Former Gov. Mitch Daniels' Newsroom

Contact: Brad Rateike
Phone: 317-232-1800

For Immediate Release: May 31, 2006
Recent boards and commissions appointments

Gaming Commission
The commission's purpose is to license and regulate riverboat gambling in Indiana and ensure compliance with applicable statutes, rules, and regulations.

Membership: seven gubernatorial appointees (one must be a CPA, one must have law enforcement experience, one must be an attorney), no more than four members may be affiliated with the same party.

Governor's appointment:
William W. Barrett (Greenwood), attorney for Williams, Hewitt, Barrett & Wilkowski, LLP, former judge, former deputy prosecutor.

Barrett is replacing former Marion County prosecutor Scott Newman, who resigned his appointment. He will serve the remainder of Newman's term which expires September 1, 2008 and will be eligible for reappointment at that time.

Alcohol and Tobacco Commission
The commission's purposes are to protect the economic welfare, health, peace and morals of the people of this state, to regulate and limit the manufacture, sale, possession, and use of alcohol and alcoholic beverages, and to provide for the raising of revenue.

Membership: four gubernatorial appointees, two from each of the state's major political parties.

Governor's appointment:
David K. Johnson (Bloomfield), former Greene Circuit Court judge, former deputy prosecutor.

Johnson's resignation from the bench is effective June 30 and his appointment to the ATC will be effective July 1. Johnson is replacing Melanie Brizzi who resigned her appointment. He will serve the remainder of the term which expires January 31, 2009 at which time he will be eligible for reappointment.

Parole Board
The board makes parole release and revocation decisions and makes pardon, clemency, reprieve, and remission recommendations to the governor.

Membership: five gubernatorial appointees, no more than three members may be affiliated with the same political party

Governor's appointment:
William Harris (Terre Haute), court security officer for Vigo County Sheriff's Department, former Vigo County sheriff, former Vigo County treasurer.

Term expires July 1, 2007, eligible for reappointment.

Education Employment Relations Board
The board administers the state's teacher collective bargaining law.

Membership: three gubernatorial appointees (chairman is full-time employee)

Governor's appointment:
Michael W. McConnell (Indianapolis), owner of McConnell & Associates, director of business development for The Morley Group, former chief operating officer for Heaton & Eadie.

Term expires July 1, 2009, eligible for reappointment.