree in journalism and a minor in political science. She was the recipient of the Pulliam Fellowship Award as well as the Damaris Knobe Endowed Journalism Award. Snyder interned for the Indiana State Senate and has worked as a student supervisor and reporter for the Franklin College Marketing & Communications Office.

Andrew Wells
He is a graduate of Wabash College with a degree in history and minors in political science and English literature. Wells, a native of Portland, was the recipient of the president?s scholarship at Wabash College and is a member of Pi Sigma Alpha National Political Science Honor Society. He recently completed a Secretary of State Fellowship and served as president of the Wabash College Republicans.

Laura Williams
She is an Indiana University graduate with degrees in journalism and political science and minors in French and Western European Studies. Williams, a Greenfield native, received the Cosner Journalism Scholarship and attended Hutton Honors College. She has served as a volunteer with Mother Hubbard?s Cupboard and Bloomingkids!, a chapter of College Mentors for Kids.