Former Gov. Mitch Daniels' Newsroom

Contact: Jane Jankowski
Phone: 317/232-1622

For Immediate Release: Apr 13, 2006
Recent boards and commissions appointments

Gary/Chicago Airport Authority Board
The board monitors and ensures adherence to policy, legal and fiduciary compliance of the federal, state and local funds and resources involved with operations, capital improvements and development of the Gary Chicago International Airport.

Membership: one gubernatorial appointee, one appointment each made by the Lake County Board of Commissioners and Porter County Board of Commissioners, and four appointments made by the mayor of Gary.

Governor?s appointment:
? Ross Amundson, government affairs manager for Indiana American Water Company, former chairman of the Gary Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors, former president of the Friends of the Gary/Chicago Airport, member of the Indiana Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors

Term expires February 7, 2010

Indiana State Police Board of Trustees
The board is responsible for administering, managing, and controlling the department and approves rules, classifications of ranks, their associated salaries, and other major decisions initiated by the superintendent or the department.

Membership: six gubernatorial appointees, ISP Superintendent.

Governor?s appointment:
? David Graves (New Albany), former ISP officer and former New Albany Chief of Police

Term expires March 7, 2009

Low Income Housing Trust Fund Advisory Committee
The committee makes recommendations to the Housing Finance Authority regarding policies and procedures for carrying out the purpose of the fund, which is used to provide financial assistance through grants, rent supplements, and loans for the development, rehabilitation, or financing of affordable housing for low income families, including the elderly, persons with disabilities, and homeless individuals.

Membership: 12 gubernatorial appointees, one representative each from the Indiana Economic Development Corporation, Division of Mental Health and Addiction, Department of Child Services, and Division of Disability and Aging.

Governor?s appointments:
? Larry Gautsche (Goshen), president and CEO, LaCasa of Goshen
? Zohrab Tazian (Fort Wayne), president, Z.K. Tazian Associates

Terms expire December 1, 2008

Gaming Commission
The commission licenses and regulates riverboat gambling in Indiana and ensures compliance with applicable statutes, rules, and regulations in a manner that promotes the integrity of gaming, and the best interest of the state of Indiana and its citizens.

Membership: seven gubernatorial appointees (one must be a CPA, one must have law enforcement experience, one must be an attorney).

Governor?s appointment:
? Timothy Murphy (Carmel), senior vice president and chief financial officer, Irwin Mortgage Corporation, former FBI field agent, CPA.

Term expires December 1, 2007

Criminal Justice Institute Board of Trustees
The board evaluates and disseminates information to the public concerning the cost and effectiveness of the criminal and juvenile justice systems; promotes coordination and cooperation for the effective administration of the criminal and juvenile justice systems; establishes plans for the criminal and juvenile justice systems and makes recommendations concerning the implementation of these plans; encourages and assists in the organization of an academic consortium for the purpose of engaging in research; receives, expends, and accounts for state funds made available; applies for and accepts gifts and grants (which must be administered as public funds).

Membership: eight gubernatorial appointees, eight others prescribed by statute.

Governor?s appointment:
? Leanna Weissmann (Aurora), judicial referee, Dearborn Superior Court.

Term expires January 31, 2008

Strategic Prevention Framework Advisory Council
The council facilitates the development of a statewide prevention framework to: prevent the onset and reduce the progression of substance abuse, including childhood and underage drinking, reduce substance abuse-related problems in communities, including methamphetamine use, and build prevention capacity and infrastructure at the State and community levels.

Membership: governor?s designee, Drug Enforcement Agency demand reduction coordinator, Indiana State Department of Health designee, representatives from the Criminal Justice Institute, representative from the U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, and other members from public health and law enforcement areas.

Governor?s appointments:
? Sheriff Mark Frisbie (Greencastle), chairman, Putnam County Sheriff, member of the Governor?s Council for a Drug-Free Indiana
? John von Arx (Indianapolis), consultant with Crowe Chizek and Company LLC; chairman, Governor?s Council for a Drug-Free Indiana
? Jim Noffsinger (Union City), coordinator, Indiana Students Against Drunk Driving (SADD)
? Louise Anderson (Terre Haute), director, Indiana Public Health Association
? Scott Cleveland (Amo), director, Indiana Addictions Issues Coalition
? Shawna Girgis (Terre Haute), director, Indiana Rural Health Coalition
? Nancy Jewell (Indianapolis), president and CEO, Indiana Minority Health Coalition
? James R. Killen (Indianapolis), executive director, Indiana Youth Services Association
? Tammy Loew (Lafayette), health advocacy coordinator, Indiana Collegiate Alcohol Network
? Heather McCarthy (Griffith), vice president, Geminus Corporation
? Tom Rugh (Indianapolis), external relations, Indiana United Way Association
? Bill Stanczykiewicz (Zionsville), president and CEO, Indiana Youth Institute
? Sheriff Matt Strittmatter (Richmond), Wayne County Sheriff
? Harold Thompson (Carmel), president, Seniors Unlimited
? Lisa Winternheimer (Indianapolis), executive director, Indiana Primary Health Care Association
? Lisa Hutcheson (Lebanon), director, Indiana Coalition to Reduce Underage Drinking
? Larry Squires (Gosport), director of county operations, Cummins Mental Health Association
? Dean Babcock (Indianapolis), director, Midtown Mental Health
? Jim Ryser (Plainfield), coordinator, Chronic Pain Management Program, Clarian Behavioral Health
? Linda Chezem (Mooresville), professor, Depatrtment of Youth Development and Agriculture Education, Purdue University; former judge
? Judge Michael Kramer (Albion), Noble County Superior Court
? Bob Levy (Terre Haute), chairman, Department of Mental Health and Addiction, professor emeritus, Indiana State University

Appointees serve at the pleasure of the governor.